96 gt - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 09-19-2012, 08:35 AM   #1

Region: Texas
96 gt

OK so I just got this 96 mustang Gt and of course the check engine light came on went to autozone said 02 sensor. So question is cost and damage. How much to fix and how much damage will happen cause I have to drive it for about a week or two before I can fix I. Thanks guys I am new to all this.
shamelesscobra4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-19-2012, 10:07 AM   #2
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Nevada
Re: 96 gt

Welcome to the forum.

The 02 codes that are coming up are basically generic in nature. Probably 80% of the time it's not actually the 02 sensor? It's just saying that by the time the airflow reached the 02 sensor it failed the normal parameter settings.

So, you could have a dirty MAF sensor, a bad/dirty air filter, a vacuum leak and the list goes on and on.

If you're a replacement mechanic and not a trouble shoot mechanic a code like this could cost you countless $$$$$$$$

So, the best thing to do is find a good mechanic, if you're not one? I'm not sure of your mechanical skills? That's why I say that. If you are a good mech? You will not to start digging into it.

I had the same code on my 06 GT about 4 months ago and after trouble shooting it for almost two weeks. I had a bad air filter.

I hope you have luck finding the problem.
Old 09-19-2012, 03:27 PM   #3

Cool that helps some, I'm a chef no mechanic but I got a good one that's gonna look at it on Friday.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-19-2012, 04:03 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Washington
Also if you have any mods like a cold air intake and aftermarket exhaust, it can cause your "downstreem" sensors, that's the ones after your catalytic converters.