Short Throw Shifter Questions - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 02-02-2013, 06:45 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Illinois
Short Throw Shifter Questions

Before you all groan and Shout, "Use the search button!" i already did. I have read some of the threads and done a little research and here are my questions. I am new to manual transmissions. Very new. Like, just started today, new. I noticed that i'm having a real hard time shifting from 2nd to 3rd, i hit it 70% of the time i'd say. But my dad whom has driven quite a few manual cars in his day, has the same problem with hitting 3rd. My questions are A) is this pretty common on these cars to skip right over 3rd and into 5th? My car has the stock shifter in it, and i've been reading that they're not so great and it's wise to upgrade. Would a short throw shifter make it a little easier to hit all the gears?

My second question. The car came with what appears to be a Used steeda Tri Axe shifter. I've read that MGW makes pretty much the best one you can buy. So Should i Buy an MGW shifter? Or install the one i have. I'm not exactly sure why they went from the tri axe shifter back to the stock shifter so that in itself might be a red flag. But i want to know from you experienced guys. Lets hear what you think Fellas.
PonyBoyV6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-02-2013, 06:54 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Michigan
You should upgrade it regardless. And buy a new one completely. There is prbly a problem with the one. I have a b&m with MGW gripper knob. Made a huh difference. I don't ever miss gears.
Defying_Fate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 07:03 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular