Tuned - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 02-03-2013, 01:34 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
Rich04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Queens
Region: New York
Posts: 470
Tuned

Is there anyway to tell if my car was tuned before i bought it ?
Id like to buy a tuner but i have a feeling it was tuned already. Not to sure how it all works.
Thanks
Rich04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-03-2013, 01:37 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
Venomouz831's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Seaside
Region: California
Posts: 8,133
Call the previous owner
__________________
)02 Gt, Founder of WE2G
Venomouz831 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 03:56 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
cliffyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,001
The only way is to read the current tune and compare it to a stock tune using tune editing software. Any tuning shop should be able to do this, though most likely not for free.

You should not try to tune it using any system that downloads the current tune, assuming it to be the stock tune, and then applies changes to same--most tuning systems do this.

What makes you think it might have a custom tune?
__________________
SOLD! - 2003 GT, UPR X, FRPP 24lb/h, Magnaflow, PP 70mm TB & plenum, Delta Force tuned,
Steeda UDPs, Ralco flywheel, RAM HDX clutch, 3.73s, 262 rwHP/305 lb-ft.

New ride (7/1/2013) 1998 Mercedes SL500-5.0L 32V VVT 326/347 HP/tq
cliffyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-03-2013, 05:20 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
Rich04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Queens
Region: New York
Posts: 470
Quote:
Originally Posted by Venomouz831 View Post
Call the previous owner
Bought it threw dealer ship or this would be easier -_-
Rich04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 06:24 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
cliffyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,001
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich04 View Post
Bought it threw dealer ship or this would be easier -_-
Was it a Ford dealer? They should be able to determine if it is a custom tune, and should do it for free.

It is a violation of most state's laws for a licensed used car dealer to sell a vehicle that has had the emissions control system altered, or non-operational. A custom tune is an alteration of a component of the emissions control system. You would of course have to prove that it was a custom tune. Go to a local tuning shop or Ford dealer, they can find out what's up...
__________________
SOLD! - 2003 GT, UPR X, FRPP 24lb/h, Magnaflow, PP 70mm TB & plenum, Delta Force tuned,
Steeda UDPs, Ralco flywheel, RAM HDX clutch, 3.73s, 262 rwHP/305 lb-ft.

New ride (7/1/2013) 1998 Mercedes SL500-5.0L 32V VVT 326/347 HP/tq
cliffyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 07:14 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
Rich04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Queens
Region: New York
Posts: 470
Quote:
Originally Posted by cliffyk View Post

Was it a Ford dealer? They should be able to determine if it is a custom tune, and should do it for free.

It is a violation of most state's laws for a licensed used car dealer to sell a vehicle that has had the emissions control system altered, or non-operational. A custom tune is an alteration of a component of the emissions control system. You would of course have to prove that it was a custom tune. Go to a local tuning shop or Ford dealer, they can find out what's up...
Just a normal dealer. Sorry i didn't get back , watching the game. Soo i just go to a tuning shop or ford dealer ? If it is tuned they'll take it off ?
Rich04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 07:38 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
cliffyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,001
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich04 View Post
Just a normal dealer. Sorry i didn't get back , watching the game. Soo i just go to a tuning shop or ford dealer ? If it is tuned they'll take it off ?
They can, though that is where you will definitely be getting into paying them to do it.

I ask again though. what makes you feel it has a custom tune?
__________________
SOLD! - 2003 GT, UPR X, FRPP 24lb/h, Magnaflow, PP 70mm TB & plenum, Delta Force tuned,
Steeda UDPs, Ralco flywheel, RAM HDX clutch, 3.73s, 262 rwHP/305 lb-ft.

New ride (7/1/2013) 1998 Mercedes SL500-5.0L 32V VVT 326/347 HP/tq
cliffyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 07:53 PM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
nickysixx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Boonton
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 634
Quote:
Originally Posted by cliffyk View Post
They can, though that is where you will definitely be getting into paying them to do it.

I ask again though. what makes you feel it has a custom tune?
Agree'd what would make you think it has a custom tune? Does it have any mods done to it as far as cams or anything? If you have a legit reason to think so you should call the dealership and see what you can pick em for.
nickysixx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 09:07 PM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
Rich04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Queens
Region: New York
Posts: 470
Well i haven't had time to really get a look works been busy. Was suppose to get it on a lift this weekend. I know theres bbk long tubes with flows. But i haven't been under it just visual. K&n intake +filter T56 tranny the one thing i was told by dealer is that it was "chiped" besides tht idk. Its real clean one owner. Ill get the rest of mods by the weekend when i bring it by my friends garage.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2865734114.jpg
Views:	93
Size:	359.4 KB
ID:	89068   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3389296682.jpg
Views:	88
Size:	399.5 KB
ID:	89069  

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2214721460.jpg
Views:	100
Size:	535.9 KB
ID:	89071  
Rich04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 09:28 PM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
cliffyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,001
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich04 View Post
Well i haven't had time to really get a look works been busy. Was suppose to get it on a lift this weekend. I know theres bbk long tubes with flows. But i haven't been under it just visual. K&n intake +filter T56 tranny the one thing i was told by dealer is that it was "chiped" besides tht idk. Its real clean one owner. Ill get the rest of mods by the weekend when i bring it by my friends garage.
If it is indeed "chipped" then all you need to do to return it to the stock tune is remove the "chip", which is actually a daughterboard plugged onto the PCM's J3 diagnostic port:



The PCM is located under the passenger side right kick panel, the PCM must be removed for access to the J3 port which is at the "top" with the PCM mounted. You may be able to see if there is a daughterboard plugged it by getting your face down in there and getting a good look.

If you remove the PCM.

!!! disconnect the battery first !!!

Before even pulling the kick panel--just to be 110% safe...
__________________
SOLD! - 2003 GT, UPR X, FRPP 24lb/h, Magnaflow, PP 70mm TB & plenum, Delta Force tuned,
Steeda UDPs, Ralco flywheel, RAM HDX clutch, 3.73s, 262 rwHP/305 lb-ft.

New ride (7/1/2013) 1998 Mercedes SL500-5.0L 32V VVT 326/347 HP/tq
cliffyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 09:33 PM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
Rich04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Queens
Region: New York
Posts: 470
Quote:
Originally Posted by cliffyk View Post

If it is indeed "chipped" then all you need to do to return it to the stock tune is remove the "chip", which is actually a daughterboard plugged onto the PCM's J3 diagnostic port:

The PCM is located under the passenger side right kick panel, the PCM must be removed for access to the J3 port which is at the "top" with the PCM mounted. You may be able to see if there is a daughterboard plugged it by getting your face down in there and getting a good look.

If you remove the PCM.

!!! disconnect the battery first !!!

Before even pulling the kick panel--just to be 110% safe...
Iv done it before when i was attempting too hook up a tac. Changed my mind, i dont want to go to stock tune or anything i just wana know if its tuned cause if not i would like to tune it
Rich04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 09:39 PM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
cliffyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,001
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich04 View Post
Iv done it before when i was attempting too hook up a tac. Changed my mind, i dont want to go to stock tune or anything i just wana know if its tuned cause if not i would like to tune it
Did you see a "chip"? If not it's not "chipped", may still have a custom tune but it would have to be flashed the the PCM E²PROM...
__________________
SOLD! - 2003 GT, UPR X, FRPP 24lb/h, Magnaflow, PP 70mm TB & plenum, Delta Force tuned,
Steeda UDPs, Ralco flywheel, RAM HDX clutch, 3.73s, 262 rwHP/305 lb-ft.

New ride (7/1/2013) 1998 Mercedes SL500-5.0L 32V VVT 326/347 HP/tq
cliffyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 10:47 PM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
Rich04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Queens
Region: New York
Posts: 470
Quote:
Originally Posted by cliffyk View Post

Did you see a "chip"? If not it's not "chipped", may still have a custom tune but it would have to be flashed the the PCM E²PROM...
No , i took the panel off didn't unbolt the harness i think it is. And gave up with trying to put the tac. Ill also be checking that this weekend.
Rich04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 11:13 PM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
cliffyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,001
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich04 View Post
No , i took the panel off didn't unbolt the harness i think it is. And gave up with trying to put the tac. Ill also be checking that this weekend.
Unrelated to this thead, however I am curious as to what tach you have and to what PCM pin/wire you were instructed to connect it?
__________________
SOLD! - 2003 GT, UPR X, FRPP 24lb/h, Magnaflow, PP 70mm TB & plenum, Delta Force tuned,
Steeda UDPs, Ralco flywheel, RAM HDX clutch, 3.73s, 262 rwHP/305 lb-ft.

New ride (7/1/2013) 1998 Mercedes SL500-5.0L 32V VVT 326/347 HP/tq
cliffyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 01:06 AM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
Rich04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Queens
Region: New York
Posts: 470
Quote:
Originally Posted by cliffyk View Post

Unrelated to this thead, however I am curious as to what tach you have and to what PCM pin/wire you were instructed to connect it?
I don't have it. My buddie was selling me one but said i would need to splice the tac to the rpm
Rich04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 04:33 AM   #16
Registered Member
Regular
 
cliffyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,001
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich04 View Post
I don't have it. My buddie was selling me one but said i would need to splice the tac to the rpm
Ah, I was asking because there is no RPM or "-Ign" signal supplied by the PCM used on our cars ('99 through '04), you need to use a tach adaptor. I thought perhaps some manufacturer had found a way around that and was tapping one or more of the coil driver signals at the PCM.

Here is more about connecting the adapter and how it works.

The tach adapter also filters out the multi-strike ignition pulses. Or cars fire each plug three times at idle and up to 1200 rpm--here is what that looks like on an oscilloscope:

__________________
SOLD! - 2003 GT, UPR X, FRPP 24lb/h, Magnaflow, PP 70mm TB & plenum, Delta Force tuned,
Steeda UDPs, Ralco flywheel, RAM HDX clutch, 3.73s, 262 rwHP/305 lb-ft.

New ride (7/1/2013) 1998 Mercedes SL500-5.0L 32V VVT 326/347 HP/tq
cliffyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 06:30 AM   #17
Registered Member
Regular
 
Rich04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Queens
Region: New York
Posts: 470
Quote:
Originally Posted by cliffyk View Post

Ah, I was asking because there is no RPM or "-Ign" signal supplied by the PCM used on our cars ('99 through '04), you need to use a tach adaptor. I thought perhaps some manufacturer had found a way around that and was tapping one or more of the coil driver signals at the PCM.

Here is more about connecting the adapter and how it works.

The tach adapter also filters out the multi-strike ignition pulses. Or cars fire each plug three times at idle and up to 1200 rpm--here is what that looks like on an oscilloscope:
I had a feeling thats what i needed cause i was looking it up and kept seeing it. Wished i asked here instead of searching and not understanding
Rich04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



08:22 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.