what is this? - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 06-22-2013, 02:10 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
9tee7pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Radford
Region: Virginia
Posts: 673
what is this?

I was digging around under my dash by the pedals, there is a whole story to that, and I found a black box, maybe 5 by 4 inches at most. It was unplugged and it had what looked like a main power plug in and 2 other plug ins for who knows what. When I plugged it in it began ticking like once every second (oh *****). This might be the culprit of my draining battery though. I think I might take it to an audio shop or somewhere like that.
9tee7pony is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-22-2013, 03:22 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
BigB227's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: West Palm Beach
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,120
Quote:
Originally Posted by 9tee7pony View Post
I was digging around under my dash by the pedals, there is a whole story to that, and I found a black box, maybe 5 by 4 inches at most. It was unplugged and it had what looked like a main power plug in and 2 other plug ins for who knows what. When I plugged it in it began ticking like once every second (oh *****). This might be the culprit of my draining battery though. I think I might take it to an audio shop or somewhere like that.
I have the same thing under my dash, it's a black box by the driver side faux pedal. Don't know what it is or what it does but it's there. I might be a hookup for an aftermarket alarm system because I have a tiny bulb underneath my headlight switch but nothing behind the bulb lol so nothing's hooked up
BigB227 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 03:25 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
9tee7pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Radford
Region: Virginia
Posts: 673
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigB227 View Post

I have the same thing under my dash, it's a black box by the driver side faux pedal. Don't know what it is or what it does but it's there. I might be a hookup for an aftermarket alarm system because I have a tiny bulb underneath my headlight switch but nothing behind the bulb lol so nothing's hooked up
I don't have the light, but something makes my battery die after 3-4 days if I don't drive it. It also has a little red button down near there.
9tee7pony is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-22-2013, 03:39 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
BigB227's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: West Palm Beach
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,120
Quote:
Originally Posted by 9tee7pony View Post

I don't have the light, but something makes my battery die after 3-4 days if I don't drive it. It also has a little red button down near there.
Mm very wired idk man

---------- Post added at 04:39 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:39 PM ----------

Might want to check your alternator as well
BigB227 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 03:51 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
2000 Mustang Gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Amarillo
Region: Texas
Posts: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigB227 View Post

Mm very wired idk man

---------- Post added at 04:39 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:39 PM ----------

Might want to check your alternator as well
I was thinking it could be the battery? That's pretty much what my car did when the battery crapped out.
2000 Mustang Gt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 03:57 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
540i6e39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Sacramento
Region: California
Posts: 155
Alarm??
540i6e39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 03:58 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
9tee7pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Radford
Region: Virginia
Posts: 673
It sure isn't either one because I've had both tested and they were fine.

---------- Post added at 04:58 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:57 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by 540i6e39 View Post
Alarm??
That's what I'm thinking, but I don't want to rip anything out because who knows what they did putting it in.
9tee7pony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 04:03 PM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
540i6e39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Sacramento
Region: California
Posts: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by 9tee7pony View Post
It sure isn't either one because I've had both tested and they were fine.

---------- Post added at 04:58 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:57 PM ----------



That's what I'm thinking, but I don't want to rip anything out because who knows what they did putting it in.
Are you sure its not one of those voltage stabilizer things off ebay. Look for a part number and call a ford dealer or Google it.
540i6e39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 04:57 PM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
9tee7pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Radford
Region: Virginia
Posts: 673
here are some pics of it.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20130622_174340.jpg
Views:	133
Size:	67.0 KB
ID:	115163   Click image for larger version

Name:	20130622_174350.jpg
Views:	121
Size:	109.0 KB
ID:	115164  

Click image for larger version

Name:	20130622_174359.jpg
Views:	122
Size:	78.7 KB
ID:	115165   Click image for larger version

Name:	20130622_174414.jpg
Views:	122
Size:	82.6 KB
ID:	115166  

9tee7pony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 05:06 PM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
540i6e39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Sacramento
Region: California
Posts: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by 9tee7pony View Post
here are some pics of it.
Weird. Just sent a pic to a buddy. Are you sure its not to the instrument cluster. Try to follow the wires or check the Chiltons.
540i6e39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 05:18 PM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
9tee7pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Radford
Region: Virginia
Posts: 673
Quote:
Originally Posted by 540i6e39 View Post

Weird. Just sent a pic to a buddy. Are you sure its not to the instrument cluster. Try to follow the wires or check the Chiltons.
It appears that it goes under the steering column, then I can't see from there.
9tee7pony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 05:25 PM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
540i6e39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Sacramento
Region: California
Posts: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by 9tee7pony View Post

It appears that it goes under the steering column, then I can't see from there.
Just sent another pic to my buddy. What year car
540i6e39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 05:43 PM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
9tee7pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Radford
Region: Virginia
Posts: 673
Quote:
Originally Posted by 540i6e39 View Post

Just sent another pic to my buddy. What year car
1997, and thanks for all the help.
9tee7pony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 05:51 PM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
540i6e39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Sacramento
Region: California
Posts: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by 9tee7pony View Post

1997, and thanks for all the help.
Ok its either a windshield wiper control, its for the instrument cluster or its a gps tracking device. Usually put on by a finance company.
540i6e39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 06:00 PM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
9tee7pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Radford
Region: Virginia
Posts: 673
Quote:
Originally Posted by 540i6e39 View Post

Ok its either a windshield wiper control, its for the instrument cluster or its a gps tracking device. Usually put on by a finance company.
I doubt that it is the windshield wiper control because they work just fine, and it seems really light for a gps, unless there is something else somewhere.
9tee7pony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 06:02 PM   #16
Registered Member

Regular
 
Ubnbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Tazewell
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 3,532
If u unplug it does everything still work right?
__________________
Tint, louvers, Shelby brake light cover, sequentials, brake vent ring delete, Shorty antenna, JLT cold air intake, BAMA tune, VMP 2.5 S/C pulley, Ford racing shifter, MRT OR-H, SLP loudmouths, BMR adj PHB, BMR LCA, Eibach Pro-Kit, cobra jet big oval TB.
Ubnbit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 06:04 PM   #17
Registered Member
Regular
 
540i6e39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Sacramento
Region: California
Posts: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ubnbit View Post
If u unplug it does everything still work right?
Good question
540i6e39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 06:06 PM   #18
Registered Member
Regular
 
9tee7pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Radford
Region: Virginia
Posts: 673
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ubnbit View Post
If u unplug it does everything still work right?
I've never had it plugged in since I bought it a year ago, and it started ticking when I did plug it in. So I unplugged it.
9tee7pony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 06:07 PM   #19
Registered Member
Regular
 
540i6e39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Sacramento
Region: California
Posts: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by 9tee7pony View Post

I've never had it plugged in since I bought it a year ago, and it started ticking when I did plug it in. So I unplugged it.
Maybe its a bomb
540i6e39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 06:09 PM   #20
Registered Member

Regular
 
Ubnbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Tazewell
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 3,532
No part numbers or anything?
__________________
Tint, louvers, Shelby brake light cover, sequentials, brake vent ring delete, Shorty antenna, JLT cold air intake, BAMA tune, VMP 2.5 S/C pulley, Ford racing shifter, MRT OR-H, SLP loudmouths, BMR adj PHB, BMR LCA, Eibach Pro-Kit, cobra jet big oval TB.
Ubnbit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 06:10 PM   #21
Registered Member
Regular
 
540i6e39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Sacramento
Region: California
Posts: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ubnbit View Post
No part numbers or anything?
Thats what I asked too lol
540i6e39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 06:13 PM   #22
Registered Member
Regular
 
9tee7pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Radford
Region: Virginia
Posts: 673
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ubnbit View Post
No part numbers or anything?
It has 3 stickers, one says qc certified, which is just quality control, one is too faded to read anything, and the other one says 6 A 7
9tee7pony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 06:18 PM   #23
Registered Member
Regular
 
540i6e39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Sacramento
Region: California
Posts: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by 9tee7pony View Post

It has 3 stickers, one says qc certified, which is just quality control, one is too faded to read anything, and the other one says 6 A 7
Could be for a cd changer.
540i6e39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 06:25 PM   #24
Registered Member
Regular
 
9tee7pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Radford
Region: Virginia
Posts: 673
Quote:
Originally Posted by 540i6e39 View Post

Could be for a cd changer.
It could, but it seems so far away for something like that. There is plenty or room in the dash where the stereo is to put something like that.
9tee7pony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 06:40 PM   #25
Registered Member
Regular
 
540i6e39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Sacramento
Region: California
Posts: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by 9tee7pony View Post

It could, but it seems so far away for something like that. There is plenty or room in the dash where the stereo is to put something like that.
Yeah but its by the radio and the lines could go to the trunk.
I have no clue what it is but if it ain't broke then don't fix it lol
540i6e39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 12:02 PM   #26
Registered Member
Regular
 
9tee7pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Radford
Region: Virginia
Posts: 673
I stopped by a audio/alarm shop and they said it is a super old school alarm system. I'm having them rip it out now.
9tee7pony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 07:18 PM   #27
Registered Member
Regular
 
Vmcgrath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Eprise
Region: Alabama
Posts: 354
Quote:
Originally Posted by 9tee7pony View Post
I stopped by a audio/alarm shop and they said it is a super old school alarm system. I'm having them rip it out now.
Glad you figured it out it was puzzling me
Vmcgrath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 08:30 PM   #28
Registered Member

Regular
 
Ubnbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Tazewell
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 3,532
Lol. Thank god. I was still wondering myself.
__________________
Tint, louvers, Shelby brake light cover, sequentials, brake vent ring delete, Shorty antenna, JLT cold air intake, BAMA tune, VMP 2.5 S/C pulley, Ford racing shifter, MRT OR-H, SLP loudmouths, BMR adj PHB, BMR LCA, Eibach Pro-Kit, cobra jet big oval TB.
Ubnbit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 09:01 PM   #29
Registered Member
Regular
 
9tee7pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Radford
Region: Virginia
Posts: 673
And apparently when they put it in they disconnected the power door locks, so now those work.
9tee7pony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 09:04 PM   #30
Registered Member
Regular
 
1996v6stang's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: San diego
Region: California
Posts: 811
Did they charge u anything to rip it out? I have some **** like this under my dash
1996v6stang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 09:12 PM   #31
Registered Member
Regular
 
BigB227's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: West Palm Beach
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,120
Quote:
Originally Posted by 9tee7pony View Post
And apparently when they put it in they disconnected the power door locks, so now those work.
No kidding?? My power door locks don't work either and I have one of those stupid boxes under my dash
BigB227 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 02:23 PM   #32
Registered Member
Regular
 
9tee7pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Radford
Region: Virginia
Posts: 673
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1996v6stang View Post
Did they charge u anything to rip it out? I have some **** like this under my dash
They charged me $45 (1/2 hour labor) to do it, which was worth the money to me cuz I didn't know what it was or what else they could have wired it through.
9tee7pony is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



12:33 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.