Hi All! New Mustang Owner here. - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 01-10-2012, 09:08 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Michigan
Hi All! New Mustang Owner here.

Hi all! I just bought my first Mustang Friday!! Over the years Ive been messing with imports (Mitsubishi) and since I totalled mine 2 months ago, I decided to change routes.
The kid I bought it from was 20 yrs old, college student (used to commute) didnt even change the oil for the year he owned her. He stated that the previous owner was a mechanic and named numerous things he did to it but it was gibberish to him, LoL. My dream car has always been the 1993 Cobra-R but with the life I've been living, that put a stop to that LoL. Time to build on this one instead....

BTW I picked her up for 4500$ He originally asked $6000

A little about the car and what was listed for mods that he recalled.
2001 GT 5 Speed 120,000 miles
BBK Cold air intake
Magnaflow exhaust
Lowered 1.5"
Mach1 Chin Spoiler
Roush Short throw Shifter
2 things are wrong with it: Little rust over RH rear wheel well and his younger brother pulled on the spoiler while moving it and snapped it off (no biggie, I like the spoilerless look anyways)

I wish I cold track down the owner before him (1rst owner) and get a detailed list. I am not familiar with the complete history of the Mustangs but over the past few days, and the internet, Ive learned quite a bit. My first confusion was the Carfax Vin check came back as a 2001 Mustang GT Bullitt/Coupe.....Did't know what a Bullitt was. Then I was exstatic!!!.. and immediately disappointed..LoL
No immediate plans for her other than small repairs and servicing for the time being. Just replaced all the bulbs, switched to full synthetic oil and had a full service check done yesterday.