New guy looking for help! - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 11-02-2012, 07:48 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 62
New guy looking for help!

I have a 2000 mustang gt and I'm having trouble with the second and reverse gears. The second gear is kinda hard to get into, doesn't slide in like the rest and as for my reverse it will only go in when the engine is off. Help please. I recently had a new clutch set installed because no gears where going in.
Call me fez is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-02-2012, 07:51 PM   #2
Lorraine's driver

Regular
 
ab_mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indianapolis
Region: Indiana
Posts: 7,858
Quote:
Originally Posted by Call me fez View Post
I have a 2000 mustang gt and I'm having trouble with the second and reverse gears. The second gear is kinda hard to get into, doesn't slide in like the rest and as for my reverse it will only go in when the engine is off. Help please. I recently had a new clutch set installed because no gears where going in.
Welcome!

Have you had this problem since the new clutch was installed?
__________________
Instagram: @ab_mach1
ab_mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 09:50 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
Coreyw428's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Arkansas
Posts: 430
Sounds like your syncro's or forks are bad
Coreyw428 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-02-2012, 10:56 PM   #4
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 12
I've got the same problem. I'll have to check the forks.
jranaudo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 11:43 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by Azure

Welcome!

Have you had this problem since the new clutch was installed?
Thanks!

And no the second gear would go in like the rest and the reverse would usually go in

---------- Post added at 10:43 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:42 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Coreyw428
Sounds like your syncro's or forks are bad
How do I check those? Where are they located?
Call me fez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 11:51 PM   #6
Lorraine's driver

Regular
 
ab_mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indianapolis
Region: Indiana
Posts: 7,858
Since you just had the clutch replaced, it could be something simple, like your cable adjustment has changed. Maybe the cable stretched a little. Do you have the stock clutch cable and quadrant setup?
__________________
Instagram: @ab_mach1
ab_mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 12:19 AM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 62
Yes I do. Would I need an aftermarket one with the adjuster on the firewall?
Call me fez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 12:50 AM   #8
Lorraine's driver

Regular
 
ab_mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indianapolis
Region: Indiana
Posts: 7,858
Quote:
Originally Posted by Call me fez View Post
Yes I do. Would I need an aftermarket one with the adjuster on the firewall?
There some little things you can check with your stock cable and quadrant. The quadrant is made of plastic. If it's cracked, it could make it so your clutch is not engaging completely and that could make it difficult to shift into gear. The cable could be stretched out causing the same situation, the clutch not engaging fully. It certainly could be your synchros in your tranny, but it's good to check the simple things first.
__________________
Instagram: @ab_mach1
ab_mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 12:52 AM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
Butch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Region: New Mexico
Posts: 1,653
Syncros sounding issue. For reverse try going into 5th then reverse
__________________
I love speed and Nascar driving,,,
killing gears and dodging traffic,,,
-----NEHP---
{Never Enough HP}
Butch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 12:57 AM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by Butch
Syncros sounding issue. For reverse try going into 5th then reverse
I was told of this technique and it'll only work half the time. What are syncros?

---------- Post added at 11:57 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:56 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Azure

There some little things you can check with your stock cable and quadrant. The quadrant is made of plastic. If it's cracked, it could make it so your clutch is not engaging completely and that could make it difficult to shift into gear. The cable could be stretched out causing the same situation, the clutch not engaging fully. It certainly could be your synchros in your tranny, but it's good to check the simple things first.
Will check tomorrow, is there any way of knowing if the cable is stretched?
Call me fez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 01:09 AM   #11
Lorraine's driver

Regular
 
ab_mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indianapolis
Region: Indiana
Posts: 7,858
Quote:
Originally Posted by Call me fez View Post

I was told of this technique and it'll only work half the time. What are syncros?

---------- Post added at 11:57 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:56 PM ----------



Will check tomorrow, is there any way of knowing if the cable is stretched?
You can try this procedure to adjust the clutch cable on the stock setup.

Clutch adjustment
__________________
Instagram: @ab_mach1
ab_mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 01:27 AM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 62
Thanks bro this sounds just like my problem, I'll check it out in the morning!!
Call me fez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 02:03 AM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
Butch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Region: New Mexico
Posts: 1,653
Quote:
Originally Posted by Call me fez

I was told of this technique and it'll only work half the time. What are syncros?

---------- Post added at 11:57 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:56 PM ----------



Will check tomorrow, is there any way of knowing if the cable is stretched?
If I understand correctly its what matches your your gear speed when your shifting.
__________________
I love speed and Nascar driving,,,
killing gears and dodging traffic,,,
-----NEHP---
{Never Enough HP}
Butch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 02:04 AM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
Coreyw428's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Arkansas
Posts: 430
Quote:
Originally Posted by Call me fez

Thanks!

And no the second gear would go in like the rest and the reverse would usually go in

---------- Post added at 10:43 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:42 PM ----------



How do I check those? Where are they located?
Really no way to check them, it will just keep getting worse and worse till you won't be able to get it in gear, they have the kits for them but unless you wanna pull the trans I'd say take it to a mechanic or find another trans
Coreyw428 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 02:45 AM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
1slosix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 7,311
My GT's T3650 had this same issue...turned out to be a bent shift fork. In the end i just had the trans rebuilt. In all honesty i love to do my own work but it seemed like something i wanted professionally done. However my current cars auto will be j-modded by myself come spring cause you gotta learn sometime. Good luck op but i think your issue will be an internal one
__________________

carving corners like a boss
1slosix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 10:53 AM   #16
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 62
Thanks guys. I have all the necessary tools to do it myself just not the knowledge. Lol
Call me fez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 11:55 AM   #17
Registered Member
Regular
 
Scream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Biloxi
Region: Mississippi
Posts: 869
Quote:
Originally Posted by Azure

You can try this procedure to adjust the clutch cable on the stock setup.

Clutch adjustment
Sorry to steal a thread didnt want to make a new post
My clutch is hard to push down it's the clutch cable. But how hard or how much about is it to replace the clutch cable?
Scream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 01:02 PM   #18
Lorraine's driver

Regular
 
ab_mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indianapolis
Region: Indiana
Posts: 7,858
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scream View Post
Sorry to steal a thread didnt want to make a new post
My clutch is hard to push down it's the clutch cable. But how hard or how much about is it to replace the clutch cable?
IMO, removing the stock spring loaded quadrant is the hardest part because of where it's located. It helps to remove your drivers seat so you can lay on your back easier. Replacing the cable is pretty easy. I can access mine by using a set of ramps. Checkout this posts from cliffyk, and look through his posts on that thread talking about clutch cables and quadrants for more information. He also shows the distance needed to get your throw bearing the right distance from your clutch pressure plate.

I have a Ford Racing adjustable cable. It was $97 at a Ford dealership. Many people like the firewall adjuster and the stock clutch cable. At my Ford dealership, the stock replacement was $94.

You can pickup a Steeda quadrant and adjustable cable from American Muscle.
Steeda quadrant

Steeda adjustable cable

If you want the firewall adjuster type, AM sells a complete kit.
SR Performance clutch adjuster kit

I know the Steeda setup is pretty good. I'm not familiar with the SR setup. I hope this is helpful to you.
__________________
Instagram: @ab_mach1
ab_mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 01:38 PM   #19
Lorraine's driver

Regular
 
ab_mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indianapolis
Region: Indiana
Posts: 7,858
Call me fez, how many miles do you have on your Mustang? 1slosix could be right too that in may be an internal problem. I looked in my Chiltons book and it says the 2000 GT's have a T50D transmission by Borg Warner. I can't find much of anything on this tranny online. Maybe it is essentially the same as the T5, not sure.
__________________
Instagram: @ab_mach1
ab_mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 07:15 PM   #20
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 62
It's at 147k
Call me fez is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



03:12 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.