Installing aftermarket head unit help - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 10-05-2013, 06:11 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
Kbasham5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Brownsville
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 27
Installing aftermarket head unit help

Just purchased a Pioneer FH-X700BT stereo for my 2001 Mustang Gt with the Mach 460 system. What else do I need to get to get it working properly? Thanks in advance for the help.
Kbasham5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-05-2013, 06:11 PM   #2
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: grande prairie
Region: Canada
Posts: 495
wire harness to connect to your stock one and to your pioneer one
Mustangman705 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2013, 06:29 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
Kbasham5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Brownsville
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 27
Where can I get a wire harness?
Kbasham5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-05-2013, 06:46 PM   #4
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: grande prairie
Region: Canada
Posts: 495
walmart
Mustangman705 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2013, 06:52 PM   #5
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: grande prairie
Region: Canada
Posts: 495
looks like this ... E2 Car Stereo Wiring Connector for 1994 and up Ford Vehicles | Canadian Tire just cut the green and white connectors off, tape up those wires... then wire your new pioneer wire harness, wire to wire on this one... then clip it into the wire harness inside your dash, and the black one u put the silver square plug inside ur dash into it... hope that makes sence
Mustangman705 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2013, 07:34 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
Kbasham5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Brownsville
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 27
I think I understand. Lol
Kbasham5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2013, 08:40 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
Kbasham5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Brownsville
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mustangman705 View Post
looks like this ... E2 Car Stereo Wiring Connector for 1994 and up Ford Vehicles | Canadian Tire just cut the green and white connectors off, tape up those wires... then wire your new pioneer wire harness, wire to wire on this one... then clip it into the wire harness inside your dash, and the black one u put the silver square plug inside ur dash into it... hope that makes sence
Will the amps and everything work when using that harness?
Kbasham5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2013, 11:59 PM   #8
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: grande prairie
Region: Canada
Posts: 495
yup, that's the only harness that will work btw ... im pretty sure that square metal one is for the amps
Mustangman705 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 12:02 AM   #9
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: grande prairie
Region: Canada
Posts: 495
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mustangman705 View Post
yup, that's the only harness that will work btw ... im pretty sure that square metal one is for the amps
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	wire2.jpg
Views:	1328
Size:	907.4 KB
ID:	131601  
Mustangman705 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 09:49 AM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
Xtrosity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Dublin, CA
Region: California
Posts: 79
The RCAs will give a signal to the woofers and you head unit powers the highs. What I did with mine was set a high pass on the highs and set the woofers to sub. I have an appradio 3 though, but most of pioneers head units it's allow you to do this. This was the best sound I could get out of the stock mach 460. Best bet is to replace everything when you have the time and money. The only problem I'm having is finding a good set of 5x7/6x8 components for the front. All I ever come up with is kicker... Best of luck to your install. Like someone said earlier make sure to wire the remotes together to turn the woofer amps on or else you won't have any bass.
Xtrosity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 10:11 AM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
Kbasham5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Brownsville
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xtrosity View Post
The RCAs will give a signal to the woofers and you head unit powers the highs. What I did with mine was set a high pass on the highs and set the woofers to sub. I have an appradio 3 though, but most of pioneers head units it's allow you to do this. This was the best sound I could get out of the stock mach 460. Best bet is to replace everything when you have the time and money. The only problem I'm having is finding a good set of 5x7/6x8 components for the front. All I ever come up with is kicker... Best of luck to your install. Like someone said earlier make sure to wire the remotes together to turn the woofer amps on or else you won't have any bass.
Ok. You just completely lost me. I'm not very knowledgable when it comes to stereos.
Kbasham5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 10:15 AM   #12
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: grande prairie
Region: Canada
Posts: 495
just do what I said man and you will have your stereo working great.. its pretty straight forward once you get the wire harness... I included a pic of inside the dash to show you what plugs you need... ignore the rest
Mustangman705 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 11:09 AM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
Xtrosity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Dublin, CA
Region: California
Posts: 79
Once you get the harness, you will see what we mean. Almost all aftermarket radios use the same color pattern, so you just connect all the wires from the stereo to the harness and plug the harness into the stock connectors show in the pic. The high pass and sub settings are for after you have it all Plugged in and working. They are located in the settings of the radio. The working harness will have 2 blacks (ground) and 2 green (remote) wires. Connect the two blacks together and the two greens together and use that for your ground and remote wire off of the radios wires. Once you actually look at it, it will all make sense.

---------- Post added at 08:09 AM ---------- Previous post was at 08:04 AM ----------

You will also need a dash kit to install the stereo as well.
Xtrosity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2014, 11:16 PM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
UNDERWORLD778's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Kissimmee
Region: Florida
Posts: 21
What about the Orange cable used for the radio signal


Sent from my SGH-T599N using Mustang Evolution mobile app
UNDERWORLD778 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2014, 09:23 AM   #15
Staff
Regular
Staff
 
scottydsntknow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: JB MDL
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 16,588
The antenna will plug into its own separate port. God damn I hate the Mach system in these cars to the point that I prefer the non Mach460/1000 equipped ones. Single amp to bypass and no crazy *** wiring to deal with when gutting the Mach system and installing something that actually sounds good.
__________________
2000 Mustang GT Steeda #0048

Just because I give you advice, doesn't mean I know more than you. Its just means I've done more stupid ****.
scottydsntknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2014, 12:58 PM   #16
Registered Member
Regular
 
Grimace96's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Valdosta
Region: Georgia
Posts: 123
Go to Crutchfield.com and talk to someone. Tell them you know you need a bypass for the Mach system and they'll know which one you need for your car. If you don't get a bypass then aftermarket stereos won't play through the amplifier.
Grimace96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2014, 02:58 PM   #17
ME Bloodhound
Staff
 
Soccerluvr4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sacramento/Bay Area
Region: California
Posts: 14,672
I did a Pioneer X4500BT unit in my Mach 460, the wiring wasn't too hard. Just had to follow the instructions.
__________________

Bullitt build paused pending graduation

HID end all thread
Soccerluvr4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



07:35 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.