Dash speedometer trick? - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 12-29-2012, 01:05 AM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
MineralGrayGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Region: Wyoming
Posts: 133
Dash speedometer trick?

So theres this kid here who did something like put his car on accessories then held in the reset button then started his car and where his digital miles on it changed and he could see his MPGs, digital speed, and all kinds of stuff. Anyone else know of this trick and can tell me if im doing it wrong cause i can never do it haha
MineralGrayGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-29-2012, 03:41 AM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
Mfore33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Murfreesboro
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 540
Put key in ignition. Press and hold trip rest button and turn key to run. Keep holding trip reset until the gauges all peg out to the right then let off trip reset. This lets you into diagnostic mode and other cool stuff. You can still start car and the new mode will stay until car is turned off. Press trip reset again to go to next menu item on LCD
Mfore33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2012, 07:59 AM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
Horseplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: San Antonio, TX
Region: Texas
Posts: 4,265
very nice i didnt know we could check our mpg's niceee! im going to try this right now
__________________

Low2v
Horseplay is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-29-2012, 08:06 AM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
jdavis96gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Region: West Virgina
Posts: 1,014
Does it work for a 96? Or is my technology too old lol?
jdavis96gt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2012, 08:16 AM   #5
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
lowflyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Region: Mississippi
Posts: 19,890
Send a message via AIM to lowflyn
Quote:
Originally Posted by Horseplay
very nice i didnt know we could check our mpg's niceee! im going to try this right now
No mpg... You can check engine codes and several other variables. I've used it to diagnose alternator issues by watching voltage numbers

---------- Post added at 08:16 AM ---------- Previous post was at 08:15 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdavis96gt
Does it work for a 96? Or is my technology too old lol?
Nope, you need the digital odometer. It works on my 07 focus as well
__________________
"I'm not driving too fast...just flying too low"
Mine:
-03 SB Cobra vert- 2552 of 5082 Born 02/25/03
Our's:
90 7up vert - new project-07 DSG Focus -DD
335
lowflyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2012, 08:37 AM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
Horseplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: San Antonio, TX
Region: Texas
Posts: 4,265
Quote:
Originally Posted by lowflyn View Post

No mpg... You can check engine codes and several other variables. I've used it to diagnose alternator issues by watching voltage numbers

---------- Post added at 08:16 AM ---------- Previous post was at 08:15 AM ----------



Nope, you need the digital odometer. It works on my 07 focus as well
**** ! is there a way i can see my mpg?
__________________

Low2v
Horseplay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2012, 09:34 AM   #7
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
lowflyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Region: Mississippi
Posts: 19,890
Send a message via AIM to lowflyn
Quote:
Originally Posted by Horseplay

**** ! is there a way i can see my mpg?
Calculator?
__________________
"I'm not driving too fast...just flying too low"
Mine:
-03 SB Cobra vert- 2552 of 5082 Born 02/25/03
Our's:
90 7up vert - new project-07 DSG Focus -DD
335
lowflyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2012, 09:56 AM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
Horseplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: San Antonio, TX
Region: Texas
Posts: 4,265
Quote:
Originally Posted by lowflyn View Post

Calculator?
how do i calculate the mpg's?
__________________

Low2v
Horseplay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2012, 10:05 AM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
Eturner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Region: Michigan
Posts: 3,257
Quote:
Originally Posted by Horseplay View Post

how do i calculate the mpg's?
Fill your car up, drive X amount of miles then fill it back up again. Divide your miles driven by the amount of gas used/the amount it took to fill it back up the 2nd time. Do this several times and you can average out your mileage pretty good.
Eturner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2012, 10:09 AM   #10
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
lowflyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Region: Mississippi
Posts: 19,890
Send a message via AIM to lowflyn
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eturner

Fill your car up, drive X amount of miles then fill it back up again. Divide your miles driven by the amount of gas used/the amount it took to fill it back up the 2nd time. Do this several times and you can average out your mileage pretty good.
Yupp. I use www.fuelly.com to track and see trends. For best results use the same pump at the same time of day and don't top it off
__________________
"I'm not driving too fast...just flying too low"
Mine:
-03 SB Cobra vert- 2552 of 5082 Born 02/25/03
Our's:
90 7up vert - new project-07 DSG Focus -DD
335
lowflyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2012, 11:27 AM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
cliffyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,001
The instrument cluster diagnostic mode does not display powertrain diagnostic codes, more about what it does do here...
__________________
SOLD! - 2003 GT, UPR X, FRPP 24lb/h, Magnaflow, PP 70mm TB & plenum, Delta Force tuned,
Steeda UDPs, Ralco flywheel, RAM HDX clutch, 3.73s, 262 rwHP/305 lb-ft.

New ride (7/1/2013) 1998 Mercedes SL500-5.0L 32V VVT 326/347 HP/tq
cliffyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2012, 11:10 PM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
MineralGrayGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Region: Wyoming
Posts: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by cliffyk View Post
The instrument cluster diagnostic mode does not display powertrain diagnostic codes, more about what it does do here...
Mine wont ever say "test"
MineralGrayGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 11:03 AM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
cliffyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,001
Quote:
Originally Posted by MineralGrayGT View Post
Mine wont ever say "test"
Then it is broken, or you are perhaps not performing the start-up ritual correctly--it is sort one of those "knacky" things to do, one where once you get the knack it's easy...
__________________
SOLD! - 2003 GT, UPR X, FRPP 24lb/h, Magnaflow, PP 70mm TB & plenum, Delta Force tuned,
Steeda UDPs, Ralco flywheel, RAM HDX clutch, 3.73s, 262 rwHP/305 lb-ft.

New ride (7/1/2013) 1998 Mercedes SL500-5.0L 32V VVT 326/347 HP/tq
cliffyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 02:56 PM   #14
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
lowflyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Region: Mississippi
Posts: 19,890
Send a message via AIM to lowflyn
Quote:
Originally Posted by cliffyk
The instrument cluster diagnostic mode does not display powertrain diagnostic codes, more about what it does do here...
If you say so...
__________________
"I'm not driving too fast...just flying too low"
Mine:
-03 SB Cobra vert- 2552 of 5082 Born 02/25/03
Our's:
90 7up vert - new project-07 DSG Focus -DD
335
lowflyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 03:00 PM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
cliffyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,001
Quote:
Originally Posted by lowflyn View Post
If you say so...
Actually Ford says so--did you read the document?
__________________
SOLD! - 2003 GT, UPR X, FRPP 24lb/h, Magnaflow, PP 70mm TB & plenum, Delta Force tuned,
Steeda UDPs, Ralco flywheel, RAM HDX clutch, 3.73s, 262 rwHP/305 lb-ft.

New ride (7/1/2013) 1998 Mercedes SL500-5.0L 32V VVT 326/347 HP/tq
cliffyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 03:02 PM   #16
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
lowflyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Region: Mississippi
Posts: 19,890
Send a message via AIM to lowflyn
Quote:
Originally Posted by cliffyk

Actually Ford says so--did you read the document?
No, i've used it to read codes before.
__________________
"I'm not driving too fast...just flying too low"
Mine:
-03 SB Cobra vert- 2552 of 5082 Born 02/25/03
Our's:
90 7up vert - new project-07 DSG Focus -DD
335
lowflyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 03:34 PM   #17
Registered Member
Regular
 
cliffyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,001
Quote:
Originally Posted by lowflyn View Post
No, i've used it to read codes before.
It displays "codes", however it does not display any but one Pxxxx (Powertrain) code. It displays only a sub-set of Bxxxx (Body) and Cxxxx (Chassis) trouble codes.

Had you read the document you would know that...
__________________
SOLD! - 2003 GT, UPR X, FRPP 24lb/h, Magnaflow, PP 70mm TB & plenum, Delta Force tuned,
Steeda UDPs, Ralco flywheel, RAM HDX clutch, 3.73s, 262 rwHP/305 lb-ft.

New ride (7/1/2013) 1998 Mercedes SL500-5.0L 32V VVT 326/347 HP/tq
cliffyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



05:26 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.