supercharger - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 07-19-2012, 07:04 AM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,291
supercharger

Well I was looking around and I've decided im going with a Kenne Bell big bore 2.1 intercooled kit. Im going to run 60 Lbs injectors since my head are CNC ported and polished, 75mm TB and 90 mm air mass. Im not going to use the chip, but instead use the SCT Xcal 3 tuner. Any advice on this? Here it is:

'96-'04 Mustang 4.6 2V 2.1L Supercharger
southernstang00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-19-2012, 07:32 AM   #2
Lorraine's driver

Regular
 
ab_mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indianapolis
Region: Indiana
Posts: 7,863
I know this isn't advise, but KB kicks a$$!

Are you planning this for your GT or your new Cobra?
__________________
Instagram: @ab_mach1
ab_mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2012, 07:44 AM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
Rm360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Illinois
Posts: 1,140
Quote:
Originally Posted by southernstang00
Well I was looking around and I've decided im going with a Kenne Bell big bore 2.1 intercooled kit. Im going to run 60 Lbs injectors since my head are CNC ported and polished, 75mm TB and 90 mm air mass. Im not going to use the chip, but instead use the SCT Xcal 3 tuner. Any advice on this? Here it is:

'96-'04 Mustang 4.6 2V 2.1L Supercharger
If your doing the install yourself you need to let kb know about the heads , you can get the tuner from them loaded with a start up tune , the reason I say start up tune is that I wasnt really happy with the tune so I went and had it retuned and dynoed
Rm360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-19-2012, 08:15 AM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
WheelStander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Charlotte
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 1,470
What's the price you get on this? I'm doing same thing.
__________________
Induction: Kenne Bell | wHp: 515 Tq: 503 | 1/4 Mile:11.09@123
WheelStander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2012, 08:24 AM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
Rm360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Illinois
Posts: 1,140
Quote:
Originally Posted by WheelStander
What's the price you get on this? I'm doing same thing.
The kit with inter cooler and boost a pump set up will run around $5,000
Rm360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2012, 08:49 AM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,291
Quote:
Originally Posted by Azure
I know this isn't advise, but KB kicks a$$!

Are you planning this for your GT or your new Cobra?
Yes I agree man,and its for the gt.

---------- Post added at 08:49 AM ---------- Previous post was at 08:46 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rm360

If your doing the install yourself you need to let kb know about the heads , you can get the tuner from them loaded with a start up tune , the reason I say start up tune is that I wasnt really happy with the tune so I went and had it retuned and dynoed
Yes, im doing the install myself and the tuner I have already. I was planning on getting it dyno tuned regardless by a local speed shop. You think I might have to send the tuner to them for the start up tune ?
southernstang00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2012, 08:56 AM   #7
Lorraine's driver

Regular
 
ab_mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indianapolis
Region: Indiana
Posts: 7,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by southernstang00

Yes, im doing the install myself and the tuner I have already. I was planning on getting it dyno tuned regardless by a local speed shop. You think I might have to send the tuner to them for the start up tune ?
Maybe you'll want to so you can keep your handheld married to your PCM...?
__________________
Instagram: @ab_mach1
ab_mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2012, 09:01 AM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,291
Quote:
Originally Posted by Azure

Maybe you'll want to so you can keep your handheld married to your PCM...?
Aw crap that's right I would have to take the tuner off to use the chip. I was going to use the chip that comes with the kit for the start up tune just to drive it on the trailer.
southernstang00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2012, 09:15 AM   #9
Lorraine's driver

Regular
 
ab_mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indianapolis
Region: Indiana
Posts: 7,863
Maybe the chip that comes with it can be your new "stock" tune. Bare with me... You could flash back your stock tune. Install the KB and pop on the chip. Bring the tuner with you and see if they can use your tuner to flash the new dyno tune. The new dyno tune would saved on your tuner, along w/Ford stock tune. Then you could be married to the tuner and still be able to flash back and still use the chip that comes with the KB kit as well without losing the dyno tune.
__________________
Instagram: @ab_mach1
ab_mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2012, 09:19 AM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,291
Quote:
Originally Posted by Azure
Maybe the chip that comes with it can be your new "stock" tune. Bare with me... You could flash back your stock tune. Install the KB and pop on the chip. Bring the tuner with you and see if they can use your tuner to flash the new dyno tune. The new dyno tune would saved on your tuner, along w/Ford stock tune. Then you could be married to the tuner and still be able to flash back and still use the chip that comes with the KB kit as well without losing the dyno tune.
Ya know that's a good idea. I wonder if I will be able to drive it to the dyno place with the tuned kb chip ? Or should I trailer it?
southernstang00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2012, 09:23 AM   #11
Lorraine's driver

Regular
 
ab_mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indianapolis
Region: Indiana
Posts: 7,863
Did RM360 mention the chip was setup with a basic tune from KB? If so, man I would hope it would be close enough to run enough to get you to the dyno.
__________________
Instagram: @ab_mach1
ab_mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2012, 09:27 AM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,291
Naw he didn't I might just put it on a trailer its not far from them house.
southernstang00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2012, 09:35 AM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
Rm360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Illinois
Posts: 1,140
You can use the chip as the start up tune but I would still let them know about your heads as they flow more air than stock , kb 's tune is set up for stock heads. They might be able to write you a tune also and email it to you do you can still use your handheld I'm not sure about that tho!
Rm360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2012, 09:39 AM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,291
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rm360
You can use the chip as the start up tune but I would still let them know about your heads as they flow more air than stock , kb 's tune is set up for stock heads. They might be able to write you a tune also and email it to you do you can still use your handheld I'm not sure about that tho!
Oh ok gotcha well when I call I sure will let them know about my heads.

With stage three cams now, do you think you will hear the super charger at idle ?
southernstang00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2012, 09:59 AM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
Rm360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Illinois
Posts: 1,140
Just make sure you let them know about all your mods you want to try to get the tune as close as possible with the stage 3 cams you would still hear the sc faintly I'm actually surprised on how "quiet" the kb is compared to vortech and Paxton
Rm360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2012, 10:04 AM   #16
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,291
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rm360
Just make sure you let them know about all your mods you want to try to get the tune as close as possible with the stage 3 cams you would still hear the sc faintly I'm actually surprised on how "quiet" the kb is compared to vortech and Paxton
Oh I am, everything down to the CAI. It comes with 36 lbs injectors would you use them or go 60? Oh, ok well I want to hear it some but I'm sure you will hear it when you are WOT?
southernstang00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2012, 10:17 AM   #17
Registered Member
Regular
 
Rapinator126's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Texas
Posts: 9,253
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rm360
Just make sure you let them know about all your mods you want to try to get the tune as close as possible with the stage 3 cams you would still hear the sc faintly I'm actually surprised on how "quiet" the kb is compared to vortech and Paxton
thats bc a paxton and KB are 2 complete diff types of superchargers. you wont here a KB a iddle but will a full throttle. vs paxton which i loud at iddle and quiets down the more you get into boost
Rapinator126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2012, 10:33 AM   #18
Registered Member
Regular
 
Rm360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Illinois
Posts: 1,140
Quote:
Originally Posted by southernstang00

Oh I am, everything down to the CAI. It comes with 36 lbs injectors would you use them or go 60? Oh, ok well I want to hear it some but I'm sure you will hear it when you are WOT?
There 90mm set up I believe comes with 42 lb injectors , according to kb's math the 42's can support up to 600 hp with a svt focus pump and boost a pump set up , I would probly go with the 60's tho better to have more than not enough
Rm360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2012, 11:45 AM   #19
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,291
Well in sticking to kb, I rather hear it on open throttle then hear it at idle. I was looking on the sure and it really doesn't anything about 42 injectors.
southernstang00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2012, 11:50 AM   #20
Lorraine's driver

Regular
 
ab_mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indianapolis
Region: Indiana
Posts: 7,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by southernstang00
Well in sticking to kb, I rather hear it on open throttle then hear it at idle. I was looking on the sure and it really doesn't anything about 42 injectors.
+1 on KB sound
__________________
Instagram: @ab_mach1
ab_mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2012, 12:07 PM   #21
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,291
Yea buddy can't wait to get it
southernstang00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2012, 12:12 PM   #22
Registered Member
Regular
 
Rm360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Illinois
Posts: 1,140
Quote:
Originally Posted by southernstang00
Well in sticking to kb, I rather hear it on open throttle then hear it at idle. I was looking on the sure and it really doesn't anything about 42 injectors.
The 42lb injectors come in the cobra, Mach 1 kit go to kb's web site and search for their article boost a pump vs svt focus pump it shows all the math formulas and talks about the 42 lb injectors

---------- Post added at 12:12 PM ---------- Previous post was at 12:07 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rm360

The 42lb injectors come in the cobra, Mach 1 kit go to kb's web site and search for their article boost a pump vs svt focus pump it shows all the math formulas and talks about the 42 lb injectors
Maybe it's called boost a pump theory explained its been a while since I read it
Rm360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2012, 12:17 PM   #23
Registered Member
Regular
 
WheelStander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Charlotte
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 1,470
My guy at Extreme Mustangs tells me categorically, use 60 on mine fwiw.

And this guy is a very successful owner of his shop.
__________________
Induction: Kenne Bell | wHp: 515 Tq: 503 | 1/4 Mile:11.09@123
WheelStander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2012, 12:33 PM   #24
Registered Member
Regular
 
Rm360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Illinois
Posts: 1,140
Quote:
Originally Posted by WheelStander
My guy at Extreme Mustangs tells me categorically, use 60 on mine fwiw.

And this guy is a very successful owner of his shop.
I agree I would just run the 60's!!
Rm360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2012, 12:34 PM   #25
Lorraine's driver

Regular
 
ab_mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indianapolis
Region: Indiana
Posts: 7,863
I've heard that going too big will just waste gas. I think that a lot of poo. Doesn't the ECU control how much goes through the injectors?
__________________
Instagram: @ab_mach1
ab_mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2012, 12:43 PM   #26
Registered Member
Regular
 
Rm360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Illinois
Posts: 1,140
Quote:
Originally Posted by Azure
I've heard that going too big will just waste gas. I think that a lot of poo. Doesn't the ECU control how much goes through the injectors?
For his set up with the heads and cams the 60's should be perfect The ECM controls the flow but can and will be adjusted in the tune to flow what you need as long as your fuel rails can handle the increase in fuel
Rm360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2012, 12:45 PM   #27
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,291
Yeah I'm just going to go 60 just in case.
southernstang00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2012, 12:50 PM   #28
Registered Member
Regular
 
WheelStander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Charlotte
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 1,470
No need to change the fuel rails my guy says.
__________________
Induction: Kenne Bell | wHp: 515 Tq: 503 | 1/4 Mile:11.09@123
WheelStander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2012, 12:53 PM   #29
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,291
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rm360

For his set up with the heads and cams the 60's should be perfect The ECM controls the flow but can and will be adjusted in the tune to flow what you need as long as your fuel rails can handle the increase in fuel
I want to say the fuel rails come with the whole kit but I might get the bbk fuel rails.
southernstang00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2012, 01:09 PM   #30
Registered Member
Regular
 
MachMan1017's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Colorado
Posts: 366
Excited to see the results when she's all done!
MachMan1017 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2012, 01:35 PM   #31
Lorraine's driver

Regular
 
ab_mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indianapolis
Region: Indiana
Posts: 7,863
Yeah, you'll need to start you a KB install thread so we can follow.
__________________
Instagram: @ab_mach1
ab_mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2012, 01:36 PM   #32
Registered Member
Regular
 
Rm360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Illinois
Posts: 1,140
Quote:
Originally Posted by southernstang00

I want to say the fuel rails come with the whole kit but I might get the bbk fuel rails.
I read something some time ago about the bbk fuel rails leaking where the fuel line connects to the rail , I also believe they fixed the problem , just make sure to ask before you buy, I want to say there was a thread on this forum about it but don't quote me on that!!
Rm360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2012, 01:39 PM   #33
Lorraine's driver

Regular
 
ab_mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indianapolis
Region: Indiana
Posts: 7,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by Azure
Yeah, you'll need to start you a KB install thread so we can follow.
What am I talking about, keep here. Good from start to finish.
__________________
Instagram: @ab_mach1
ab_mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2012, 02:07 PM   #34
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,291
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rm360

I read something some time ago about the bbk fuel rails leaking where the fuel line connects to the rail , I also believe they fixed the problem , just make sure to ask before you buy, I want to say there was a thread on this forum about it but don't quote me on that!!
Thanks for telling me that and I will keep that in mind.
southernstang00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2012, 03:01 PM   #35
Registered Member
Regular
 
Rm360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Illinois
Posts: 1,140
Quote:
Originally Posted by southernstang00

Thanks for telling me that and I will keep that in mind.
No problem I remember reading it just wanted you to be aware , nothing sucks more than doing all that work to have something fail, then have to wait 4 days to get a new part!!! LOL!!!
Rm360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



07:46 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.