Questions about Swapping Motor... - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 07-17-2012, 01:58 AM   #1

Region: Pennsylvania
Questions about Swapping Motor...

Hey everyone, so today's a sad day for this mustang owner.

It all started with a little ticking noise about a week ago, which eventually turned into a slight knocking a few days ago, which then today turned into "WTF!". Turns out I threw a rod, and am now out a daily driver.

I found a used 2v (83k) motor from a 96 GT for very cheap and am more than likely going to grab it to throw in my car. My question is, being that I've never done a swap before, will the motor be okay in my car? It's coming from a manual trans car and I have an auto...I understand that 96-04 all used 4.6 2v so I shouldn't have any problems should I? Any tips or tricks on making the swap a little easier on myself?

Sorry if these are some noob questions I just want to get all of my info correct before I go jumping on a used motor...I'd appreciate any help!
PhillyMustangGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-17-2012, 02:19 AM   #2
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhillyMustangGT
Hey everyone, so today's a sad day for this mustang owner.

It all started with a little ticking noise about a week ago, which eventually turned into a slight knocking a few days ago, which then today turned into "WTF!". Turns out I threw a rod, and am now out a daily driver.