What parts are needed to replace the head gasket on a 1996 mustang gt? - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 12-16-2011, 04:15 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular

What parts are needed to replace the head gasket on a 1996 mustang gt?

Just curious, but I am wondering, exactly what parts are needed to replace the head gaskets on a 96 mustang gt with a 4.6 liter engine? I don't have to know ratchet sizes or wrenches needed or anything like that, as much as replaceable parts that are going to be needed. As far as gasket sets go I'm thinking Fel Pro seems to be the best bet and I know I have to replace the two head bolts. I am looking to gather everything up or at least be prepared with what I know I will need (sure I will find more as I get into it) before I start. I am not a complete novice as I have worked on some other of my cars here and there and expect this to be a much easier car to work with than my 92 Lexus that I used to have. I just prefer to double check with others that have more knowledge than I do. Any help is greatly appreciated and thanks for the time.
columbanus is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-16-2011, 04:32 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular

You can purchase complete gasket kits for this. A valve grind gasket kit would be a good choice.

A complete gasket kit would cost less money than purchasing the gaskets individually. You will also have every gasket that you would need to complete the job. You would not need to reuse any old gaskets that could cause future problems. Most major auto parts stores sell these gasket kits.