CAI HELP - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 04-16-2013, 09:20 AM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
Allans03ragtop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Knoxville
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 1,866
CAI HELP

I bought a CAI for my 03 GT and now I am getting a p0420 code which means I am running lean. Is there a way to fix this? My CAI has a rubber gromet wiht a hole in it that let's unfiltered air in should that be plugged up?
__________________

03 Sonic Blue CONVERTIBLE W/STYLE BAR AND SPEEDSTER COVER AND 18X10W/275/35 REAR AND 18X9W/245/45 FRONT. OFF ROAD X-PIPE 40 SIERIES FLOMASTERS AND CAI.
Allans03ragtop is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-16-2013, 09:30 AM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Region: Arkansas
Posts: 704
You should have vacuum hoses connecting to all of the holes on your CAI.
If you look at mine, there is a blue hose and a black hose connected to my CAI.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3722199579.jpg
Views:	114
Size:	914.2 KB
ID:	102797  
BackPressure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2013, 10:51 AM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
Allans03ragtop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Knoxville
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 1,866
Look at the small black rubber grommet on the opposite side if the other hoses

Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20130416_115118.png
Views:	121
Size:	416.0 KB
ID:	102807



Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20130416_115126.png
Views:	121
Size:	380.2 KB
ID:	102808
__________________

03 Sonic Blue CONVERTIBLE W/STYLE BAR AND SPEEDSTER COVER AND 18X10W/275/35 REAR AND 18X9W/245/45 FRONT. OFF ROAD X-PIPE 40 SIERIES FLOMASTERS AND CAI.
Allans03ragtop is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-16-2013, 11:02 AM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
Seegin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Fort Benning
Region: Georgia
Posts: 55
Yes plug it I have the same on my 04 gt. it was made this way so it would work on 96 to 99 as well
Seegin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2013, 11:10 AM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
Allans03ragtop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Knoxville
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 1,866
Great thanks instructions didn't mention that.
Allans03ragtop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2013, 11:16 AM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
Seegin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Fort Benning
Region: Georgia
Posts: 55
Any time man. I had to do the same thing. Hope that helps
Seegin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2013, 12:10 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
1lowGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Missouri
Posts: 3,903
Yup good help. Just plugged my with a short bolt.
__________________
2003 GT - full bolts ons, suspension, and drag radials
1998 cummins - 150hp injectors | FASS fuel kit | 4" straight pipe | 5" lift | BHAF | 20" wheels | edge juice w/ attitude | built auto trans with stall | closing in on 900tq | bigger turbo soon..

Follow me on instagram @nicknold for car and truck pictures
1lowGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2013, 12:29 PM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
Allans03ragtop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Knoxville
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 1,866
I just put a short 3/8 bolt in mine and so far no service engine light fingers crossed
Allans03ragtop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2013, 12:39 PM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
Seegin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Fort Benning
Region: Georgia
Posts: 55
I put another coupler over the hole the bolt would probably be better. Good idea
Seegin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2013, 12:59 PM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
1lowGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Missouri
Posts: 3,903
Yeah thats not a bad idea. Im probably gonna switch back to stock intake soon. Whenever i find time.
1lowGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2013, 06:21 PM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
GReese87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Blackwood
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 65
P0420 is usually a bad cat. Could just be a coincidence it came on when u did your intake.
GReese87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2013, 08:36 PM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
Allans03ragtop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Knoxville
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 1,866
I have no cats and no codes before cai I think it is fixed with the bolt no codes since putting it in.
Allans03ragtop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2013, 08:55 PM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
Slow4V's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Sa
Region: Alabama
Posts: 2,208
Quote:
Originally Posted by Allans03ragtop View Post
Look at the small black rubber grommet on the opposite side if the other hoses
Your suppose to put a sensor in there , if not plug it.
Slow4V is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2013, 09:09 PM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
Allans03ragtop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Knoxville
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 1,866
What sensor? Mine is a 03 GT there is nothing to put there. I was told that is for 96 thru 99
Allans03ragtop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2013, 09:15 PM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
Slow4V's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Sa
Region: Alabama
Posts: 2,208
My 02 Had one that fit in there , idk?
Slow4V is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2013, 09:36 PM   #16
Registered Member
Regular
 
v8pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Monmouth County, New Jersey
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 2,201
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slow4V View Post
My 02 Had one that fit in there , idk?
Really? My 02 has no sensor to put in that hole, my cai came with a rubber piece to plug the hole
__________________
2002 5spd GT
Feb 2013 Mustang of the Month
v8pony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2013, 02:16 PM   #17
Registered Member
Regular
 
Peterzinyou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Frankfort
Region: Illinois
Posts: 342
What brand CAI is it? I know on my K&N it did mention you might have to drill a hole in the intake for certain model yrs. Im assuming your intake had that hole predrilled. I am very happy with my Typhoon system.
__________________
Borla S-Type stingers, BAMA SCT tuner, K & N Typhoon CAI, Classic Design Concepts light bar, MACH 1 chin spoiler, MACH 1000 w JVC Kvw 500 HU, plastidipped hood scoop, wing & Premium GT rims, painted calipers, 3.73 gears, black Bullitt fuel door, MMD hood struts, sub-frame connectors, SVE uca & lca, Power Stop drilled/slotted rotors
Peterzinyou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2013, 09:40 PM   #18
Registered Member
Regular
 
Allans03ragtop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Knoxville
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 1,866
Ok whole tank gone and no more service engine light since I plugged the hole with the bolt. Yepiiiiii.looks like that was the problem.
__________________

03 Sonic Blue CONVERTIBLE W/STYLE BAR AND SPEEDSTER COVER AND 18X10W/275/35 REAR AND 18X9W/245/45 FRONT. OFF ROAD X-PIPE 40 SIERIES FLOMASTERS AND CAI.
Allans03ragtop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2013, 08:12 AM   #19
Registered Member
Regular
 
wolfstang03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: New York
Posts: 344
I have an 03 with a Bbk cai and the same thing happened to me. Maybe Bbk wants me to put nitrous there!!
__________________
--WOLFSTANG 03--
wolfstang03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2013, 10:12 AM   #20
Registered Member
Regular
 
GReese87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Blackwood
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by wolfstang03 View Post
I have an 03 with a Bbk cai and the same thing happened to me. Maybe Bbk wants me to put nitrous there!!
Haha sounds like a good excuse to add a part....it always makes me feel better if I make up some excuse to put a performance part in.
GReese87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2013, 09:00 PM   #21
slow281
Regular
Supporter
 
sixpac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Cedar Rapids
Region: Nebraska
Posts: 3,162
It's an air temp sensor . If your maf sensor has 6 wires you won't have it.. If it only has 4 you should
__________________
Need more Horsepower? Add a sticker. Contact me for vinyl stickers pre-made and custom!
Stick on Horsepower <- Click Here and like my Page!
2001 GT - True Blue
2003 V6 - Zinc Yellow
1990 LX 2.3 - project
sixpac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 01:34 AM   #22
Registered Member
Regular
 
Cornkush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Indianapolis
Region: Indiana
Posts: 171
Quote:
Originally Posted by sixpac View Post
It's an air temp sensor . If your maf sensor has 6 wires you won't have it.. If it only has 4 you should
+1
Cornkush is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT

Tags
cai

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



09:16 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.