Transmission - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 06-17-2013, 07:59 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
Sn96's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Hickory
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 72
Transmission

Whenever I put my trans in first gear with the o/d off it making a whining noise. Has anyone else had this problem or could anyone help me out? This car is turning into nothing but problems for me..
Sn96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-17-2013, 08:39 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
Kevo91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Magna
Region: Utah
Posts: 298
Is it an automatic? And ya I hear ya, my 98 is becoming a money pit
Kevo91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2013, 09:41 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
Venomouz831's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Seaside
Region: California
Posts: 8,133
It's auto, manual doesn't have an overdrive button
__________________
)02 Gt, Founder of WE2G
Venomouz831 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-17-2013, 09:50 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
Sn96's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Hickory
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 72
Yeah it's auto.
Sn96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2013, 09:50 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
Kevo91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Magna
Region: Utah
Posts: 298
I figured. Haven't been in an auto mustang...
Kevo91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2013, 09:52 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
Venomouz831's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Seaside
Region: California
Posts: 8,133
So are you saying that with the o/d on it doesn't make the sound?
__________________
)02 Gt, Founder of WE2G
Venomouz831 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2013, 10:07 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
Sn96's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Hickory
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 72
Nope sure doesn't. And sometimes when I get on the as it will like squeal going into the next gear.
Sn96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2013, 10:10 PM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
Kevo91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Magna
Region: Utah
Posts: 298
Check your trans fluid, sounds like your torque converter may be going bad
Kevo91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2013, 10:28 PM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
Sn96's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Hickory
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 72
Also I noticed when I had the car on the lift that there was a hole that looks like it should be plugged that is on the trans. I can see up into it and see like a big gear in it.
Sn96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2013, 10:39 PM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
Kevo91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Magna
Region: Utah
Posts: 298
Im trying to picture that exactly. Have a pic by chance? Transfer case plug maybe...whatever it is thats not good if anything got up in there
Kevo91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2013, 10:56 PM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
Sn96's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Hickory
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 72
I'll get a picture first thing in the morning.
Sn96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2013, 11:09 PM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
Kevo91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Magna
Region: Utah
Posts: 298
Yeah hopefully you didnt get dirt or a rock or something in there. If its the plug your trans fluid is probably gone or really low, does it have any issues shifting?
Kevo91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 12:57 AM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Missouri
Region: Missouri
Posts: 71
Torque converter.
BlackStang00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 09:29 AM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
Sn96's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Hickory
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 72
Trans is full with fluid ill get a picture of the hole up soon.
Sn96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 10:30 AM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
H.Doofenshmirtz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Queensland
Region: Australia
Posts: 267
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sn96 View Post
...ill get a picture of the hole up soon.
Sorry, i couldn't resist
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	images.jpg
Views:	64
Size:	8.0 KB
ID:	114595  
__________________
No work and no pony makes Doof a dull boy...
H.Doofenshmirtz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 10:37 AM   #16
Staff
Regular
Staff
 
scottydsntknow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: JB MDL
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 16,592
That is probably a dust plug that should be there, or the plug for draining the converter. You can have the trans full of fluid but the converter will still have the same old crap fluid in it. You need to drain that separately or you can flush it using the trick of running it in drive with the feed line to the cooler off and in a bucket while you add fluid to the trans until the fluid runs clean and then turn it off. I did this method to my expy and it really cleaned up the fluid/shifts.
__________________
2000 Mustang GT Steeda #0048

Just because I give you advice, doesn't mean I know more than you. Its just means I've done more stupid ****.
scottydsntknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 11:28 AM   #17
Registered Member
Regular
 
Sn96's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Hickory
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottydsntknow View Post
That is probably a dust plug that should be there, or the plug for draining the converter. You can have the trans full of fluid but the converter will still have the same old crap fluid in it. You need to drain that separately or you can flush it using the trick of running it in drive with the feed line to the cooler off and in a bucket while you add fluid to the trans until the fluid runs clean and then turn it off. I did this method to my expy and it really cleaned up the fluid/shifts.
I have no idea how to do that. Would it be better to let my shop do it for me?
Sn96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 07:48 PM   #18
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Missouri
Region: Missouri
Posts: 71
Not true you must have gotten a placebo effect because your trans pump is constantly replenishing the fluid throughout trans your converter acts up replace it dont waste your time, trans flush is what they're going to do at any shop which is just in line with cooler no better than dropping filter and putting new fluid you can argue that fact but have fun proving it
BlackStang00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 10:34 PM   #19
Registered Member
Regular
 
Sn96's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Hickory
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 72
So you are saying I should just replace the tc?
Sn96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 10:39 PM   #20
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Missouri
Region: Missouri
Posts: 71
Have a real trans tech diag it and then do what he says I can't see or here anything over computer if you were in Missouri I'd diag it free
BlackStang00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 10:46 PM   #21
Registered Member
Regular
 
Sn96's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Hickory
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 72
Wish I had more people around here that do it for free.
Sn96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 11:05 PM   #22
Registered Member
Regular
 
Kevo91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Magna
Region: Utah
Posts: 298
Yeah man id just replace your torque converter and get it over with. If its worn it will tear up your transmission seal and it wont hold fluid. Unless you someone with a hoist or have one of those 'do it yourself' shops around then your looking at about $800 for labor and about $200 for the TC give or take a few bucks
Kevo91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 11:10 PM   #23
Registered Member
Regular
 
Kevo91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Magna
Region: Utah
Posts: 298
Well def have it diagnosed (soon if your tc is going) like stated above before jumping right into what us on the forums say because ultimately we are staring at a screen and cant see/hear it in person lol
Kevo91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 07:37 AM   #24
Registered Member
Regular
 
Sn96's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Hickory
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 72
Haha yeah I will take it up there after school and hopefully they will tell me it isn't my converter because I don't have the money to replace that thing right now..
Sn96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 07:45 AM   #25
Registered Member
Regular
 
Kevo91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Magna
Region: Utah
Posts: 298
I hear ya man we just had to get it done on my wifes DOHC taurus and thats how much it was, had to take out a loan to pay for it. Labor might be less for a rwd if the transmission is easier to drop
Kevo91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 08:04 AM   #26
Registered Member
Regular
 
Sn96's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Hickory
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 72
Has anyone done this job themselves? I have a few buddies that are good with cars and I know my way a little around cars, how hard is the job to do?
Sn96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 08:50 AM   #27
Registered Member
Regular
 
Kevo91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Magna
Region: Utah
Posts: 298
Not really that hard, just time consuming. The transmissiob has to be dropped so theres no way without a hoist
Kevo91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 09:54 AM   #28
Registered Member
Regular
 
Sn96's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Hickory
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 72
Gotcha, I'm just not trying to spend all that money if me and some buddies could do it. One of my buddies actually has one so I could talk to him and see if he'd help me.
Sn96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 10:05 AM   #29
Registered Member
Regular
 
Kevo91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Magna
Region: Utah
Posts: 298
For sure! Does your school have an auto shop?
Kevo91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 11:50 AM   #30
Registered Member
Regular
 
Sn96's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Hickory
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 72
Honestly I can't say, I don't think they do but I'm not going for mechanics.
Sn96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 12:06 AM   #31
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Missouri
Region: Missouri
Posts: 71
Once trans is out takes bout thirty seconds to put converter on
BlackStang00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



11:15 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.