hood removal - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 09-30-2012, 12:06 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
98GTCONV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Raleigh
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 521
hood removal

I bought a cobra r hood and was wondering exactly what I need off of the old stock hood and how to remove it?
98GTCONV is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-30-2012, 12:38 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
Black99Snake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Region: Colorado
Posts: 433
question for you first. was the cobra r hood on a vehicle before or is it new? to remove your stock hood remove the 4 nuts that are on the hinges and the grounding strap thats bolted to the hinge area of the firewall and have someone help you lift it off. now for the other hood if its a new fiberglassed hood you will prolly need to have some body work done to make it fit and look right. when i did my hood i had to file down the sides and make them straight so it would fit between the fenders and not be closer or gapped at spots but mine was pretty much straight on top since its got scoops and not so much surface area. but if you got a used hood just have the friend help you lower it back on and put the nuts back on the new hood and adjust the hood so it shuts properly and fits between the fenders. if its to tight to the fenders just loosen the 4-6 bolts along the inside of the fender and pull out or in which ever is needed and tighten them back down pretty easy. but like i said if its a new hood just drop the car off at a local body shop let them test fit it and make it where it fits and let them do it. if its your d.d. then see if they can fit it one day and let you take the car if thats ok. and you prolly wont beable to use the heat shield on the new hood. hope that helps
__________________
1999 Cobra black with medium parchment interiorJLT CAI, RWR motorsports tune, Pacesetter Longtubes, o/r xpipe w/cutouts, Flowmaster Super 44s, built t56, Kevlar clutch, Nitto NT05R, Ford Racing 4.10 gears, MMR 900 rotating assembly, vortech v3 si, twin aeromotive 340s, aeroquip lines, 80lbs injectors
Black99Snake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 12:53 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
98GTCONV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Raleigh
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 521
Helps a lot thanks. It is used, so im going to go test fit now. The new hood does or does not need a heat shield?
98GTCONV is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-30-2012, 01:06 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
98GTCONV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Raleigh
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 521
Just noticed the new hood doesn't have studs. Looks like it needs a bolt. Any idea what size?
98GTCONV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 01:07 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
98GTCONV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Raleigh
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 521
Here's a pic
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20120930_140734.png
Views:	109
Size:	333.6 KB
ID:	70622  
98GTCONV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 11:31 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
Black99Snake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Region: Colorado
Posts: 433
most likely a 8mm or 10mm fine thread. if you have some old bolts laying around i would find one that fits and go to lowes or someplace and buy 4 matching bolts. no you dont have to use your heatshield cause most aftermarket hoods dont have the holes for the push pins.
__________________
1999 Cobra black with medium parchment interiorJLT CAI, RWR motorsports tune, Pacesetter Longtubes, o/r xpipe w/cutouts, Flowmaster Super 44s, built t56, Kevlar clutch, Nitto NT05R, Ford Racing 4.10 gears, MMR 900 rotating assembly, vortech v3 si, twin aeromotive 340s, aeroquip lines, 80lbs injectors
Black99Snake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 12:09 AM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
98GTCONV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Raleigh
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 521
One more question, does it need to be grounded? Thanks for your help!
98GTCONV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 01:07 AM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
Venomouz831's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Seaside
Region: California
Posts: 8,133
I didn't ground mines
__________________
)02 Gt, Founder of WE2G
Venomouz831 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 04:09 AM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
Black99Snake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Region: Colorado
Posts: 433
no you dont need to idky they put a grounding strap on a fiberglass hood that does not conduct electricity lol
__________________
1999 Cobra black with medium parchment interiorJLT CAI, RWR motorsports tune, Pacesetter Longtubes, o/r xpipe w/cutouts, Flowmaster Super 44s, built t56, Kevlar clutch, Nitto NT05R, Ford Racing 4.10 gears, MMR 900 rotating assembly, vortech v3 si, twin aeromotive 340s, aeroquip lines, 80lbs injectors
Black99Snake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 10:26 AM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,291
Quote:
Originally Posted by Black99Snake View Post
no you dont need to idky they put a grounding strap on a fiberglass hood that does not conduct electricity lol
I have one on my stock Gt hood, dunno why but it came from the factory like that. I took it off cuz it looked stupid and was serving no purpose.
southernstang00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 10:51 AM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
Black99Snake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Region: Colorado
Posts: 433
they all do but i suppose its some part of a safety regulation
__________________
1999 Cobra black with medium parchment interiorJLT CAI, RWR motorsports tune, Pacesetter Longtubes, o/r xpipe w/cutouts, Flowmaster Super 44s, built t56, Kevlar clutch, Nitto NT05R, Ford Racing 4.10 gears, MMR 900 rotating assembly, vortech v3 si, twin aeromotive 340s, aeroquip lines, 80lbs injectors
Black99Snake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 11:48 AM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,291
Quote:
Originally Posted by Black99Snake
they all do but i suppose its some part of a safety regulation
Yeah I could see that, but that prolly added 50 bucks to the price lol
southernstang00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



05:50 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.