Hard to put in gear? - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 04-11-2012, 04:58 AM   #1
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Georgia
Hard to put in gear?

Sometimes when I'm driving my car it acts as if it doesn't want to go in first gear. Could this mean transmission problems or would a shorty shifter answer my problems?
Gobabygo67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-11-2012, 05:16 AM   #2

Region: Florida
Re: Hard to put in gear?

I have been driving a stick for about 25+ years, everything from Hondas to Macks. My driving style has always been the same, before I go into first gear, regardless of if I'm down shifting or sitting at a light, I ALWAYS pull back into 2nd before going to first.

Now that being said, you could have a bad synchro from first gear, which would make it more difficult to shift into first.

2015 Mustang GT Convertible
2014 Jeep Wrangler (Lifted)
2015 Ford Fusion Titanium
Jeffola is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 06:52 AM   #3
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Indiana
My 02 won't go into 1st until I'm below 10mph and sometimes I need to do the 2nd gear to first gear. My car has the tr3650 and my 01 did the same thing with the t45 tranny.
jjsg09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-11-2012, 09:15 AM   #4
Moderator Emeritus
Legacy
Regular

Region: Alabama
Send a message via AIM to SpectorV

my cobra had these sorts of issues (beyond just not being stopped, and now and again it can do this but it should not be EVERY time)

it ended up the clutch had to much slack in it so when pushing it in it was not going in enough. Manually adjusted if it it has a lot of flop in the petal.