functional hood scoop? - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 11-17-2012, 07:41 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
fomoco4life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Antioch
Region: California
Posts: 839
functional hood scoop?

Wondering if anybody has made their non-functional scoop actually functional? Was thinking of fabbing out some sort of duct once I finally get my CAI. I'm sure someone must have already done this but I thought I'd ask ya'll before I start trolling the Internet.
fomoco4life is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-17-2012, 10:34 PM   #2
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 1,176
Quote:
Originally Posted by fomoco4life
Wondering if anybody has made their non-functional scoop actually functional? Was thinking of fabbing out some sort of duct once I finally get my CAI. I'm sure someone must have already done this but I thought I'd ask ya'll before I start trolling the Internet.
Look down a couple post this was just posted.
Ryan7racin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 11:18 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
1slosix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 7,311
i've seen a couple of people do this...usually they regret it due to making their engine bay dirty all the time..and having water fall directly down on top of where the coils are since there's not trap for a functional scoop.
__________________

carving corners like a boss
1slosix is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-17-2012, 11:34 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
Eturner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Region: Michigan
Posts: 3,257
Quote:
Originally Posted by fomoco4life
Wondering if anybody has made their non-functional scoop actually functional? Was thinking of fabbing out some sort of duct once I finally get my CAI. I'm sure someone must have already done this but I thought I'd ask ya'll before I start trolling the Internet.
This is all but totally point less!.. You won't be able to create a "Ram Air" affect, so about the only thing you'll do is just make a really fancy Fender Mount CAI!.. My advice is don't do it!.. It is a waste of time!..
Eturner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 06:21 AM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
DaBluedude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Region: Canada
Posts: 1,996
Buy a professional shaker system. That's as good as it gets.
__________________
2003 Mach 1
DaBluedude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 08:39 AM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
Eturner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Region: Michigan
Posts: 3,257
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaBluedude
Buy a professional shaker system. That's as good as it gets.
+11 on functionality and looks!..
Eturner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 04:03 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
fomoco4life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Antioch
Region: California
Posts: 839
Well I like the Look and functionality of a shaker, but I prefer the looks of our scoop. I was looking to pipe some sort of duct to my CAI to make it an actual RAM system. I'll keep researching... the more air the better
fomoco4life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 07:39 PM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
Eturner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Region: Michigan
Posts: 3,257
Quote:
Originally Posted by fomoco4life
Well I like the Look and functionality of a shaker, but I prefer the looks of our scoop. I was looking to pipe some sort of duct to my CAI to make it an actual RAM system. I'll keep researching... the more air the better
One problem!.. It doesn't actually Ram anything!.. The best it does is just help to funnel out side air to the filter!.. I've researched it myself, and basically by the time the air reaches the filter it has slowed down to much for it to be effective!.. In the end you'll end up with wasting time and money with next to no gains to show for it!..

For a "Ram Air System" to be effective you'll have to completely seal off the scoop to the hood!.. Our scoops are just for show so they are simply bolted down!.. Next you have to route the air to the filter and make sure that is also sealed off!.. Then you have to seal off the filter housing to everything else minus your "Ram Air" setup!.. One little leak in the entire system and you loose that Ram Air effect!.. But like I said above, by the time the air gets to the filter it has slowed down so that you no longer have that Ram Air effect!.. Just think of where your Hood Scoop is in relation to where your air filter is, and then the distance the air would have to travel from the scoop to the filter!.. It's just to far!.. For it to even be some what effective, your scoop would have to sit right above or right in front of your air filter!.. Not to mention the speeds that you'll have to travel at for it to take effect!..

Like I've said I already researched it and I'm just trying to save you from wasting your time and money!.. Save your cash and time for a mod that will actually affect your performance in a positive way!..
Eturner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 08:03 PM   #9
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 1,176
Quote:
Originally Posted by fomoco4life
Wondering if anybody has made their non-functional scoop actually functional? Was thinking of fabbing out some sort of duct once I finally get my CAI. I'm sure someone must have already done this but I thought I'd ask ya'll before I start trolling the Internet.
Mine is fully functional, it makes my motor run a slight cooler than before. I get no dust or water in mine, ill post a link of what I did. http://motortalkblog.com/2010/12/05/...op-functional/.
It's very easy to do and I always thought it was dumb to have a hood scoop that didn't work. I have ran very high speeds with mine like this and never a problem I would do it again if I had to all and all I'm happy with it.
Ryan7racin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 08:06 PM   #10
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 1,176
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryan7racin

Mine is fully functional, it makes my motor run a slight cooler than before. I get no dust or water in mine, ill post a link of what I did. http://motortalkblog.com/2010/12/05/...op-functional/.
It's very easy to do and I always thought it was dumb to have a hood scoop that didn't work. I have ran very high speeds with mine like this and never a problem I would do it again if I had to all and all I'm happy with it.
Here's some pics.....
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2330739311.jpg
Views:	481
Size:	246.1 KB
ID:	76629   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1769777018.jpg
Views:	444
Size:	282.6 KB
ID:	76630  

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3694818218.jpg
Views:	384
Size:	314.9 KB
ID:	76631  
Ryan7racin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 08:15 PM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
Eturner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Region: Michigan
Posts: 3,257
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryan7racin

Here's some pics.....
Did the same thing with mine!.. Even took it a step further and removed that underwood blanket!..
Eturner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 08:19 PM   #12
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 1,176
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eturner

Did the same thing with mine!.. Even took it a step further and removed that underwood blanket!..
And you don't like it? I haven't had any problems with mine at all, and when it rains I get zero water in mine. Im sure it doesn't give it anymore power or anything like a ram air but I did make it run a little cooler. Before my temp gage was dead even up and down now it runs a little on the cold side.
Ryan7racin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 08:56 PM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
Eturner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Region: Michigan
Posts: 3,257
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryan7racin

And you don't like it? I haven't had any problems with mine at all, and when it rains I get zero water in mine. Im sure it doesn't give it anymore power or anything like a ram air but I did make it run a little cooler. Before my temp gage was dead even up and down now it runs a little on the cold side.
Didn't say I didn't like it!.. Simply that it don't give it a "Ram Air" affect like the OP is looking for!..
Eturner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 09:02 PM   #14
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 1,176
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eturner

Didn't say I didn't like it!.. Simply that it don't give it a "Ram Air" affect like the OP is looking for!..
Yup you are correct.
Ryan7racin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 01:32 AM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
fomoco4life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Antioch
Region: California
Posts: 839
Cool thnx guys...cooling air, no RAM, still bettr than 0 functionality
fomoco4life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 02:05 AM   #16
Registered Member
Regular
 
1slosix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 7,311
the temp gauge in our car is kinda useless though..it's one of the first gauges i put in my last two stangs (autometer temp gauge).

i would however like to see some under hood temps taken Ryan if you have a friend with a new edge GT. Yes it won't be exact but with some similar running conditions before the testing you can get a couple temps and then do an average.
__________________

carving corners like a boss
1slosix is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



07:22 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.