Check engine light issue,need help! - Page 2 - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 11-12-2012, 07:48 PM   #36
Registered Member
Regular
 
1996mustang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Miami
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,013
here is the diagram ive been looking for, this one shows what pins on the dlc go to what
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	imagesWLinks3.gif
Views:	78
Size:	90.3 KB
ID:	75751  
1996mustang is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-12-2012, 08:00 PM   #37
Registered Member
Regular
 
Israel98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 98
Ok cool ima for sure take a look at it tommorow. It got late over here early (day light saving) and I really appreciate your time and effort bro you've been helpful to me thanks a lot.
Israel98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 10:15 AM   #38
Registered Member
Regular
 
Israel98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 98
Ok so I checked the PCM and everything seemed ok all harness were properly connected and no burns on the wires. What I did come up with was this..... In the PCM there is a bright pink cable along with another I think black one for ground... Now I checked the harness in the back trunk and the ground (pink cable) was stripped off could that be the problem?
Israel98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-14-2012, 10:45 AM   #39
Registered Member
Regular
 
Israel98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1996mustang
here is the diagram ive been looking for, this one shows what pins on the dlc go to what
Ok so if you can do me this favor it would be great. I checked the wires and they were good. I noticed a ground cable was stripped and here is the pic. Can you check if you have this ground connected on your mustang.
Israel98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 10:45 AM   #40
Registered Member
Regular
 
Israel98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1996mustang
here is the diagram ive been looking for, this one shows what pins on the dlc go to what
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3394898569.jpg
Views:	83
Size:	480.6 KB
ID:	75992  
Israel98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 06:26 PM   #41
Registered Member
Regular
 
1996mustang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Miami
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,013
I will check and tell u in a few
__________________
1996 Mustang GT, 17x9 front and 17x10.5 cobra r replica rims, 255/40/17 front 285/40/17 rear at the moment,
o/r x-pipe flow master 40 series dump downs, cai/ram intake, 75mm c&l throttle body and plenum, pi heads and intake swap, msd wires, stock gears, untuned at the moment, no dyno numbers for now.
1996mustang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 07:57 AM   #42
Registered Member
Regular
 
1996mustang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Miami
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,013
I was trying to find that wire and cant seem to find it on mine from the trunk here is how my wires are....but if it is a ground i say ground it and check what happens. If u could take a better pic from where that wire comes from i may be able to pinpoint it on my 96 i dont think urs and mine differ at this point but who knows ford might have changed something from 96 to 98

Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20121115_085607.png
Views:	86
Size:	687.4 KB
ID:	76081



Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20121115_085623.png
Views:	80
Size:	726.1 KB
ID:	76082



Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20121115_085644.png
Views:	92
Size:	848.4 KB
ID:	76083
__________________
1996 Mustang GT, 17x9 front and 17x10.5 cobra r replica rims, 255/40/17 front 285/40/17 rear at the moment,
o/r x-pipe flow master 40 series dump downs, cai/ram intake, 75mm c&l throttle body and plenum, pi heads and intake swap, msd wires, stock gears, untuned at the moment, no dyno numbers for now.
1996mustang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 08:47 AM   #43
Registered Member
Regular
 
Israel98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 98
Do you have anything connected to ground around there? I just wouldn't know we're to wire it from because it was stripped. Idk or maybe it was just put there. I'm back to square one.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-927955103.jpg
Views:	70
Size:	541.4 KB
ID:	76088   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1013471558.jpg
Views:	68
Size:	538.7 KB
ID:	76089  

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2513222887.jpg
Views:	69
Size:	459.0 KB
ID:	76092  
Israel98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 10:12 AM   #44
Registered Member
Regular
 
32vNomad's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Region: Michigan
Posts: 655
Quote:
Originally Posted by Israel98
Yeah the light does come on. Idk ahhhh
Well if it has no cats and the light is not on then it maybe possible that the car has a flash tune on it. I would check with previous owners and see.
32vNomad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 01:16 PM   #45
Lorraine's driver

Regular
 
ab_mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indianapolis
Region: Indiana
Posts: 7,858
Quote:
Originally Posted by Israel98 View Post
Do you have anything connected to ground around there? I just wouldn't know we're to wire it from because it was stripped. Idk or maybe it was just put there. I'm back to square one.
That pink wire seems like it's a larger gauge than what you would normally see in the harness. Is it possible that it could be from the previous owners stereo system? Amps or something?
__________________
Instagram: @ab_mach1
ab_mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 02:26 PM   #46
Registered Member
Regular
 
Israel98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 98
What is a flash tune? And idk maybe. But there is a pink ground cable just like that one by my PCM ?!?!?
Israel98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 03:21 PM   #47
Registered Member
Regular
 
Israel98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 98
I don't think a flash tune has something to do with this
Israel98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 03:44 PM   #48
Lorraine's driver

Regular
 
ab_mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indianapolis
Region: Indiana
Posts: 7,858
Quote:
Originally Posted by Israel98 View Post
I don't think a flash tune has something to do with this
I don't think so either. They do not suppress all codes, only the second pair of O2 sensors. So, when you unplugged the MAF, it should have thrown a code. How long did you wait to see if it threw a code?
__________________
Instagram: @ab_mach1
ab_mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 04:10 PM   #49
Registered Member
Regular
 
Israel98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by Azure

I don't think so either. They do not suppress all codes, only the second pair of O2 sensors. So, when you unplugged the MAF, it should have thrown a code. How long did you wait to see if it threw a code?
Awhile I've tried at least 5 times
Israel98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 05:31 PM   #50
Registered Member
Regular
 
Israel98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 98
Idk guys I'm running out of ideas. I think I might need a new engine harness??? I'm not sure because some of the wires on the harness aren't giving current to the mustang. Idk. I'm very confused. The most I've ever been. And to top it off my mustang is stalling again after I've Changed the idle control valve and cleaned the egr and throttle intake..... Frustrated.
Israel98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 07:24 PM   #51
Registered Member
Regular
 
32vNomad's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Region: Michigan
Posts: 655
Quote:
Originally Posted by Azure

I don't think so either. They do not suppress all codes, only the second pair of O2 sensors. So, when you unplugged the MAF, it should have thrown a code. How long did you wait to see if it threw a code?
Know this... codes are typically set after various ignition cycles. It will set a soft code. (Doesn't set a light.) But should be listed as pending. And yes if there are NO mil eliminaters without a CEL light then it is possible there is a tune. This is how the EEC-V works. If the ECM is not communicating with the device then check for power to the diag port. If you have someone that has a tuner they can also check codes. What may I ask is the car actually doing. What is the complaint?
32vNomad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 07:43 PM   #52
Lorraine's driver

Regular
 
ab_mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indianapolis
Region: Indiana
Posts: 7,858
Quote:
Originally Posted by 32vNomad View Post
Know this... codes are typically set after various ignition cycles. It will set a soft code. (Doesn't set a light.) But should be listed as pending. And yes if there are NO mil eliminaters without a CEL light then it is possible there is a tune. This is how the EEC-V works. If the ECM is not communicating with the device then check for power to the diag port. If you have someone that has a tuner they can also check codes. What may I ask is the car actually doing. What is the complaint?
So how long could it take for the soft codes to throw a CEL? Do you think if he resets power (for 30min +) could that basically start at a zero point so he can tell what is really going?

Also, like Nomad asked, I'm not sure I understand what is running bad?
__________________
Instagram: @ab_mach1
ab_mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 08:52 PM   #53
Registered Member
Regular
 
Israel98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 98
The mustang is shutting down on me it does weird **** and without a check engine light idk where to start. I know the light should be on to let me know what I need to do with it but it just won't ignite.
Israel98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 09:53 PM   #54
Registered Member
Regular
 
32vNomad's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Region: Michigan
Posts: 655
Quote:
Originally Posted by Azure

So how long could it take for the soft codes to throw a CEL? Do you think if he resets power (for 30min +) could that basically start at a zero point so he can tell what is really going?

Also, like Nomad asked, I'm not sure I understand what is running bad?
Usually if the sensor is working for the most part it may never throw a light. Some codes will be off after a battery disconnect but not all. I would leave it disconnected for a 24hr period.

---------- Post added at 10:53 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:50 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Israel98
The mustang is shutting down on me it does weird **** and without a check engine light idk where to start. I know the light should be on to let me know what I need to do with it but it just won't ignite.
By ignite do you mean start?? It does turn over though correct?? It could have jumped time. That is something that can cause engine issues with no codes. Cause no starts. Check signal from the cam and crank sensor.
32vNomad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 10:17 PM   #55
Lorraine's driver

Regular
 
ab_mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indianapolis
Region: Indiana
Posts: 7,858
Checkout this post and scroll down from there. The pic is the location of the can shaft sensor on a DOHC 4.6L, but I would think it would be the same as the 2v 4.6L. Further down, Trojan Horse shows a pic of what the sensor itself looks like.

Knock & Ping question

The cam shaft sensor is probably in a different location than a DOHC 4.6L. Do you have a Chiltons or Haynes book for your ride?
__________________
Instagram: @ab_mach1
ab_mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 10:22 PM   #56
Registered Member
Regular
 
Israel98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by 32vNomad

Usually if the sensor is working for the most part it may never throw a light. Some codes will be off after a battery disconnect but not all. I would leave it disconnected for a 24hr period.

---------- Post added at 10:53 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:50 PM ----------



By ignite do you mean start?? It does turn over though correct?? It could have jumped time. That is something that can cause engine issues with no codes. Cause no starts. Check signal from the cam and crank sensor.
By ignite I mean it won't light up. Yes It does turn over.
Israel98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 10:32 PM   #57
Lorraine's driver

Regular
 
ab_mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indianapolis
Region: Indiana
Posts: 7,858
Quote:
Originally Posted by Israel98 View Post

By ignite I mean it won't light up. Yes It does turn over.
Like no check engine light? But, what is it doing that makes you think you should see a CEL?
__________________
Instagram: @ab_mach1
ab_mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 10:34 PM   #58
Registered Member
Regular
 
1996mustang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Miami
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,013
His dlc doesn't read at all even with scanner it doesnt communicate with the pcm. So what i was trying to do is find out y he cant get any scanner to read his pbd and then he should be able to get the codes for the problem with the car
__________________
1996 Mustang GT, 17x9 front and 17x10.5 cobra r replica rims, 255/40/17 front 285/40/17 rear at the moment,
o/r x-pipe flow master 40 series dump downs, cai/ram intake, 75mm c&l throttle body and plenum, pi heads and intake swap, msd wires, stock gears, untuned at the moment, no dyno numbers for now.
1996mustang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 10:58 PM   #59
Registered Member
Regular
 
Israel98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 98
Yeah thanks 1996mustang. It's hard to explain. But if your mustang was acting up and your engine light wouldn't turn on you would wonder y also I bet. I'm like freaking out this car gots me very confused.....
Israel98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 01:51 AM   #60
Registered Member
Regular
 
32vNomad's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Region: Michigan
Posts: 655
Quote:
Originally Posted by Israel98
Yeah thanks 1996mustang. It's hard to explain. But if your mustang was acting up and your engine light wouldn't turn on you would wonder y also I bet. I'm like freaking out this car gots me very confused.....
So if you checked to see if there was power at the port, did you check for a ground as well?
32vNomad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 06:18 AM   #61
Registered Member
Regular
 
Israel98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by 32vNomad

So if you checked to see if there was power at the port, did you check for a ground as well?
What port? And how do I check if there is ground.
Israel98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 09:11 AM   #62
Registered Member
Regular
 
32vNomad's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Region: Michigan
Posts: 655
Quote:
Originally Posted by Israel98

What port? And how do I check if there is ground.
The ODB Diag port. If the ECM is not communicating with scanners then there is an issue with that circuit. So if you checked for power on that circuit, then check for ground. Check your grounds to the ECM. (Checking for ground is the same as checking for voltage) With a good test light, hook it to power and probe the ground circuits. If there is ground then it will light. If you get no light on a ground circuit then there is a short fault to ground or a break in the circuit.
32vNomad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 03:15 PM   #63
Registered Member
Regular
 
1996mustang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Miami
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,013
Quote:
Originally Posted by 32vNomad

The ODB Diag port. If the ECM is not communicating with scanners then there is an issue with that circuit. So if you checked for power on that circuit, then check for ground. Check your grounds to the ECM. (Checking for ground is the same as checking for voltage) With a good test light, hook it to power and probe the ground circuits. If there is ground then it will light. If you get no light on a ground circuit then there is a short fault to ground or a break in the circuit.
Nomad i have the diagrams on the post for the obd port he followed it to the trunk and found that wire stripped. Imma also do the same and find out where it all goes on the ground distribution diagram to see whats goin on with his obd port
__________________
1996 Mustang GT, 17x9 front and 17x10.5 cobra r replica rims, 255/40/17 front 285/40/17 rear at the moment,
o/r x-pipe flow master 40 series dump downs, cai/ram intake, 75mm c&l throttle body and plenum, pi heads and intake swap, msd wires, stock gears, untuned at the moment, no dyno numbers for now.
1996mustang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 06:03 PM   #64
Registered Member
Regular
 
1996mustang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Miami
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,013
G104 LH front of engine compartment, that is the ground to where the obd port goes to. i would check that ground ill see if i can put a pic on where it is cause just sayin lh front of engine compartment is way to vauge
1996mustang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 06:22 PM   #65
Registered Member
Regular
 
1996mustang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Miami
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,013
here is a diagram, it seems to be where the battery is there is a ground strapped to the radiator support, i remember that these grounds are kinda fragile specially if u have a semi loose battery (personal fail on my part -_-)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	g104l.jpg
Views:	136
Size:	220.7 KB
ID:	76608  
1996mustang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 07:12 PM   #66
Registered Member
Regular
 
32vNomad's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Region: Michigan
Posts: 655
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1996mustang View Post
here is the pin views of the pcm. im tryin to find where all the wires go as i go along all data, but all data doesnt help much lol. but u can see where the input from the pcm to the dlc connector are id start there and look at the conditions of the pins both on the pcm and the pcm connector.

worst case scenario is the computer took a dump and is bad, but like i said worst case scenario. if u wanna check the pcm to see its bad, id go to a junkyard and get a pcm, normally where i am they are 16 bucks to get one, and u can see if it works or not, but it is worst case scenario.

btw pretty sweet mustang u got there, deff puts mine to shame lol
Pin outs are good for checking the connectors, but you will need the circuit schematics. This will tell you location, slices, ect.
32vNomad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 07:21 PM   #67
Registered Member
Regular
 
Israel98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 98
But will the mustang still turn on and be driveable with a bad computer???
Israel98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 07:31 PM   #68
Registered Member
Regular
 
Israel98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 98
And I'd say are mustangs are about the same. 1996mustang you've got a sweet ride as well. Although personally I like the wheels you've got better than mines.
Israel98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 07:40 PM   #69
Registered Member
Regular
 
1996mustang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Miami
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,013
Quote:
Originally Posted by 32vNomad

Pin outs are good for checking the connectors, but you will need the circuit schematics. This will tell you location, slices, ect.
Nomad i put a circuit schematic on here too though im trying to find a full one better than what alldata provides. This is ty i mentioned g104 its the ground to the pcm and obd port

---------- Post added at 08:40 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:38 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Israel98
And I'd say are mustangs are about the same. 1996mustang you've got a sweet ride as well. Although personally I like the wheels you've got better than mines.
I love ur rims though lol imma plastidip them black probably tomorrow and maybe gloss them if i dont like them flat black
__________________
1996 Mustang GT, 17x9 front and 17x10.5 cobra r replica rims, 255/40/17 front 285/40/17 rear at the moment,
o/r x-pipe flow master 40 series dump downs, cai/ram intake, 75mm c&l throttle body and plenum, pi heads and intake swap, msd wires, stock gears, untuned at the moment, no dyno numbers for now.
1996mustang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 07:47 PM   #70
Registered Member
Regular
 
Israel98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1996mustang

Nomad i put a circuit schematic on here too though im trying to find a full one better than what alldata provides. This is ty i mentioned g104 its the ground to the pcm and obd port

---------- Post added at 08:40 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:38 PM ----------



I love ur rims though lol imma plastidip them black probably tomorrow and maybe gloss them if i dont like them flat black
Ima take a look at g104 tommorow an see Wht I come up with. And does the car still run with a bad computer?? Awww that's gonna look nice!!
Israel98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT

Tags
check engine

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Check engine light flashing!!! rich671 Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 8 09-14-2012 06:39 PM
Service Engine Soon Light???? wilson_j307 Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 2 03-03-2012 01:41 PM
Check engine light? galindojr24 2005-2010 Mustang GT 42 08-30-2011 08:34 PM
'88 GT Check engine light? robert81717 ME Site Help & Announcements 1 07-19-2011 12:28 AM
'88 GT check engine light? robert81717 1979-1995 Mustang GT 7 07-13-2011 12:56 AM

» Like Us On Facebook



03:12 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.