AOD Trans - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 08-29-2013, 08:20 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
theweekday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: houston
Region: Texas
Posts: 569
AOD Trans

Can someone please explain to me what
"fully built" auto transmission is and what it consist of? Im trying to build one in my 00GT, and I already know about the j-mod
theweekday is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-29-2013, 08:50 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
jhherndon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Richmond
Region: Virginia
Posts: 147
My guess is all new clutches, converter, shift kit etc. but what is the j mod? I've heard it mentioned on here and I have an aod as well
__________________
2004 Mustang GT
Sonic Blue Auto w/ Full Bolt On's
Quarter Mile - ?? Never Run
jhherndon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 10:23 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
kickerofdoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Region: Maryland
Posts: 1,868
You have a 4r70w trans and a j mod is like a shift kit allows quicker shift by making the holes bigger and a built one is like has a new tc and some internal stronger clutches
kickerofdoom is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-29-2013, 10:33 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
theweekday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: houston
Region: Texas
Posts: 569
So the automatic have clutches? I swear I thought they didn't
theweekday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 10:36 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
BigB227's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: West Palm Beach
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,120
Quote:
Originally Posted by theweekday View Post
So the automatic have clutches? I swear I thought they didn't
They do, I believe there called band clutches
BigB227 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 10:55 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
Mile high JDF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Thronton
Region: Colorado
Posts: 5,989
Quote:
Originally Posted by theweekday View Post
So the automatic have clutches? I swear I thought they didn't
Automatics have a very different set of clutches compared to a manual transmission.
__________________
Sold - Black 2000 Mustang GT, gone but definitely not forgotten
- Silver 2007 Corvette
Current - DHG 2001 Bullitt
Mile high JDF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 11:35 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
theweekday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: houston
Region: Texas
Posts: 569
Besides the shift kits that AM sells. Is there anything else that us AOD ppl can do or get to have faster shifts?
theweekday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2013, 02:44 AM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,291
Quote:
Originally Posted by theweekday View Post
Besides the shift kits that AM sells. Is there anything else that us AOD ppl can do or get to have faster shifts?
Do you have aftermarket cams ? A upgraded valve body.
southernstang00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2013, 08:22 AM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
Semerollin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Gadsden
Region: Alabama
Posts: 53
Get a tuner if you don't already have one. You can also use the Lucas Trans Fix. The Lucas will thicken your fluid enough to raise shift pressure. Careful with the Lucas, only use about half a quart. And make damn sure your car is at operating temp and running when you add the Lucas.
Semerollin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2013, 09:26 AM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
theweekday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: houston
Region: Texas
Posts: 569
Quote:
Originally Posted by southernstang00 View Post

Do you have aftermarket cams ? A upgraded valve body.
I'm working in getting a new valve body and no cams just yet. I heard that the stock converter can't handle cams

---------- Post added at 09:26 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:25 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Semerollin View Post
Get a tuner if you don't already have one. You can also use the Lucas Trans Fix. The Lucas will thicken your fluid enough to raise shift pressure. Careful with the Lucas, only use about half a quart. And make damn sure your car is at operating temp and running when you add the Lucas.
That stuff actually works? Someone in another thread said the something
theweekday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2013, 09:55 AM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
BigB227's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: West Palm Beach
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,120
Quote:
Originally Posted by theweekday View Post

I'm working in getting a new valve body and no cams just yet. I heard that the stock converter can't handle cams

---------- Post added at 09:26 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:25 AM ----------



That stuff actually works? Someone in another thread said the something
If upgrading to stage 2 cams or bigger then a bigger stall converter is needed. It also requires a dyno tune for both so they go hand in hand
BigB227 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2013, 09:59 AM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
Semerollin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Gadsden
Region: Alabama
Posts: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by theweekday View Post

I'm working in getting a new valve body and no cams just yet. I heard that the stock converter can't handle cams

---------- Post added at 09:26 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:25 AM ----------



That stuff actually works? Someone in another thread said the something
I have used it a lot through the years and love it. Some people will say otherwise. The only thing to remember is not to use to much and only add it to a hot/warm trans.
Semerollin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2013, 10:03 AM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
theweekday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: houston
Region: Texas
Posts: 569
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigB227 View Post

If upgrading to stage 2 cams or bigger then a bigger stall converter is needed. It also requires a dyno tune for both so they go hand in hand
Well the cams I was gonna get from this performance shop told me the ones they use are custom built and need a better converter so it won't cut off at the light and etc

---------- Post added at 10:03 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:02 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Semerollin View Post

I have used it a lot through the years and love it. Some people will say otherwise. The only thing to remember is not to use to much and only add it to a hot/warm trans.
I'll go get some later and let you know it plays out
theweekday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2013, 02:08 PM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,291
Quote:
Originally Posted by theweekday View Post

I'm working in getting a new valve body and no cams just yet. I heard that the stock converter can't handle cams

---------- Post added at 09:26 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:25 AM ----------



That stuff actually works? Someone in another thread said the something
When I put my cams in I had to get a 2800 stall converter. Its not that it cant handle it but its the stall speed of the stock converter. Those two alone made a difference. Far as the Lucas, I put a bottle in every time I change my fluid because I sub a bottle of Lucas for one bottle of reg trans fluid. it does allow it to shift smoother but I didn't see a big difference nor did I have a issue. The biggest difference you will see is getting a tuner because you can change the shift pressure and points.
southernstang00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2013, 05:31 PM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
theweekday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: houston
Region: Texas
Posts: 569
Well I have a tuner I just never played with the other functions cause I'm scared that ill mess something up
theweekday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2013, 05:39 PM   #16
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,291
Quote:
Originally Posted by theweekday View Post
Well I have a tuner I just never played with the other functions cause I'm scared that ill mess something up
I mean I wouldn't go outrageous on it but increase it slowly and you will be okie. Or take it to a near speed shop and see if they will help ya out. When I had my tuned they did all of that , if you have a problem coming about with the trans it doesn't matter if you change things or not it will show.
southernstang00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2013, 05:48 PM   #17
Registered Member
Regular
 
theweekday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: houston
Region: Texas
Posts: 569
You got some detail instructions on how to?
theweekday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2013, 06:15 PM   #18
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,291
Quote:
Originally Posted by theweekday View Post
You got some detail instructions on how to?
To change the shift points and etc ?
southernstang00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2013, 06:39 PM   #19
Registered Member
Regular
 
theweekday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: houston
Region: Texas
Posts: 569
Yep
theweekday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2013, 06:47 PM   #20
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,291
Quote:
Originally Posted by theweekday View Post
Yep
Normally when you start the tuner up and go to the tuning section and you go to change options you do it in there. It will say shift points and followed after that it will say shift firmness or pressure. I don't have my tuner or car right now so I can't go look and give you exact directions. When you want to change it you will increase it by one each time.
southernstang00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2013, 06:49 PM   #21
Registered Member
Regular
 
theweekday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: houston
Region: Texas
Posts: 569
-____- that's it, I feel so stupid. What about the regular tune that's program
theweekday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2013, 06:51 PM   #22
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,291
Quote:
Originally Posted by theweekday View Post
-____- that's it, I feel so stupid. What about the regular tune that's program
Far as the reg turn I'm sure you still can run it and still change the options. I have honestly never used that section because all of my tunes have been custom.
southernstang00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2013, 06:55 PM   #23
Registered Member
Regular
 
theweekday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: houston
Region: Texas
Posts: 569
Yeah mines is too that's why I was scared
theweekday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2013, 08:03 PM   #24
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,291
Quote:
Originally Posted by theweekday View Post
Yeah mines is too that's why I was scared
Oh ok well try that before doing anything else.
southernstang00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



01:37 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.