Muffler swap ? - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 04-23-2013, 06:59 AM   #1
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Mississippi
Muffler swap ?

On my 02 GT with longtubes and no cats I have a flow master cat back... It's quiet it looks like it was made for an suv a shop said so being 18 and broke I am thinkin of just changing up the mufflers. The ones on there are offsets so could a shop put a straight through muffler like pypes m-80s and still have the exhaust run out the back like normal ?
Scream is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-23-2013, 07:45 AM   #2
Registered Member
Regular

Region: New Jersey
A muffler shop can do basically anything just how much they will charge but for the most part you could cut the mufflers out and yea just weld or clamp new muffler in the same place especially if they are the same size of not you may have to add a little or cut a little pipe to make them fit. If you want something louder look into lm1 or lm2 resonators they will be much louder I have the lm2 now the lm1 were too raspy lol but they will clamp on to your existing pipe if you have 2.5 inch piping.
GReese87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 12:24 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular

Sweet I was quoted 80-100 $
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-23-2013, 12:38 PM   #4
Staff
Regular
Staff

Just FYI, all the 94-04 mufflers are offsets and a flowmaster catback should have come with flowmaster mufflers which are anything but quiet.

Also, louder does not = better. I had a 91 with flowmaster 40 series in it with no cats and my ears would ring after a highway drive in that thing...
scottydsntknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 12:50 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular

I have no cats and longtubes its not. Loud I think they were made for an suv
Old 04-23-2013, 01:03 PM   #6