410 gear - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 07-24-2012, 09:10 PM   #1
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 10
410 gear

i just put a new 410 in my car had a 327 in it do u think it should run alot better
crittenden03gt is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-24-2012, 09:34 PM   #2
Lorraine's driver

Regular
 
ab_mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indianapolis
Region: Indiana
Posts: 7,858
Should feel a hellava lot more acceleration.
__________________
Instagram: @ab_mach1
ab_mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 10:34 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
shsfresh87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Region: West Virgina
Posts: 814
I did the same thing, it makes it quick as hell. But make sure u take it easy for about two trips to the gas station. U gotta break em in EASY
shsfresh87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-24-2012, 10:37 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
Venomouz831's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Seaside
Region: California
Posts: 8,133
I will also do this mod in the future. So is it just install em and ure good or u need a tune? Does it mess with ure spedo?
__________________
)02 Gt, Founder of WE2G
Venomouz831 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 10:51 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
bullitt1075's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Capitola
Region: California
Posts: 1,634
Send a message via Skype™ to bullitt1075
I'm almost positive you will need a tune to recalibrate your speedo.
__________________
Proud owner of Bullitt #1075
bullitt1075 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 11:44 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
BigB227's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: West Palm Beach
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,120
Quote:
Originally Posted by bullitt1075
I'm almost positive you will need a tune to recalibrate your speedo.
You definitely need a tune to accommodate for the gear swap, get the gear and tuner combo it's a great deal
BigB227 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 11:45 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
Venomouz831's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Seaside
Region: California
Posts: 8,133
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigB227

You definitely need a tune to accommodate for the gear swap, get the gear and tuner combo it's a great deal
I wanna do gears but I would rather do a dyno tune instead of handheld tuner
__________________
)02 Gt, Founder of WE2G
Venomouz831 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 12:10 AM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
infamous281's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 779
Re: 410 gear

Make sure to break them in for a good 200-400 Miles

And acceleration should be fast but traction is going to be your biggest issue off the line

---------- Post added at 12:10 AM ---------- Previous post was at 12:09 AM ----------

Gears should be everyones 1st Mod ..

373s are overall best gear ratio

I've been driving without speedo recal. And it's fine ..
373s = 10 mph over
410s = 15 mph over
infamous281 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 01:06 AM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
RUNNWLD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Region: Utah
Posts: 809
How much would it be to have them installed?
RUNNWLD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 09:09 AM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
infamous281's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 779
Quote:
Originally Posted by RUNNWLD
How much would it be to have them installed?
Got mine installed for 200
infamous281 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 11:36 AM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
RUNNWLD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Region: Utah
Posts: 809
Okay thanks!
RUNNWLD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 11:44 AM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
ColeJohnson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Ketchikan, Alaska
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 2,507
Re: 410 gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by RUNNWLD View Post
How much would it be to have them installed?
My install was $373 total.

And you should just get a tuner instead of a dyno. It's not economical to do a dyno tune just for a gear swap. A tuner will also be very helpful in the future with mods and is a great investment overall.
__________________

2016 Comp Orange GT (current)
Aurora - 2002 Boosted GT! (Sold, sadly)
ColeJohnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 11:46 AM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
infamous281's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 779
Quote:
Originally Posted by ColeJohnson

My install was $373 total.

And you should just get a tuner instead of a dyno. It's not economical to do a dyno tune just for a gear swap. A tuner will also be very helpful in the future with mods and is a great investment overall.
Yeah and anyways you NEED a Tuner to get a DYNO Tune.. It makes it a whole lot easier for them and so You can change your tunes from Daily Driver to Aggresive Tune with just a couple pressed buttons
infamous281 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 04:22 PM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
shsfresh87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Region: West Virgina
Posts: 814
My gears say im 10mph faster than what im doing
shsfresh87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 06:09 PM   #15
Lorraine's driver

Regular
 
ab_mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indianapolis
Region: Indiana
Posts: 7,858
Question: If you don't get a tune to correct your speedo and it says ~10MPH faster than you are really going, are you also racking miles on the odometer faster too?
__________________
Instagram: @ab_mach1
ab_mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 06:45 PM   #16
Registered Member
Regular
 
ksrumbel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Hamburg
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 483
Quote:
Originally Posted by Azure
Question: If you don't get a tune to correct your speedo and it says ~10MPH faster than you are really going, are you also racking miles on the odometer faster too?
Yes you are. I had 4.10s installed and racked up about 2,000 extra miles than I actually went before I got it corrected.
ksrumbel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 06:49 PM   #17
Lorraine's driver

Regular
 
ab_mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indianapolis
Region: Indiana
Posts: 7,858
Quote:
Originally Posted by ksrumbel

Yes you are. I had 4.10s installed and racked up about 2,000 extra miles than I actually went before I got it corrected.
Yeah, see that's not cool. I am waiting on a tune after data logging. I'm glad I didn't throw the stock tune back on while I'm waiting for the email. Thanks bro!
__________________
Instagram: @ab_mach1
ab_mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



09:34 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.