Help!! Battery light flashing! - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 10-20-2012, 02:17 AM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
Venomouz831's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Seaside
Region: California
Posts: 8,133
Help!! Battery light flashing!

Hey guys so today I punched it at a tunnel and all of the sudden my radio turned off and the battery light flashed red like 3-5 times. Now all of the sudden my radio turns on and off.
__________________
)02 Gt, Founder of WE2G
Venomouz831 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-20-2012, 02:19 AM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
1shotkllz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 398
Get your battery and alternator checked. Might not have enough power from the alternator to run everything.
1shotkllz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 03:07 AM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
Venomouz831's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Seaside
Region: California
Posts: 8,133
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1shotkllz
Get your battery and alternator checked. Might not have enough power from the alternator to run everything.
Ok will do
__________________
)02 Gt, Founder of WE2G
Venomouz831 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-20-2012, 11:08 AM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
Matticus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Region: Alabama
Posts: 559
This happens to me on a regular basis, except my radio isn't affected. Nothing changes, the battery light just flashes a lot. Brand new optima red top battery too.
Matticus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 11:29 AM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
Venomouz831's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Seaside
Region: California
Posts: 8,133
For me my hid's also flicker for like 2 sec
__________________
)02 Gt, Founder of WE2G
Venomouz831 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 12:43 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
Mathew r Wright's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Region: Oklahoma
Posts: 470
This is due tow bad alt. it will test out fine but it actually is bad so replace it before you ruin your new battery. Also, I just learned this so I wanna save the next guy from same trouble. So if you replace the original 105 amp alt with a larger amp to handle lights and radio, let me warn you now. And that is get the upgrade wire kit from AM to transfer power from the new high amp alternator. If you buy like a 160 amp and just put it on, you will ruin it to without the upgrade wire. Why? Because the factory return wire is not made to transfer a lot of voltage only the factory voltage....

---------- Post added at 12:43 PM ---------- Previous post was at 12:39 PM ----------

Now with that being said when I realized this I was like duh why didn't I think about that. See like that saying goes use factory not aftermarket. Well there ya go. Oh and alternators are expensive so might try and ebay them...
Mathew r Wright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 01:02 PM   #7
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 1,176
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matticus
This happens to me on a regular basis, except my radio isn't affected. Nothing changes, the battery light just flashes a lot. Brand new optima red top battery too.
I have the same problem also same battery.
Ryan7racin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 01:16 PM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
Mathew r Wright's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Region: Oklahoma
Posts: 470
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryan7racin

I have the same problem also same battery.
Yah like I said I replace my old alternator with a new 160 amp one and the flashing light went away. Then all the sudden last week it started again that's when I found out why. It doesn't do it till high rpm's though...
Mathew r Wright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 01:20 PM   #9
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 1,176
I just got back from a week vacation and left the stang at home it wouldn't crank when I got back I need a new one bad.
Ryan7racin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 01:28 PM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
Mathew r Wright's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Region: Oklahoma
Posts: 470
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryan7racin
I just got back from a week vacation and left the stang at home it wouldn't crank when I got back I need a new one bad.
Ah yah I'd say so

---------- Post added at 01:28 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:28 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mathew r Wright

Ah yah I'd say so
Have I've been any help though just wanna make sure?
Mathew r Wright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 01:31 PM   #11
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 1,176
Yea man you helped a lot cause I was going to order a new high output but don't think about upgrading the wires but now you said that it makes sense to since the stock ones arnt designed for the high amps. Cause I have HID and a amp and speakers so I could use more amps.
Ryan7racin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 01:33 PM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
Mathew r Wright's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Region: Oklahoma
Posts: 470
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryan7racin
Yea man you helped a lot cause I was going to order a new high output but don't think about upgrading the wires but now you said that it makes sense to since the stock ones arnt designed for the high amps. Cause I have HID and a amp and speakers so I could use more amps.
Yah an like I said AM has the wire kit and its not to bad on price neither...
Mathew r Wright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 06:57 PM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
Venomouz831's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Seaside
Region: California
Posts: 8,133
So buy a new amp alt and wire kit?
__________________
)02 Gt, Founder of WE2G
Venomouz831 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 09:22 PM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
Mathew r Wright's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Region: Oklahoma
Posts: 470
Quote:
Originally Posted by Venomouz831
So buy a new amp alt and wire kit?
If you buy a alternator that is rated over factory amperage. If you just buy another 105A alternator then no you don't need the wire kit. Only if you buy one over 105A.
Mathew r Wright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 09:41 PM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
Venomouz831's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Seaside
Region: California
Posts: 8,133
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mathew r Wright

If you buy a alternator that is rated over factory amperage. If you just buy another 105A alternator then no you don't need the wire kit. Only if you buy one over 105A.
Ok kool thnks. It stopped doing it today so I'll see if the problem proceeds
__________________
)02 Gt, Founder of WE2G
Venomouz831 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 09:51 PM   #16
Registered Member
Regular
 
Mathew r Wright's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Region: Oklahoma
Posts: 470
Quote:
Originally Posted by Venomouz831

Ok kool thnks. It stopped doing it today so I'll see if the problem proceeds
Yah like I said mine started last week and it only does it at high rpm's.
Mathew r Wright is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



05:25 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.