KB build-up thread.. - Page 6 - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 10-02-2012, 02:53 PM   #176
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,291
Yet again, not today so let's just say hopefully sometime this week.
southernstang00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-02-2012, 02:59 PM   #177
Registered Member
Regular
 
Rm360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Illinois
Posts: 1,140
Quote:
Originally Posted by southernstang00
Yet again, not today so let's just say hopefully sometime this week.
Wow!!! Really ???? Did they say what was going on? That sucks!!!
Rm360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 03:38 PM   #178
Registered Member
Regular
 
WheelStander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Charlotte
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 1,470
Sucks.
__________________
Induction: Kenne Bell | wHp: 515 Tq: 503 | 1/4 Mile:11.09@123
WheelStander is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-02-2012, 07:39 PM   #179
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,291
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rm360 View Post
Wow!!! Really ???? Did they say what was going on? That sucks!!!
Honestly, I dont know really. Im trying not to get mad but im getting to the breaking point. I know they are busy but it doesnt take a week and half to do this. I think they are putting me on the back burner really...oh well im going to try and not think about it.
southernstang00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 07:43 PM   #180
Registered Member
Regular
 
WheelStander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Charlotte
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 1,470
I would be pissed too.

I mean c'mon it's gonna two weeks before you know it.
__________________
Induction: Kenne Bell | wHp: 515 Tq: 503 | 1/4 Mile:11.09@123
WheelStander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 09:19 PM   #181
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,291
Quote:
Originally Posted by WheelStander View Post
I would be pissed too.

I mean c'mon it's gonna two weeks before you know it.
I know, it will be two weeks this fri so im saying hopefully I will get it this week. If not, im done and i will just say im getting it sometime this month lol.

Already got my gauges and pods ready so dayum they need to hurry up.
southernstang00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 09:45 PM   #182
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: Indiana
Posts: 8,044
Quote:
Originally Posted by southernstang00

I know, it will be two weeks this fri so im saying hopefully I will get it this week. If not, im done and i will just say im getting it sometime this month lol.

Already got my gauges and pods ready so dayum they need to hurry up.
The suspense is killing us! I can only imagine how you feel.
dreamstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 03:30 AM   #183
Registered Member
Regular
 
WheelStander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Charlotte
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 1,470
Which gauges and pods did you get?
__________________
Induction: Kenne Bell | wHp: 515 Tq: 503 | 1/4 Mile:11.09@123
WheelStander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 05:22 AM   #184
Registered Member
Regular
 
Rm360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Illinois
Posts: 1,140
Quote:
Originally Posted by southernstang00

Honestly, I dont know really. Im trying not to get mad but im getting to the breaking point. I know they are busy but it doesnt take a week and half to do this. I think they are putting me on the back burner really...oh well im going to try and not think about it.
This could be the case, how experienced are they at tuning ford motors? When I had my car tuned it took about 6 hrs in total, the actual tuning took about 3 hrs, an hour spent messing with the shift points , and the rest of the time was tweaking and dyno pulls. The reason I ask about their experience is guys who tune a lot of Chevys have a hard time tuning fords and most ford tuners won't mess with Chevys
Rm360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 06:19 AM   #185
Registered Member
Regular
 
WheelStander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Charlotte
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 1,470
Yeah might be time to have a discussion with the owner and take it someplace else.
__________________
Induction: Kenne Bell | wHp: 515 Tq: 503 | 1/4 Mile:11.09@123
WheelStander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 09:12 AM   #186
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
lowflyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Region: Mississippi
Posts: 19,890
Send a message via AIM to lowflyn
Definitely the best place for your car. Good things come to those that wait. You better call me when it's ready, i'll meet ya up there
__________________
"I'm not driving too fast...just flying too low"
Mine:
-03 SB Cobra vert- 2552 of 5082 Born 02/25/03
Our's:
90 7up vert - new project-07 DSG Focus -DD
335
lowflyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 10:03 AM   #187
Lorraine's driver

Regular
 
ab_mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indianapolis
Region: Indiana
Posts: 7,862
Quote:
Originally Posted by lowflyn View Post
Definitely the best place for your car. Good things come to those that wait. You better call me when it's ready, i'll meet ya up there
+1 on the waiting
__________________
Instagram: @ab_mach1
ab_mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 10:28 AM   #188
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,291
Quote:
Originally Posted by WheelStander
Which gauges and pods did you get?
I went with the autometer a pillar pods, boost gauge, and water temp gauge. Speed of sound wanted 240-260 for the pods and gauges, the sad part is they wanted my old a pillar to make it with. Hell with that I got what I wanted for 160. I will take a picture when I get home

---------- Post added at 10:22 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:20 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rm360

This could be the case, how experienced are they at tuning ford motors? When I had my car tuned it took about 6 hrs in total, the actual tuning took about 3 hrs, an hour spent messing with the shift points , and the rest of the time was tweaking and dyno pulls. The reason I ask about their experience is guys who tune a lot of Chevys have a hard time tuning fords and most ford tuners won't mess with Chevys
Oh, they are mainly fords esp modular ones. The guy that tunes it is creaking awesome that's why he is in three different locations, not sure I'f you have heard of John Gortara or something like that.

---------- Post added at 10:24 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:22 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by WheelStander
Yeah might be time to have a discussion with the owner and take it someplace else.
They are the only ones I trust, the rest of them around here I wouldnt trust to tune my lawn mower. They have been backed up, it sorta is my fault in away cuz I forgot to take the udp's off.

---------- Post added at 10:27 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:24 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowflyn
Definitely the best place for your car. Good things come to those that wait. You better call me when it's ready, i'll meet ya up there
Yeah I know, I guess its the wait that is killing me lol along with other stuff. I'm Def waiting cuz I know they will get it right. Send me your number again because I dropped my phone at work and it broke so I lost my numbers so that I can tell ya when they are ready with it. Just be handy for the whole month of Oct, cuz I'm sure I will get it back this month lol.

---------- Post added at 10:27 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:27 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowflyn
Definitely the best place for your car. Good things come to those that wait. You better call me when it's ready, i'll meet ya up there
Yeah I know, I guess its the wait that is killing me lol along with other stuff. I'm Def waiting cuz I know they will get it right. Send me your number again because I dropped my phone at work and it broke so I lost my numbers so that I can tell ya when they are ready with it. Just be handy for the whole month of Oct, cuz I'm sure I will get it back this month lol.

---------- Post added at 10:28 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:27 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Azure

+1 on the waiting
Me too lol
southernstang00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 11:36 AM   #189
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
lowflyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Region: Mississippi
Posts: 19,890
Send a message via AIM to lowflyn
Gotera
__________________
"I'm not driving too fast...just flying too low"
Mine:
-03 SB Cobra vert- 2552 of 5082 Born 02/25/03
Our's:
90 7up vert - new project-07 DSG Focus -DD
335
lowflyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 11:40 AM   #190
Lorraine's driver

Regular
 
ab_mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indianapolis
Region: Indiana
Posts: 7,862
Quote:
Originally Posted by lowflyn View Post
Gotera
?
__________________
Instagram: @ab_mach1
ab_mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 11:41 AM   #191
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
lowflyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Region: Mississippi
Posts: 19,890
Send a message via AIM to lowflyn
Quote:
Originally Posted by Azure

?
The guy's name that is tuning the car.
__________________
"I'm not driving too fast...just flying too low"
Mine:
-03 SB Cobra vert- 2552 of 5082 Born 02/25/03
Our's:
90 7up vert - new project-07 DSG Focus -DD
335
lowflyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 11:50 AM   #192
Lorraine's driver

Regular
 
ab_mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indianapolis
Region: Indiana
Posts: 7,862
Quote:
Originally Posted by lowflyn View Post
The guy's name that is tuning the car.
Oh, Ha! Cool that you know these guys.

When you get a dyno tune, do they give you more than one tune for your ride. For example, a street and racing tune?
__________________
Instagram: @ab_mach1
ab_mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 12:17 PM   #193
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
lowflyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Region: Mississippi
Posts: 19,890
Send a message via AIM to lowflyn
Quote:
Originally Posted by Azure

Oh, Ha! Cool that you know these guys.

When you get a dyno tune, do they give you more than one tune for your ride. For example, a street and racing tune?
The place his car is is 2 miles from my house, they also do all my machine work for my stuff
__________________
"I'm not driving too fast...just flying too low"
Mine:
-03 SB Cobra vert- 2552 of 5082 Born 02/25/03
Our's:
90 7up vert - new project-07 DSG Focus -DD
335
lowflyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 12:24 PM   #194
Registered Member
Regular
 
WheelStander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Charlotte
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 1,470
Must be busy tuning his BA ride...

__________________
Induction: Kenne Bell | wHp: 515 Tq: 503 | 1/4 Mile:11.09@123
WheelStander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 01:34 PM   #195
Registered Member
Regular
 
Rm360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Illinois
Posts: 1,140
Quote:
Originally Posted by WheelStander
Must be busy tuning his BA ride...

Ya that's bad a$$!!!! I would say he's worth the wait LOL!!!!
Rm360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 01:41 PM   #196
Registered Member
Regular
 
Rm360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Illinois
Posts: 1,140
Quote:
Originally Posted by Azure

Oh, Ha! Cool that you know these guys.

When you get a dyno tune, do they give you more than one tune for your ride. For example, a street and racing tune?
Azure, to answer your question ,it's no, when you get a dyno tune you are making maximum, safe power with the setup you have,
Rm360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 02:04 PM   #197
Lorraine's driver

Regular
 
ab_mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indianapolis
Region: Indiana
Posts: 7,862
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rm360 View Post

Azure, to answer your question ,it's no, when you get a dyno tune you are making maximum, safe power with the setup you have,
I think I would like this type of tune best.
__________________
Instagram: @ab_mach1
ab_mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 02:30 PM   #198
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
lowflyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Region: Mississippi
Posts: 19,890
Send a message via AIM to lowflyn
With that said I do have a crappy gas tune on my handheld. Just in case. Car has no power with it though
__________________
"I'm not driving too fast...just flying too low"
Mine:
-03 SB Cobra vert- 2552 of 5082 Born 02/25/03
Our's:
90 7up vert - new project-07 DSG Focus -DD
335
lowflyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 06:04 PM   #199
Registered Member
Regular
 
Boostr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 35
You have the 03-04 Cobra block wich is also a truck block, its stronger. The short block I got from MMR is a new 03-04 Cobra block and I had those sensor bosses wich I had to grind down to fit my KB. Hope that answers your block mystery.
Boostr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 07:37 PM   #200
Registered Member
Regular
 
Rm360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Illinois
Posts: 1,140
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boostr
You have the 03-04 Cobra block wich is also a truck block, its stronger. The short block I got from MMR is a new 03-04 Cobra block and I had those sensor bosses wich I had to grind down to fit my KB. Hope that answers your block mystery.
I have a Romeo block and it also had the bosses, according to Kenne Bell from 99 & up with "f" as the 11th# of the vin the blocks were different, I believe 99 is when ford changed from the windsor block to the romeo block the only thing I know about the 03-04 cobra block is that it's cast iron not aluminum
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2707969103.jpg
Views:	76
Size:	601.7 KB
ID:	71026  
Rm360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 09:12 PM   #201
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,291
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rm360

I have a Romeo block and it also had the bosses, according to Kenne Bell from 99 & up with "f" as the 11th# of the vin the blocks were different, I believe 99 is when ford changed from the windsor block to the romeo block the only thing I know about the 03-04 cobra block is that it's cast iron not aluminum
Actually, I'm not sure about that because my is a 2000 and it did have a windsor. I could be wrong but I want to say the year you are referring to is 02. But I did have my buddy at the ford dealership do some history checks on my car and it did come from a plant up north and it was built on a fri. The car was suppose to have romeo block but some how got a windsor. The vin matches but thats all I can tell ya. I can tell you both my old block and new one are cast iron.
southernstang00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 09:29 PM   #202
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,291
Quote:
Originally Posted by Azure View Post
Oh, Ha! Cool that you know these guys.

When you get a dyno tune, do they give you more than one tune for your ride. For example, a street and racing tune?
When i did my tune for my motor before the KB they just gave me one tune. But really thats all it needed because it was for 93. They got it pretty well close to 100 or at least it felt like it.

---------- Post added at 09:19 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:18 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rm360 View Post
Azure, to answer your question ,it's no, when you get a dyno tune you are making maximum, safe power with the setup you have,
opps, didnt see this until after I posted lol...yes, I agree lol.

---------- Post added at 09:24 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:19 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowflyn View Post
With that said I do have a crappy gas tune on my handheld. Just in case. Car has no power with it though
Yeah be my luck you put it on that tune when we race and your car blows up and you blame me...lol

---------- Post added at 09:27 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:24 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boostr View Post
You have the 03-04 Cobra block wich is also a truck block, its stronger. The short block I got from MMR is a new 03-04 Cobra block and I had those sensor bosses wich I had to grind down to fit my KB. Hope that answers your block mystery.
Was this in reference to me or RM360? You did see my pics of my block right? Whats your sensor bosses in the middle of the block right behide 3 and 7 cyn ? My old winsor block had these but they were up front right behide the water pump.

---------- Post added at 09:29 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:27 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rm360 View Post
I have a Romeo block and it also had the bosses, according to Kenne Bell from 99 & up with "f" as the 11th# of the vin the blocks were different, I believe 99 is when ford changed from the windsor block to the romeo block the only thing I know about the 03-04 cobra block is that it's cast iron not aluminum
Yea, the funny thing is I read over all of this right before the install and forgot all about it so all of the trouble I ran into and called KB was in that packet with that paper in your picture. I sat down one morning eating breakfast and saw this packet and started to read it. Yes, lets just say i felt like a Dumb***. lmao
southernstang00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 09:36 AM   #203
Registered Member
Regular
 
Boostr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 35
Oh, okay those are different bosses than the ones I was talking about. The ones I was talking about are on the sides and middle of the valley.
Boostr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 09:42 AM   #204
Registered Member
Regular
 
Boostr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by southernstang00 View Post
Was this in reference to me or RM360? You did see my pics of my block right? Whats your sensor bosses in the middle of the block right behide 3 and 7 cyn ? My old winsor block had these but they were up front right behide the water pump.
To you. Yes that where my bosses are or were in the middle.
Boostr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 11:39 AM   #205
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,291
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boostr

To you. Yes that where my bosses are or were in the middle.
I think my description suxed above but mine were in the same area. If you look at the picture above somewhere was yours in the same spot?
southernstang00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 04:37 PM   #206
Registered Member
Regular
 
Boostr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 35
If you're block is in the pictures from earlier and it has the bosses circled in red thats where mine were before I grounded them down. So its probably an 03-04 Cobra block.
Boostr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 10:28 AM   #207
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,291
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boostr View Post
If you're block is in the pictures from earlier and it has the bosses circled in red thats where mine were before I grounded them down. So its probably an 03-04 Cobra block.
Aw, okie well I had to ask but thanks for clearing that up for me. Well thats good to know its a chance its a 03-04 block.


Still no word on when i will get it back
southernstang00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 09:27 PM   #208
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,291
Got the car back, let's just say its a different car and will haul arse but I got to put new plugs in it before I post a video. They said it was 370 to the wheels but they are a little lower then normal dynos. He said its Prolly more then that more like 400 but I will take it somewhere for a 2nd opinion
southernstang00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 10:00 PM   #209
Lorraine's driver

Regular
 
ab_mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indianapolis
Region: Indiana
Posts: 7,862
Quote:
Originally Posted by southernstang00 View Post
Got the car back, let's just say its a different car and will haul arse but I got to put new plugs in it before I post a video. They said it was 370 to the wheels but they are a little lower then normal dynos. He said its Prolly more then that more like 400 but I will take it somewhere for a 2nd opinion
Awesome bro! Putting colder plugs in?
__________________
Instagram: @ab_mach1
ab_mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 03:55 AM   #210
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,291
Quote:
Originally Posted by Azure

Awesome bro! Putting colder plugs in?
Well some how I had cheap champion plugs in there with the gap set at .065 or so causing spark blow out because there is a mist at certain speeds and throttle. I'm putting ngk iridium plugs in there with the gap set at .030 to see if that fixes the problem.
southernstang00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



01:12 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.