gauge overlays - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 02-15-2012, 03:06 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
dmax8709's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Alabama
Posts: 413
gauge overlays

Does anyone have any gauge overlays for there new edge stangs? It overlays the factory gauges and i didn't know how well that works. Here r the links to the 2 i am looking at...
http://item.mobileweb.ebay.com/viewi...id=96652676643

http://item.mobileweb.ebay.com/viewi...id=80635343119

Mine has the factory white gauges n it. Thanks for y'alls input
dmax8709 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-15-2012, 08:58 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
BigB227's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: West Palm Beach
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,120
Yeah I have overlays on mine and I love the look, doesn't take much to install if you know the basics of electrics



Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3998156946.png
Views:	345
Size:	743.2 KB
ID:	40826
BigB227 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 09:12 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
dmax8709's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Alabama
Posts: 413
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigB227
Yeah I have overlays on mine and I love the look, doesn't take much to install if you know the basics of electrics
What color r ur factory gauges? Those r nice but they suppose to be white and red. That's what i was worried about. They look blueish. Don't get me wrong they look good and i was looking at those and another set. But i was wanting to make sure the colors were gonna be accurate to go along with the color scheme of the car.

---------- Post added at 09:12 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:02 PM ----------

Did u look at the ones i had picked out?
dmax8709 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-15-2012, 09:18 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
BigB227's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: West Palm Beach
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,120
Yea I saw them and yeah I bought mine to be the color they are, the ones your looking at wil be the color it's showing

---------- Post added at 11:18 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:17 PM ----------

My factory gauges are the black background and the green neon ish color lol
BigB227 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 09:24 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
dmax8709's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Alabama
Posts: 413
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigB227
Yea I saw them and yeah I bought mine to be the color they are, the ones your looking at wil be the color it's showing

---------- Post added at 11:18 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:17 PM ----------

My factory gauges are the black background and the green neon ish color lol
So them red and white ones that r diff than urs should show red and white. No matter what gauge colors i have? Mine r the white gauges. Think that'll make a difference?

---------- Post added at 09:23 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:21 PM ----------

And if u don't mind, what all did u do to get them on there? Just lay them on there and put everything back together ?

---------- Post added at 09:24 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:23 PM ----------

And did u get them off ebay or where?
dmax8709 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 09:32 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
BigB227's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: West Palm Beach
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,120
Yeah I got mine off eBay and the background color of your gauges doesn't matter, they over lay your current gauge and splice into your headlight switch so they get power and light up so to speak
BigB227 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 09:37 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
Daly2000GT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Indiana
Posts: 117
I have the same blue set in the picture above but i but haven't installed them yet. From my research it has no bearing on the background color. You disconnect the lights to your existing and wire these in. You will be fine. I'm a little worried about the wiring myself.
Daly2000GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 09:40 PM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
BigB227's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: West Palm Beach
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,120
Yea I too was a lil sketchy about it but I looked up write ups on it and it went through like a breeze
BigB227 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 09:50 PM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
dmax8709's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Alabama
Posts: 413
Yea the ones im looking at said no instructions come with it. Is it self explanatory? Im bout to order them red ones now

---------- Post added at 09:50 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:40 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigB227
Yea I too was a lil sketchy about it but I looked up write ups on it and it went through like a breeze
I have bad eyes lol can someone tell me if the link i have that look like urs if that is blueish or white. I just wana make sure before i make a decision on which ones i get. Give me some feedback folks on which ones y'all like. Only thing keeping me for the red ones is they don't come with instructions
dmax8709 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 10:12 PM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
BigB227's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: West Palm Beach
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,120
Mine didn't come with any instructions either; but I'd have to say I really like the first link with the red and white but it's up to you and what you like
BigB227 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 10:24 PM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
dmax8709's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Alabama
Posts: 413
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigB227
Mine didn't come with any instructions either; but I'd have to say I really like the first link with the red and white but it's up to you and what you like
How many wires is it to hook up? Can u hook it up to urn factory dimmer?
dmax8709 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 10:36 PM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
vinnygt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Region: California
Posts: 666
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmax8709

How many wires is it to hook up? Can u hook it up to urn factory dimmer?
When I did mine I didn't have to even mess with wires. It just goes right on. Just be sure to not get the gauge needles in too deep or else they won't turn. I took mine apart about 10 times because the needles wouldn't move until I found out that my problem was the needles were in too far
vinnygt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 10:40 PM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
dmax8709's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Alabama
Posts: 413
Quote:
Originally Posted by vinnygt

When I did mine I didn't have to even mess with wires. It just goes right on. Just be sure to not get the gauge needles in too deep or else they won't turn. I took mine apart about 10 times because the needles wouldn't move until I found out that my problem was the needles were in too far
These that we r talkin bout have their on power and lights. I have took them if before so its nothing new. Thanks for the info though
dmax8709 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 10:41 PM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
vinnygt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Region: California
Posts: 666
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmax8709

These that we r talkin bout have their on power and lights. I have took them if before so its nothing new. Thanks for the info though
Oh sorry about that :/ hadn't heard of those.
vinnygt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 10:43 PM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
dmax8709's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Alabama
Posts: 413
They r on ebay. I have links to 2 of them on the 1st page. Check then out
dmax8709 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 10:47 PM   #16
Registered Member
Regular
 
vinnygt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Region: California
Posts: 666
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmax8709
They r on ebay. I have links to 2 of them on the 1st page. Check then out
Yeah I checked them out man They look sweet ! I just didn't know it came with its own power lol. The first ones look nice. I think it would look badass on your car.
vinnygt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 11:21 PM   #17
Registered Member
Regular
 
dmax8709's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Alabama
Posts: 413
Quote:
Originally Posted by vinnygt

Yeah I checked them out man They look sweet ! I just didn't know it came with its own power lol. The first ones look nice. I think it would look badass on your car.
Yea i believe i am gonna go with them. Im waiting on another guy to reply to see how the hook up is before i make a decision. One comes with instructions the other doesn't. I hope they r simple i really want the red ones.

---------- Post added at 11:21 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:53 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigB227
Mine didn't come with any instructions either; but I'd have to say I really like the first link with the red and white but it's up to you and what you like


How many wires is it to hook up? Can u hook it up to ur factory dimmer?
dmax8709 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 03:54 AM   #18
Registered Member
Regular
 
dmax8709's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Alabama
Posts: 413
I got it ordered. Where did u find instructions on installation ?
dmax8709 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 08:17 AM   #19
Registered Member
Regular
 
BigB227's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: West Palm Beach
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,120
I found instructions here, not the same over lay but same exact process

---------- Post added at 10:16 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:15 AM ----------

You only have to splice into one wire and your good, the gauges have a lil junction relay box that has a positive and ground wire, hook the positive into the headlight and ground the negative and follow instructions in the link and you'll be good

---------- Post added at 10:17 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:16 AM ----------

http://1.cdn.lib.americanmuscle.com/...structions.pdf
BigB227 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 09:58 AM   #20
Registered Member
Regular
 
Daly2000GT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Indiana
Posts: 117
I think I may give it a shot this weekend. Thanks
Daly2000GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 10:18 AM   #21
Moderator Emeritus
Legacy
Regular
 
SpectorV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Alabama
Posts: 26,049
Send a message via AIM to SpectorV
Re: gauge overlays

i had mac brand back in the day but had to remove my OEM (was not powered by its own light). Its better not to remove the needles but on 99+ its easier to reset them
__________________
2003 Cobra Vert (Redfire) #3938 of 5082 @ 05/27/2003
472rwhp/493rwtq -Modification List - Dyno Sheet
2012 Mustang 3.7L M6 (Kona Blue)
2011 Ford Edge Sport (Red Metallic)
SpectorV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 12:12 PM   #22
Registered Member
Regular
 
dmax8709's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Alabama
Posts: 413
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigB227
I found instructions here, not the same over lay but same exact process

---------- Post added at 10:16 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:15 AM ----------

You only have to splice into one wire and your good, the gauges have a lil junction relay box that has a positive and ground wire, hook the positive into the headlight and ground the negative and follow instructions in the link and you'll be good

---------- Post added at 10:17 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:16 AM ----------

http://1.cdn.lib.americanmuscle.com/...structions.pdf
Ok man thanks a lot. U been a big help
dmax8709 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 01:34 PM   #23
Registered Member
Regular
 
Timm04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Minnesota
Posts: 540
Really you need to let me know how it goes I really might look into getting those! I like the red ones alot
Timm04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 01:40 PM   #24
Registered Member
Regular
 
mystang50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: houston
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,201
Man I wonder if they got some sexy red ones like that for 9495.

This is what I have
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20120216_133936.png
Views:	283
Size:	533.0 KB
ID:	40903  
__________________
1995 5.0 u/d,cai,t/b,shorty headers,x pipe,flows 40's,373 gears, alum. driveshaft, alum. radiator, shift kit, e-cam, ported upper and lower intake, 100 shot of spray, 2100 stall, black 0304 cobras. suspension: upper and lower control arms, sub frame connecters, and springs all SVE
mystang50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 01:47 PM   #25
Registered Member
Regular
 
dmax8709's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Alabama
Posts: 413
Quote:
Originally Posted by Timm04
Really you need to let me know how it goes I really might look into getting those! I like the red ones alot
K i ordered them last night. As soon as i get them n ill update u and post pics

---------- Post added at 01:46 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:45 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by mystang50
Man I wonder if they got some sexy red ones like that for 9495.

This is what I have
Look on ebay. They had some on there for the 94-95s that looked good

---------- Post added at 01:47 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:46 PM ----------

Mine r just the factory white n the 00s. I was prolly the only person that has them and wanted the black ones lol
dmax8709 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 02:45 PM   #26
Registered Member
Regular
 
BigB227's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: West Palm Beach
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,120
Anytime man I'm here to help yeah I'm very happy with them
BigB227 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 03:17 PM   #27
Registered Member
Regular
 
Burkeys96GT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Region: Florida
Posts: 155
I actually just took mine out if anyone wants a set for cheep and they are super easy to install just power and ground
Burkeys96GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 03:20 PM   #28
Registered Member
Regular
 
GTdevildriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Region: Arkansas
Posts: 220
Everyone I talked to said they're a pain in the *** to install.
__________________
I Could ****ing Care Less.
GTdevildriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 03:22 PM   #29
Registered Member
Regular
 
dmax8709's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Alabama
Posts: 413
Quote:
Originally Posted by Burkeys96GT
I actually just took mine out if anyone wants a set for cheep and they are super easy to install just power and ground
Can u post a pic?
dmax8709 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 05:44 PM   #30
Registered Member
Regular
 
Burkeys96GT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Region: Florida
Posts: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmax8709

Can u post a pic?


Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3807817206.png
Views:	242
Size:	996.7 KB
ID:	40906

Gauge overlays


Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2714487742.png
Views:	240
Size:	864.3 KB
ID:	40907
Dimmer / color switch
Burkeys96GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 06:37 PM   #31
Registered Member
Regular
 
dmax8709's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Alabama
Posts: 413
What all colors does it do?
dmax8709 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 06:52 PM   #32
Registered Member
Regular
 
Burkeys96GT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Region: Florida
Posts: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmax8709
What all colors does it do?
Green and blue
Burkeys96GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 07:34 PM   #33
Registered Member
Regular
 
dmax8709's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Alabama
Posts: 413
When u gonna install it?
dmax8709 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 07:38 PM   #34
Registered Member
Regular
 
Daly2000GT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Indiana
Posts: 117
Just tried installing mine. Had to quit before I lost it. May try again this weekend. Grrrrr. Pain in the *** for sure. Two hours just to get the gauge out then my fat hands couldn't undue the power clips in the back. Ugh. I wonder how much it will cost to have them professionally installed.
Daly2000GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 07:46 PM   #35
Registered Member
Regular
 
dmax8709's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Alabama
Posts: 413
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daly2000GT
Just tried installing mine. Had to quit before I lost it. May try again this weekend. Grrrrr. Pain in the *** for sure. Two hours just to get the gauge out then my fat hands couldn't undue the power clips in the back. Ugh. I wonder how much it will cost to have them professionally installed.
I've pulled my gauges before. Only takes about 15-20 min to pull them for me. And what I've read its only 2-3 wires to put n. I dunno how much it'll cost. That's something I've never heard anything on or about. Did u get everything pulled out except the harness on the back? How many wires is on urs? Which ones did u have?
dmax8709 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fuel gauge issues Bily Pepp 2.3 Mustang 7 02-12-2012 10:05 PM
3 gauge pillar ? 02PONY 1996-2004 Mustang GT 6 01-24-2012 11:48 AM
gauge install help. king 5.0 2011-2014 Mustang GT 2 01-20-2012 11:05 PM
Boost gauge help GMSPNKR 2005-2010 Mustang GT 1 01-13-2012 06:40 AM
Roush led boost gauge help? Rapinator126 Roush Mustang 0 01-05-2012 12:12 AM

» Like Us On Facebook



09:49 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.