Hooking up amp - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 05-27-2013, 05:19 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
shawn.velez36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Fort Worth
Region: Texas
Posts: 461
Hooking up amp

Anyone know how to connect an amp to the ignition?
shawn.velez36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-27-2013, 05:20 PM   #2
Registered User
Newbie
 
Promackiller34's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Fort Worth
Region: Texas
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by shawn.velez36 View Post
Anyone know how to connect an amp to the ignition?
Hi
Promackiller34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 05:22 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
shawn.velez36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Fort Worth
Region: Texas
Posts: 461
Quote:
Originally Posted by Promackiller34 View Post

Hi
Your an idiot!
shawn.velez36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-27-2013, 05:24 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
v8pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Monmouth County, New Jersey
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 2,201
Quote:
Originally Posted by shawn.velez36 View Post

Your an idiot!
Lmao looks like we may just have one of those "join up, post 50 random/pointless posts, get the AM discount and bounce" type of guys lol..
__________________
2002 5spd GT
Feb 2013 Mustang of the Month
v8pony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 05:26 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
shawn.velez36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Fort Worth
Region: Texas
Posts: 461
Quote:
Originally Posted by NJstanger View Post

Lmao looks like we may just have one of those "join up, post 50 random/pointless posts, get the AM discount and bounce" type of guys lol..
Nah lol he's my friend, just being dumb
shawn.velez36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 05:45 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
v8pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Monmouth County, New Jersey
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 2,201
Quote:
Originally Posted by shawn.velez36 View Post

Nah lol he's my friend, just being dumb
Lol hahaha cool just making sure, have seen many of them pop up lately, any luck with that amp? My Mach 460 gave me such a headache that I said screw it and had somebody make it all right for me, good luck with it..
__________________
2002 5spd GT
Feb 2013 Mustang of the Month
v8pony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 05:46 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
shawn.velez36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Fort Worth
Region: Texas
Posts: 461
Quote:
Originally Posted by NJstanger View Post

Lol hahaha cool just making sure, have seen many of them pop up lately, any luck with that amp? My Mach 460 gave me such a headache that I said screw it and had somebody make it all right for me, good luck with it..
No, we have hooked up everything else just can't get it hooked up to the ignition....don't even know where to start. Probably just going to take it to best buy and have them do it.
shawn.velez36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 06:34 PM   #8
Staff
Regular
Staff
 
scottydsntknow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Andalusia, Spain
Region: Europe
Posts: 16,793
Ewww eff those hack jobs at Best Buy. Not sure what you are trying to do, all the plugs should mate up unless you are looking to do something with the wiring. Maybe I am missing something. Or you could just delete the Mach system as even a basic good aftermarket headunit and speakers with the factory crap amp bypassed will sound better.
__________________
2000 Mustang GT Steeda #0048 34k miles. 99 Cobra 4V swapped, FTBR IRS swapped, exhaust, tuned by James Gordon.

Just because I give you advice, doesn't mean I know more than you. Its just means I've done more stupid ****.
scottydsntknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 07:17 PM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
Slow4V's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Sa
Region: Alabama
Posts: 2,208
Just the the amp kit , comes with eveything you need

Easy install and gives directions
Slow4V is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 07:28 PM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
MidnightBlueGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Charlotte
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 3,887
^ probably one of the easiest ways there are other alternatives though.
Lol that kids post made me laugh.
MidnightBlueGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 07:32 PM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
Mustang2004Gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Tampa
Region: Florida
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by NJstanger View Post

Lmao looks like we may just have one of those "join up, post 50 random/pointless posts, get the AM discount and bounce" type of guys lol..
Wait you get a discount after getting 50 posts?
Mustang2004Gt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 07:34 PM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
MidnightBlueGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Charlotte
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 3,887
Yes, once you get there pm one of the am guys
MidnightBlueGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 09:52 AM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
shawn.velez36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Fort Worth
Region: Texas
Posts: 461
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slow4V View Post
Just the the amp kit , comes with eveything you need

Easy install and gives directions
Well I have installed everything else, just need to connect the wire to the ignition
shawn.velez36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 10:59 AM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Oklahoma
Posts: 32
So your trying to hook up the (REM), the wire that turns your amp on when you turn your key, from your amp? Factory or aftermarket head unit? Do you have the mach 460? Aftermarket radios have a wire on the back of them for this, usually blue. With the Mach 460, on the back of the radio, try connecting to the black/pink wire.
__________________
2011 Grabber Blue GT
Boss intake, BBK o/r x-pipe, Bama tune, Pypes axle backs, AM short throw shifter, AEM CAI
Gixx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 04:22 PM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
shawn.velez36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Fort Worth
Region: Texas
Posts: 461
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gixx View Post
So your trying to hook up the (REM), the wire that turns your amp on when you turn your key, from your amp? Factory or aftermarket head unit? Do you have the mach 460? Aftermarket radios have a wire on the back of them for this, usually blue. With the Mach 460, on the back of the radio, try connecting to the black/pink wire.
Yes! I have the Mach 460. Black/pink huh ill give that a try. Thanks alot man!!
shawn.velez36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 04:28 PM   #16
Registered Member
Regular
 
Mfore33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Murfreesboro
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 540
If you have a multimeter use it to find the ignition on hot side of a fuse over 15 amp and use a tab connector
Mfore33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 08:47 PM   #17
Staff
Regular
Staff
 
scottydsntknow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Andalusia, Spain
Region: Europe
Posts: 16,793
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfore33 View Post
If you have a multimeter use it to find the ignition on hot side of a fuse over 15 amp and use a tab connector
Just use a probe light for that honestly. I'd run an inline fuse though.
__________________
2000 Mustang GT Steeda #0048 34k miles. 99 Cobra 4V swapped, FTBR IRS swapped, exhaust, tuned by James Gordon.

Just because I give you advice, doesn't mean I know more than you. Its just means I've done more stupid ****.
scottydsntknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 09:04 PM   #18
Registered Member
Regular
 
shawn.velez36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Fort Worth
Region: Texas
Posts: 461
Ok I have it wired to my ignition now, but my amp isn't getting any power (before y'all ask, yes it is connected to the battery). Think it might be the fuse but not sure...
shawn.velez36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 03:05 AM   #19
Registered Member
Regular
 
Mfore33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Murfreesboro
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 540
You have to connect the remote wire as well
Mfore33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 03:21 AM   #20
Registered Member
Regular
 
Slow4V's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Sa
Region: Alabama
Posts: 2,208
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfore33 View Post
You have to connect the remote wire as well
Run the remote wire to a fuse that only turns on power when you turn the key on
Slow4V is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 08:59 AM   #21
Registered Member
Regular
 
shawn.velez36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Fort Worth
Region: Texas
Posts: 461
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slow4V View Post

Run the remote wire to a fuse that only turns on power when you turn the key on
Can someone describe how to do that? I'm kind of a rookie when it comes to wiring :/
shawn.velez36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 10:15 AM   #22
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Oklahoma
Posts: 32
You should have a ground wire, from the amp to bare metal in your trunk. You should have a power wire run from your amp to the positive side of your battery. And you should run a remote wire from your amp to the black and pink wire behind your radio.
__________________
2011 Grabber Blue GT
Boss intake, BBK o/r x-pipe, Bama tune, Pypes axle backs, AM short throw shifter, AEM CAI
Gixx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 12:05 PM   #23
Registered Member
Regular
 
shawn.velez36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Fort Worth
Region: Texas
Posts: 461
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gixx View Post
You should have a ground wire, from the amp to bare metal in your trunk. You should have a power wire run from your amp to the positive side of your battery. And you should run a remote wire from your amp to the black and pink wire behind your radio.
Oh nvm I have done all that already. Still no juice in the amp
shawn.velez36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 06:08 PM   #24
Registered Member
Regular
 
shawn.velez36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Fort Worth
Region: Texas
Posts: 461
I think i found my problem
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3494408839.jpg
Views:	83
Size:	423.8 KB
ID:	111061  
shawn.velez36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



02:47 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.