NEED HELP PLEASE!!!! - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 12-07-2011, 03:22 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
FORDGT14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Surprise
Region: Arizona
Posts: 614
NEED HELP PLEASE!!!!

K so I just got the brand new, completely rebuilt 4.6L 2V installed in my 99 GT yesterday. I fired it up lastnight for the break-in, but it idles like hell.. It wont stay idling without me tapping on the throttle. Idk if its a compiter thing or if I did something wrong. Please any info would help. This is a brand new engine and it should be running perfect rite?
Let me know if I left any needed info out, id be glad to fill you in.

Thank you.
FORDGT14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-07-2011, 03:32 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
onesickstang01's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 441
MAF sensor on correctly? All
Connectors plugged in? Idle screw adjusted? Check the iac as well
onesickstang01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 03:38 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
Topless04GT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Region: Ohio
Posts: 903
Re: NEED HELP PLEASE!!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by onesickstang01 View Post
MAF sensor on correctly? All
Connectors plugged in? Idle screw adjusted? Check the iac as well
couldnt it also be a vacuum leak?
__________________

My girl... ehh, cars never leave you! stick to cars!
My name is Josh, Whats yours?
Topless04GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-07-2011, 03:47 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
FORDGT14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Surprise
Region: Arizona
Posts: 614
Yes everything is plugged in.. I already checked for vaccum leaks..and I thought these 4.6's didnt hace an idle screw.. Where would it be located?

---------- Post added at 04:47 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:46 PM ----------

And whats an IAC?
FORDGT14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 04:01 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
BossMach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 21
Idle air control motor !
BossMach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 04:06 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
FORDGT14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Surprise
Region: Arizona
Posts: 614
Quote:
Originally Posted by BossMach
Idle air control motor !
Ok, does this model have a idle screw?
FORDGT14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 04:12 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
BossMach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 21
Not sure,
BossMach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 04:42 PM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
Topless04GT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Region: Ohio
Posts: 903
Re: NEED HELP PLEASE!!!!

yes.. it is right by the throttle body.
__________________

My girl... ehh, cars never leave you! stick to cars!
My name is Josh, Whats yours?
Topless04GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 06:46 PM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
FORDGT14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Surprise
Region: Arizona
Posts: 614
Quote:
Originally Posted by Topless04GT
yes.. it is right by the throttle body.
Is it possible that the computer just needs to re-learn how to idle the new engine? Or re-program?
FORDGT14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 09:57 PM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
aegischief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 492
Quote:
Originally Posted by FORDGT14

Is it possible that the computer just needs to re-learn how to idle the new engine? Or re-program?
As long as the cams are stock, it should be idling normally. The computer wouldn't need to learn anything. Something else is causing the problem.
aegischief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 10:11 PM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
Jkgravy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Region: Georgia
Posts: 61
Sounds like idle air control and/or throttle position sensor and just to be clear the idle screw isnot the same as the iac.
Jkgravy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2011, 12:21 AM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
02PONY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 886
My f150 did same thing when I put new engine in it was the maf wasn't hooked up
__________________
02PONY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2011, 01:36 AM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
FORDGT14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Surprise
Region: Arizona
Posts: 614
Quote:
Originally Posted by 02PONY
My f150 did same thing when I put new engine in it was the maf wasn't hooked up
Well I wont be able to start it again until i get a new water pump, the one thing i didnt replace went out. Just makes no sense to me

---------- Post added at 02:36 AM ---------- Previous post was at 02:34 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by aegischief

As long as the cams are stock, it should be idling normally. The computer wouldn't need to learn anything. Something else is causing the problem.
Yeah it has stock cams
FORDGT14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2011, 04:52 AM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
blackhawk 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Region: California
Posts: 472
Re: NEED HELP PLEASE!!!!

murphys law .....
blackhawk 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



09:01 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.