Help!! 98 gt running poorly - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 07-02-2012, 05:52 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Alabama
Help!! 98 gt running poorly

Hey all, I'm new to the mustang world from bmws. I just bought a 98 gt and it has been skipping out at about 1.7-2k Rpms and sometimes fluctuates at idle. It has no cats on it, and I have some mil elims on the way to stop the catalyst errors, but does anyone have any ideas? The car has some aftermarket performance accessories on it that were on it when I bought it.
Cmrtopher is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-02-2012, 06:15 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular

Region: North Carolina
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cmrtopher
Hey all, I'm new to the mustang world from bmws. I just bought a 98 gt and it has been skipping out at about 1.7-2k Rpms and sometimes fluctuates at idle. It has no cats on it, and I have some mil elims on the way to stop the catalyst errors, but does anyone have any ideas? The car has some aftermarket performance accessories on it that were on it when I bought it.
I'd do a thorough check of all ignition systems first. The usual, spark plugs, wires, coils, then check vacuum systems for worn hoses. Keep an eye on your tach see what it's doing. Can you list any spec upgrades? Would help. Hope intake header ain't leaking but could be. I have a 97 vert.

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1370660309.jpg
Views:	932
Size:	431.5 KB
ID:	57347
Old 07-02-2012, 06:16 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular

Quote:
Originally Posted by LAS97GT