Auto to manual swap - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 02-28-2013, 07:30 AM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
ryoung1219's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Greensboro
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 129
Auto to manual swap

Any idea on how much it would cost for me to take my 04 gt to a shop and do a transmission swap?
ryoung1219 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-28-2013, 07:39 AM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
Top stang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Region: Michigan
Posts: 307
About $1200 in just labor
Top stang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 07:40 AM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
ryoung1219's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Greensboro
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 129
What all would I need other than the transmission to do the swap?
ryoung1219 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-28-2013, 07:41 AM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
Top stang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Region: Michigan
Posts: 307
All the ecu harnesses prolly new k members and bell housing there's a thread on somewhere about this. I'm doing the same thing in the spring with the cobra drivetrain
Top stang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 07:43 AM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
ryoung1219's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Greensboro
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 129
Ok I'll look for it.

Thanks
ryoung1219 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 07:47 AM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
Top stang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Region: Michigan
Posts: 307
No problem
Top stang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 08:09 AM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
Horseplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: San Antonio, TX
Region: Texas
Posts: 4,265
i wish i had the money to do this. im really considering trading my gt cuz im sick of the auto
__________________

Low2v
Horseplay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 08:12 AM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
Top stang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Region: Michigan
Posts: 307
I feel you with that. Autos are so damn booring
Top stang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 08:31 AM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
ryoung1219's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Greensboro
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 129
Only thing I like it that with a tuner you can choose your shifts points where you can't with manual. But I guess technically you can since your the one changing gears.
ryoung1219 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 08:37 AM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
Horseplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: San Antonio, TX
Region: Texas
Posts: 4,265
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryoung1219 View Post
Only thing I like it that with a tuner you can choose your shifts points where you can't with manual. But I guess technically you can since your the one changing gears.
oh really i didnt know that? i bought a tuner a few weeks ago but sent it to sct to have it unlocked. i have a custom tune made for me already but how do u choose ur shift points?
__________________

Low2v
Horseplay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 08:39 AM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
ryoung1219's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Greensboro
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 129
I'm not exactly sure yet. I haven't recieved mine yet but from my research you should be able to select shift points, change rev limiter, and change your top speed with it
ryoung1219 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 08:45 AM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
Horseplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: San Antonio, TX
Region: Texas
Posts: 4,265
that would be nice. im sick of the tranny constantly changing gears
__________________

Low2v
Horseplay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 08:46 AM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
ryoung1219's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Greensboro
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 129
Yea I would just try to search a user manual for it and see if it tells you how to do it
ryoung1219 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 09:22 AM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
Top stang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Region: Michigan
Posts: 307
Yeah I changed my shift points made a huge difference but nothing's like a manual hit the gears and feeling the power
Top stang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 09:23 AM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
Horseplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: San Antonio, TX
Region: Texas
Posts: 4,265
Quote:
Originally Posted by Top stang View Post
Yeah I changed my shift points made a huge difference but nothing's like a manual hit the gears and feeling the power
how do u change the shift points
__________________

Low2v
Horseplay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 09:31 AM   #16
Registered Member
Regular
 
bobsurvives's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: California
Posts: 216
Quote:
Originally Posted by Horseplay View Post

how do u change the shift points
I wouldn't recommend you changing them yourself. With a tune that is gonna be written you'll feel the difference when the car shifts. All I would recommend you doing yourself is removing speed limiter and you can adjust the rev limiter
bobsurvives is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 09:34 AM   #17
Registered Member
Regular
 
Horseplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: San Antonio, TX
Region: Texas
Posts: 4,265
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobsurvives View Post

I wouldn't recommend you changing them yourself. With a tune that is gonna be written you'll feel the difference when the car shifts. All I would recommend you doing yourself is removing speed limiter and you can adjust the rev limiter
oh ok. well i already have a custom email tune. im just waiting on my tuner to get back so i can upload it. hopefully i'll feel a difference. how do u remove the speed limiter?
__________________

Low2v
Horseplay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 09:38 AM   #18
Registered Member
Regular
 
bobsurvives's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: California
Posts: 216
I don't know how to do it on an SCT I have a diablo sport, just plug it in and go thru the menus or ask customer service
bobsurvives is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 09:45 AM   #19
Registered Member
Regular
 
Top stang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Region: Michigan
Posts: 307
Not sure my friend did it for me I'll have to ask him
Top stang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 10:32 AM   #20
Registered Member
Regular
 
sam minnick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 315
On the sct you go threw the menu and it gives you options to adjust to... my 99 has a shift pack in it and a tuner with the shift points messed with and when this car shifts and your on the throttle you def know it shifted... i hate automatic also but this car makes auto fun if i want to mess around... my old fox body i made it 5 speed it wasnt hard to change at all i got the trans fly wheel, clutch, pedals shifter, clutch cable and that's it... easy swap and lots of fun
sam minnick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 12:02 PM   #21
Registered Member
Regular
 
MustangGT02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: MO
Region: Missouri
Posts: 437
Did my swap over the sumer, heres a better thread. 5-Speed Swap Instructions
MustangGT02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 07:41 AM   #22
Registered Member
Regular
 
Calandro's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Spring hill, Fl
Region: Florida
Posts: 84
That web page mentions anything you'll need to do to your computer.
What exactly will I need to do to my computer after the swap? Has anyone done it?
Calandro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 09:33 AM   #23
Registered Member
Regular
 
MustangGT02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: MO
Region: Missouri
Posts: 437
I'm using my stock ECM with a tune I got from BAMA, I have tried to put the manual ECM in but gave up since you have to get it unlocked for the car. The easy way is to just get a tune from BAMA.
MustangGT02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 12:46 PM   #24
Staff
Regular
Staff
 
scottydsntknow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: JB MDL
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 16,576
Just FYI, you are lucky to have an 04 auto with the upgraded 4r75w transmission. With a $60 mod called the J-mod you can REALLY firm up the shifts to the point of barking 2nd if you stomp on it. Autos are faster in a straight line and that is just fact, however there is just something about banging gears. You can also pull the trans and throw an aftermarket stall converter in there to REALLY wake up your launches. There is ALSO the option of putting a full manual valve body in with a ratchet shifter if you want to be in full control.

Anyway if you are dead set on a manual swap you need:

-99/00 T-45 or a 3650
-Shifter
-Pedal assy, clutch quadrant/cable
-6 bolt flywheel
-Clutch
-5 spd driveshaft or aluminum driveshaft
-5 spd computer if you don't want to tune out the auto but make sure you get the PATS keys too if you get a new comp

After that its a pretty simple dropping of the old trans/converter/flexplate and installing the 5 spd stuff in its place. If you've ever pulled a trans before you can do this swap.
__________________
2000 Mustang GT Steeda #0048

Just because I give you advice, doesn't mean I know more than you. Its just means I've done more stupid ****.
scottydsntknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 01:24 PM   #25
Registered Member
Regular
 
Calandro's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Spring hill, Fl
Region: Florida
Posts: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by MustangGT02 View Post
I'm using my stock ECM with a tune I got from BAMA, I have tried to put the manual ECM in but gave up since you have to get it unlocked for the car. The easy way is to just get a tune from BAMA.
Awesome! Wasn't aware a tuner could even change your transmission.
Thanks for the tip!
Calandro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 01:38 PM   #26
Staff
Regular
Staff
 
scottydsntknow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: JB MDL
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 16,576
You can tune the auto computer to be fine with a manual but not the other way around. Unless you do the full manual valve body that is. With that, as far as the car is concerned, its still a manual.
__________________
2000 Mustang GT Steeda #0048

Just because I give you advice, doesn't mean I know more than you. Its just means I've done more stupid ****.
scottydsntknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 02:26 PM   #27
Registered Member
Regular
 
Calandro's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Spring hill, Fl
Region: Florida
Posts: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottydsntknow View Post
You can tune the auto computer to be fine with a manual but not the other way around. Unless you do the full manual valve body that is. With that, as far as the car is concerned, its still a manual.
Ya that works for me. I'm pulling the auto for manual.
I got a t45 rebuilt and all the other parts I need (pedals, flywheel, clutch....) all for $600.

I'm putting in myself, so a $600 swap for a newer tranny is well worth it
Calandro is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



09:56 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.