boy i done opened a can of worms. - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 12-15-2012, 04:08 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 161
boy i done opened a can of worms.

I decided to tackle my heater core replacement by myself. Man this is gonna be fun. I have the dash hanging there now im trying to find all the wires to unhook to get it out. Oh well nothing a few beers cant fix i guess.
Cdbformula is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-15-2012, 04:22 PM   #2
It's not me, it's you.
Regular
Supporter
 
primer2tone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Corpus Christi
Region: Texas
Posts: 6,752

Name:   image-2270818689.jpg
Views: 442
Size:  34.1 KB
lol
primer2tone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2012, 05:20 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
Robbiemustang96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Region: Illinois
Posts: 622
Lmao^ nice picture
Robbiemustang96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-15-2012, 07:12 PM   #4
Evolution's Finest
Supporter
 
SCCofSV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Burbank,Well, Close enough!
Region: California
Posts: 366
Quote:
Originally Posted by primer2tone View Post
Resembles a neighbor who lives up on the hill! Hahaha!
SCCofSV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2012, 09:25 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 161
Update. Well i gave up for the night. I have the dash loose but the main wire harness on the driverside i couldn't get loose. I think i csn swing the dash around enough to get to the core. Anyone have any tips on removing the black box that the core is in?
Cdbformula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2012, 05:25 AM   #6
It's not me, it's you.
Regular
Supporter
 
primer2tone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Corpus Christi
Region: Texas
Posts: 6,752
No but if you later decide you want to shoot yourself in the head, I can tell you how to with leaving the least amount of clean up. Lol, jk.

Post some pics of your progress and maybe we can give you some pointers.
primer2tone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2012, 08:49 AM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
ToHellAndBack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Pompano Beach
Region: Florida
Posts: 327
Quote:
Originally Posted by primer2tone
No but if you later decide you want to shoot yourself in the head, I can tell you how to with leaving the least amount of clean up. Lol, jk.

Post some pics of your progress and maybe we can give you some pointers.
Lol
__________________
"I'm not tailgating... I'm drafting"
ToHellAndBack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2012, 10:25 AM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Illinois
Posts: 20
Ive replaced a heater core myself never again its worth the money to have someone do it.....pain in the a$$
aframe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2012, 05:20 PM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 161
Ok i didnt work on it today so i have this week to do some research. First thing is i have it all loose except the main wire connection on the driver side. From what ive read you have to pull the tire and the inner fender cover to unhook this connection. I can move the dash enough to gain access to the black ac box that the core is in but havent figured out how to pull the black box out yet. I think There must be bolts in the engine bay holding it in. Any help here would be appreciated. Is it possable to get the core out without removing this black box?
Cdbformula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2012, 05:22 PM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
2300turboford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: london
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 2,903
It's a ***** put a restrictor in the line
__________________
"Racing is life ,anything before or after is just waiting "-the king of cool -Steve McQueen
2300turboford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2012, 05:40 PM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 161
Can i move that black box enough without undoing. The ac system?
Cdbformula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2012, 06:00 PM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
truckinu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 116
I did this job a couple months ago. This is the guide I followed, actually quite good.

http://www.moddedmustangs.com/forums...8-mustang.html
truckinu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2012, 06:11 PM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 161
Thanks for the link. I really dont wanna undo the ac system. I thought i read somewhere that it can be done. But i wanna second opinion.
Cdbformula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2012, 07:01 PM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 161
Well i went out and fooled around with it alittle. Looks like i will be able to remove it without undoing the ac. It'll. Be tight but i think its doable. Ill update tomorrow if i get to work on it.
Cdbformula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 09:14 AM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
mhobbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: camp lejuene
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 113
I just wanna say Ik how you feel I did that to my 96 couple days after I bought it. F*cking one piece dash lol. and theres numerous right ups just google it ya should be good to go. good luck
mhobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 05:33 PM   #16
Registered Member
Regular
 
LAS97GT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Spring Lake
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 681
Quote:
Originally Posted by truckinu View Post
I did this job a couple months ago. This is the guide I followed, actually quite good.

http://www.moddedmustangs.com/forums...8-mustang.html
Holy crap! I hope my core never goes out.
__________________
---Las97GT
LAS97GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 11:26 AM   #17
Registered Member
Regular
 
truckinu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 116
Its a bad deal for sure, but I couldn't justify paying $500 to have someone else do it.
truckinu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 11:37 AM   #18
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 161
Yeah i wanted to do it myself just to say i did it. Ima try and get done by this weekend.
Cdbformula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 05:24 PM   #19
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 161
Well i got the old one out. I pulled the black box out as far as i could which wasnt much and then wedged the cover up enough to pull the old one out. The inlet tube was broken off the core. Hopefully this weekend ill have the new one in. By the way i didnt mess with the ac system so far
Cdbformula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 05:43 PM   #20
Registered Member
Regular
 
2300turboford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: london
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 2,903
Did u put a restrictor in the line?
__________________
"Racing is life ,anything before or after is just waiting "-the king of cool -Steve McQueen
2300turboford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 05:51 PM   #21
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 161
I plan to. I havent put it back together yet. Can i get them at the local parts store?
Cdbformula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 06:17 PM   #22
Registered Member
Regular
 
2300turboford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: london
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 2,903
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cdbformula View Post
I plan to. I havent put it back together yet. Can i get them at the local parts store?
Yep it work to mine hasn't blown yet u think its hard on ur car try doing it on a 85-86 car it's horrible
__________________
"Racing is life ,anything before or after is just waiting "-the king of cool -Steve McQueen
2300turboford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2012, 10:43 AM   #23
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 161
Ok i got the new core in. Had to do alittle trimming on the back wall but nothing big. Now to get the dash back in.
Cdbformula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2012, 05:07 PM   #24
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 161
Got the dash in i had one plug i can't. Find a spot for and i have to pick up a hose tonight before i can start it. Once i start it and double check everything i can put all the trim back in.
Cdbformula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 09:26 AM   #25
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 161
Got it all together and running good. The heater blows hot and no leaks sofar. I think the plug might have went with the stock radio or something. I cant find an empty socket and everything is working.
Cdbformula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 11:45 AM   #26
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 161
Well all is good except for my gas gauge is reading empty. That must be the one plug i can find where it goes. Can anyone point me in the right direction?
Cdbformula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 11:59 AM   #27
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Region: Georgia
Posts: 525
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cdbformula View Post
Got the dash in i had one plug i can't. Find a spot for and i have to pick up a hose tonight before i can start it. Once i start it and double check everything i can put all the trim back in.
I hope you bought a ford brand heater core,,i wouldnt put a aftermarket one in,,I had to do a taurus twice and a f150 twice because of autozone parts,,it didnt leak right away ,,but it only lasted about a year
__________________
mymustang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 05:08 PM   #28
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Region: Louisiana
Posts: 161
Job complete. The gas gauge problem was a connector that wasnt snapped all the way.
Cdbformula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2012, 09:04 AM   #29
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Region: Georgia
Posts: 525
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cdbformula View Post
Job complete. The gas gauge problem was a connector that wasnt snapped all the way.
cool
__________________
mymustang is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



01:49 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.