Tty bolts? - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 09-17-2013, 07:17 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
Mustang_Madness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Fairchild AFB
Region: Washington
Posts: 686
Tty bolts?

Is it fine to use them 1 more time once ive pulled them out? For cams and head bolts and such? Thanks
__________________
K&N CAI, Cobra 18" Rims, Cobra Brakes, More Mods to come!
Mustang_Madness is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-17-2013, 07:52 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Salinas
Region: California
Posts: 7,417
Titty bolts? Yes. You can usually reuse them.
straybullitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 07:56 PM   #3
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
lowflyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Region: Mississippi
Posts: 19,890
Send a message via AIM to lowflyn
Quote:
Originally Posted by straybullitt
Titty bolts? Yes. You can usually reuse them.
Uh...no.

Tty means torque to yield.

Always, always buy new ones. You are torquing these bolts to the breaking point.
__________________
"I'm not driving too fast...just flying too low"
Mine:
-03 SB Cobra vert- 2552 of 5082 Born 02/25/03
Our's:
90 7up vert - new project-07 DSG Focus -DD
335
lowflyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-17-2013, 07:59 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Salinas
Region: California
Posts: 7,417
Oops my bad...
No

If the plastic has deformed you can NOT reuse them...

Sorry about that...
straybullitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 08:04 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Salinas
Region: California
Posts: 7,417
Quote:
Originally Posted by lowflyn View Post
Uh...no.

Tty means torque to yield.

Always, always buy new ones. You are torquing these bolts to the breaking point.
Damn your quick...
straybullitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 08:29 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
Roguestang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Tampa
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,516
I knew a guy who re-used his tty head bolts after I told him not to. Needless to say 4 days after he got it put together, the head gaskets started leaking like crazy. What was a 50.00 part for new bolts ended up costing him 800.00 for new parts and labor to fix his problem.

Moral of the story:

Never ever ever re-use "tty" anything.
__________________
2000 Mustang GT-Former giggle gas addict
1990 Mustang GT w/ Vortech V3

***resident gun idiot***
Roguestang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 08:06 AM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
Mzilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Region: Georgia
Posts: 598
Never reuse TTY bolts twice especially head bolts. Spend the extra money and at least buy the basic ARP head bolts. I use all ARP 2000 pro series studs with 12pt nuts.
Ford Oem $50.00
ARP 8740 $312.00
ARP 2000 $415.00
Remember these are insurance. I got these prices from Mod max
Mzilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 09:59 AM   #8
Staff
Regular
Staff
 
scottydsntknow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: JB MDL
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 16,599
Don't even mess with bolts, get head STUDS. And yeah TTY bolts are a one use item.
__________________
2000 Mustang GT Steeda #0048

Just because I give you advice, doesn't mean I know more than you. Its just means I've done more stupid ****.
scottydsntknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 10:02 AM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
Mustang_Madness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Fairchild AFB
Region: Washington
Posts: 686
Alright. I heard you could just once but i think I'll spend the money. After what I've spent so far, 50$ isn't much. Haha thanks yall!
__________________
K&N CAI, Cobra 18" Rims, Cobra Brakes, More Mods to come!
Mustang_Madness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 10:05 AM   #10
Staff
Regular
Staff
 
scottydsntknow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: JB MDL
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 16,599
Um, for a modular try more like $300 for ARP stuff. Lol $50... you can't even get header studs for that...

And find whoever told you you could re-use TTY bolts and give them a good swift kick in the taint.
__________________
2000 Mustang GT Steeda #0048

Just because I give you advice, doesn't mean I know more than you. Its just means I've done more stupid ****.
scottydsntknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 10:07 AM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
Mustang_Madness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Fairchild AFB
Region: Washington
Posts: 686
I'm saying for OEM bolts. They'll probably be a bit more but oh well. I'll get the arp studs or bolts or whatever they are, later on. Probably when i build up my other engine I'll have them. It's alot for just 20 bolts!
__________________
K&N CAI, Cobra 18" Rims, Cobra Brakes, More Mods to come!
Mustang_Madness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 10:09 AM   #12
Staff
Regular
Staff
 
scottydsntknow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: JB MDL
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 16,599
Well make damn sure you don't have to pull the head back off or you'll be buying all new bolts again. That's the beauty of ARP stuff and its a lot for them because they are effing crazy *** strong pieces.
__________________
2000 Mustang GT Steeda #0048

Just because I give you advice, doesn't mean I know more than you. Its just means I've done more stupid ****.
scottydsntknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 10:12 AM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
Mustang_Madness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Fairchild AFB
Region: Washington
Posts: 686
Definitely. Next question. A 99 crown Vic engine is going in my mustang. Can i buy 99 mustang fel pro bolts for it or do i need crown Vic bolts?
__________________
K&N CAI, Cobra 18" Rims, Cobra Brakes, More Mods to come!
Mustang_Madness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 11:06 AM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
Roguestang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Tampa
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,516
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mustang_Madness View Post
Definitely. Next question. A 99 crown Vic engine is going in my mustang. Can i buy 99 mustang fel pro bolts for it or do i need crown Vic bolts?
If I remember correctly, I swaped a 98' grand Marquis 4.6 into my buddys 99'. We used the 99' bolts, but you can double check the part number. Should be the same.
__________________
2000 Mustang GT-Former giggle gas addict
1990 Mustang GT w/ Vortech V3

***resident gun idiot***
Roguestang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 11:16 AM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
Mustang_Madness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Fairchild AFB
Region: Washington
Posts: 686
Thanks man i 'preciate it
__________________
K&N CAI, Cobra 18" Rims, Cobra Brakes, More Mods to come!
Mustang_Madness is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



10:10 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.