is it really that hard ? - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 12-17-2011, 08:12 AM   #1
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Georgia
is it really that hard ?

I have a 02' mustang gt, mild bolt ons. it's an auto , which has become the piss in my cornflakes. well recently I ran low on oil (cam cover was leaking unknowingly) and now I have a tick/clack. I'm pretty sure it's coming from the top end. tranny is also shot. so I'm thinking pull motor and tranny, freshn up the motor( heads, cams, springs, etc.) and convert to a 5 spd. I guess my questions are , are these engines really that hard to work on if I take my time and do it right , and converting to a 5 speed should be a breeze with the motor out, right? I am not a mechanic , but I want to learn and it's not my daily driver, so I can take as much time as I need. and for all who say just buy a 5 speed , I can't , my credit was good when I bought the car 4 years ago and two divorces earlier
vettekiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-17-2011, 08:22 AM   #2
Registered Member
Regular

Region: North Carolina
The web is full of information on this. I would say go for it if it's not your dd.
Jlt00bluegt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 08:28 AM   #3
Registered Member
Regular

it just seems everything I read is , "buy a crate engine", " buy a junk yard engine" , I just want to rebuild mine, i have only found one book on this so far.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-17-2011, 08:46 AM   #4
Moderator Emeritus
Regular

Region: Other
Quote:
Originally Posted by vettekiller
it just seems everything I read is , "buy a crate engine", " buy a junk yard engine" , I just want to rebuild mine, i have only found one book on this so far.