Bank 1 and bank 2 running lean. - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 04-22-2013, 10:55 AM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
Rich04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Queens
Region: New York
Posts: 470
Bank 1 and bank 2 running lean.

Ran sea foam and changed the fuel filter didn't work any ideas?
Rich04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-22-2013, 01:49 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
cliffyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,001
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich04 View Post
Ran sea foam and changed the fuel filter didn't work any ideas?
On what are you basing your conclusion that the engine is running lean--actual observation of the AFR via a wideband O² system or DTC codes? If the latter what are the codes?
__________________
SOLD! - 2003 GT, UPR X, FRPP 24lb/h, Magnaflow, PP 70mm TB & plenum, Delta Force tuned,
Steeda UDPs, Ralco flywheel, RAM HDX clutch, 3.73s, 262 rwHP/305 lb-ft.

New ride (7/1/2013) 1998 Mercedes SL500-5.0L 32V VVT 326/347 HP/tq
cliffyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 04:12 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
Rich04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Queens
Region: New York
Posts: 470
Quote:
Originally Posted by cliffyk View Post

On what are you basing your conclusion that the engine is running lean--actual observation of the AFR via a wideband O² system or DTC codes? If the latter what are the codes?
Im getting 2 codes saying bank 1 is stuck lean and bank 2 is stuck lean i can tell you the codes when i get into the car.
Rich04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-22-2013, 04:25 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
cliffyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,001
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich04 View Post
Im getting 2 codes saying bank 1 is stuck lean and bank 2 is stuck lean i can tell you the codes when i get into the car.
The exact codes are important...
__________________
SOLD! - 2003 GT, UPR X, FRPP 24lb/h, Magnaflow, PP 70mm TB & plenum, Delta Force tuned,
Steeda UDPs, Ralco flywheel, RAM HDX clutch, 3.73s, 262 rwHP/305 lb-ft.

New ride (7/1/2013) 1998 Mercedes SL500-5.0L 32V VVT 326/347 HP/tq
cliffyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 05:36 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
Rich04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Queens
Region: New York
Posts: 470
Quote:
Originally Posted by cliffyk View Post

The exact codes are important...
Only ones coming up now
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1013121644.jpg
Views:	337
Size:	485.2 KB
ID:	103749  
Rich04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 05:46 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
cliffyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,001
Do you have any intake (after the MAF) or exhaust leaks?

Also that is a pending code, had you cleared the codes previously? If so when you observed the codes before were they pending or persistent?
__________________
SOLD! - 2003 GT, UPR X, FRPP 24lb/h, Magnaflow, PP 70mm TB & plenum, Delta Force tuned,
Steeda UDPs, Ralco flywheel, RAM HDX clutch, 3.73s, 262 rwHP/305 lb-ft.

New ride (7/1/2013) 1998 Mercedes SL500-5.0L 32V VVT 326/347 HP/tq
cliffyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 05:57 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
Rich04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Queens
Region: New York
Posts: 470
Quote:
Originally Posted by cliffyk View Post
Do you have any intake (after the MAF) or exhaust leaks?

Also that is a pending code, had you cleared the codes previously? If so when you observed the codes before were they pending or persistent?
I had 2 confirmed codes and 2 pending. 2 confirmed were the one in the picture and bank 1 system stuck lean.
How would i check for leaks? These codes came on after i cleaned my k&n filter and TB.
Rich04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 06:55 PM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
cliffyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,001
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich04 View Post
I had 2 confirmed codes and 2 pending. 2 confirmed were the one in the picture and bank 1 system stuck lean.
How would i check for leaks? These codes came on after i cleaned my k&n filter and TB.
As you say you just cleaned a K&N filter one thing to check is that the MAF has not been contaminated with the snake oil. Examine it and if it looks shiny/oily clean it (gently) with MAF cleaner.

Also as cleaning the TB (which never really needs to be done) requires removing the intake tube make sure the tubes feeding the IAC and PCV system are properly connected...
__________________
SOLD! - 2003 GT, UPR X, FRPP 24lb/h, Magnaflow, PP 70mm TB & plenum, Delta Force tuned,
Steeda UDPs, Ralco flywheel, RAM HDX clutch, 3.73s, 262 rwHP/305 lb-ft.

New ride (7/1/2013) 1998 Mercedes SL500-5.0L 32V VVT 326/347 HP/tq
cliffyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 09:29 PM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
BigB227's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: West Palm Beach
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,120
Quote:
Originally Posted by cliffyk View Post

As you say you just cleaned a K&N filter one thing to check is that the MAF has not been contaminated with the snake oil. Examine it and if it looks shiny/oily clean it (gently) with MAF cleaner.

Also as cleaning the TB (which never really needs to be done) requires removing the intake tube make sure the tubes feeding the IAC and PCV system are properly connected...
+1 on the MAF cleaner, I have the same problem and have tried everything to fix it and someone with the same year mustang told me that he had replaced his cam position sensor and it went away, not sure why the correlation or if it helps but it worked for him and I might try it soon
BigB227 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 06:38 AM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
Rich04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Queens
Region: New York
Posts: 470
Cleaned it already and nothing happened so i got a new one and still says its lean. Where is that sensor and can i pick it up at any local part store?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-706869602.jpg
Views:	311
Size:	507.0 KB
ID:	103855   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2650371292.jpg
Views:	316
Size:	513.4 KB
ID:	103856  

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-398747769.jpg
Views:	274
Size:	480.2 KB
ID:	103857  
Rich04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 08:02 AM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
kickerofdoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Region: Maryland
Posts: 1,868
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich04 View Post
Cleaned it already and nothing happened so i got a new one and still says its lean. Where is that sensor and can i pick it up at any local part store?
Oxygen sensors?
kickerofdoom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 08:42 AM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
Rich04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Queens
Region: New York
Posts: 470
Quote:
Originally Posted by kickerofdoom View Post

Oxygen sensors?
cam position sensor, is it by the power steering reservoir?
Rich04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 09:32 AM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
DaBluedude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Region: Canada
Posts: 1,996
I get an occasional codes for both banks running too rich and while it's the opposite if yours, these are fuel trim adjustment codes. Usually this relates to issues with tuning. Sometimes when I lift off on the highway for a downhill section or something it tries to run rich and the fuel trim system makes an adjustment that actually sets off the sensor and trips the code. My actual a/f ratio only actually changes by less than a quarter point.
__________________
2003 Mach 1
DaBluedude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 10:21 AM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
Rich04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Queens
Region: New York
Posts: 470
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaBluedude View Post
I get an occasional codes for both banks running too rich and while it's the opposite if yours, these are fuel trim adjustment codes. Usually this relates to issues with tuning. Sometimes when I lift off on the highway for a downhill section or something it tries to run rich and the fuel trim system makes an adjustment that actually sets off the sensor and trips the code. My actual a/f ratio only actually changes by less than a quarter point.
My car is not tuned. And ever since i did my intake manifold stuffs just been doing down hill. Someone told me i might be having a tuning issue but im not to sure on that. When your code comes up is it confirmed ? Ill erase the codes then when i shut her down and start her back up they come back instantly or they will be on within the next 5 minutes.
Rich04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 01:54 PM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
Rich04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Queens
Region: New York
Posts: 470
Bumpp
Rich04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 02:40 PM   #16
Registered Member
Regular
 
98GTCONV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Raleigh
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 521
I had those same two codes at the same time a few months ago. It was bad O2 sensors
98GTCONV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 02:42 PM   #17
Registered Member
Regular
 
Rich04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Queens
Region: New York
Posts: 470
How much they run you?
Rich04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 03:32 PM   #18
Registered Member
Regular
 
98GTCONV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Raleigh
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 521
Like $140 for both. Easy install.
98GTCONV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 04:43 PM   #19
Registered Member
Regular
 
BigB227's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: West Palm Beach
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,120
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich04 View Post

cam position sensor, is it by the power steering reservoir?
Yes that would be the one
BigB227 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 08:20 PM   #20
Registered Member
Regular
 
Rich04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Queens
Region: New York
Posts: 470
Should i try that first, this only started happening rite after i cleaned my k&n filter and cleaned my TB with carb cleaner. Cleaned the mass air flow after then just switched it cleaned the ICA valve ran sea foam threw the intake and gas tank then changed the fuel filter
Rich04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



05:58 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.