Dash Gauge Setup - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 11-27-2013, 11:16 AM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
escottcarp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Jackson
Region: Mississippi
Posts: 365
Dash Gauge Setup

Has anyone used the Autometer Dual Dash Pod to install gauges on the dashboard? It looks like the pillar gauge pods are popular, but I'd like to put a few gauges in the middle of the dash for easy viewing.

The Autometer product looks good by itself. I can't find quality pics of it actually installed. Maybe, there are other ways to install gauges.

Please post any pics. Thanks.
escottcarp is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-27-2013, 07:59 PM   #2
Staff
Regular
Staff
 
scottydsntknow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: JB MDL
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 16,598
I did it in my 95 but I need to dig through like 20 pages of photobucket. One thing I did learn is if you are going to run mechanical gauges dont' run a braided line for the oil, it won't fit right past the cluster. The piece itself fits very well, looks great and installs really easily.
__________________
2000 Mustang GT Steeda #0048

Just because I give you advice, doesn't mean I know more than you. Its just means I've done more stupid ****.
scottydsntknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2013, 10:52 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
escottcarp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Jackson
Region: Mississippi
Posts: 365
Thanks. Did you have to drill a hole in the dash to install it?
escottcarp is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-28-2013, 09:45 PM   #4
Staff
Regular
Staff
 
scottydsntknow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: JB MDL
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 16,598
It installs without any drilling or anything. Uses the stock holes.
__________________
2000 Mustang GT Steeda #0048

Just because I give you advice, doesn't mean I know more than you. Its just means I've done more stupid ****.
scottydsntknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2013, 10:49 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
escottcarp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Jackson
Region: Mississippi
Posts: 365
Ok. No holes are required on the models prior to 1999. Mine is an '02. Looks like I'd need to drill a hole to mount the pod since I don't have the clock mounted on the dash.
escottcarp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 09:15 AM   #6
Staff
Regular
Staff
 
scottydsntknow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: JB MDL
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 16,598
Wait I thought you meant the CLUSTER pod lol. I personally would not run the autometer pod at all. Florida 5.0 makes a much nicer one but I also would not drill a hole in the dash. Get a pillar or cluster pod or put them somewhere else.

Florida 5.0 pod

__________________
2000 Mustang GT Steeda #0048

Just because I give you advice, doesn't mean I know more than you. Its just means I've done more stupid ****.
scottydsntknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 04:49 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
escottcarp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Jackson
Region: Mississippi
Posts: 365
Florida 5.0 is redesigning their dash pod. Their current design works with the 94-98 models. Maybe, they will have a new model fir the 98-04 models that attaches without drilling holes in the dash. I can wait.

Thanks for introducing Florida 5.0.
escottcarp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 05:27 PM   #8
Staff
Regular
Staff
 
scottydsntknow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: JB MDL
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 16,598
Eh, my 98 has a hole for it. I've got a 95 dash pad haha.
__________________
2000 Mustang GT Steeda #0048

Just because I give you advice, doesn't mean I know more than you. Its just means I've done more stupid ****.
scottydsntknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 06:07 PM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
andyr421's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Region: Illinois
Posts: 58
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2122653616.jpg
Views:	217
Size:	445.7 KB
ID:	139218 I have My boost And voltage elsewhere but the boost is not used since there is nothing to charge it with. You could consider some other location say on the top left like the RPM Gauge that is on the right in the picture above.
__________________
4.6L V8 1998 Mustang GT 155kmiles
andyr421 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 09:00 PM   #10
Staff
Regular
Staff
 
scottydsntknow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: JB MDL
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 16,598
Here's what I had on my 95 Cobra. If I ever get off my *** and get aftermarket gauges for the 98 like I should I'm probably going to do it again.

__________________
2000 Mustang GT Steeda #0048

Just because I give you advice, doesn't mean I know more than you. Its just means I've done more stupid ****.
scottydsntknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 11:32 PM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
Milehigh BKR's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Denver
Region: Colorado
Posts: 768
How do those RPM gauges work?
Milehigh BKR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 11:39 PM   #12
Staff
Regular
Staff
 
scottydsntknow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: JB MDL
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 16,598
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackedOutBKR View Post
How do those RPM gauges work?
You mean the tach? Variety of ways. If you have an ignition box you can bug off that, you can bug into the stock signal. There are directions and a million how tos if you use the Google. She knows much.
__________________
2000 Mustang GT Steeda #0048

Just because I give you advice, doesn't mean I know more than you. Its just means I've done more stupid ****.
scottydsntknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 11:40 PM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
Milehigh BKR's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Denver
Region: Colorado
Posts: 768
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottydsntknow View Post
You mean the tach? Variety of ways. If you have an ignition box you can bug off that, you can bug into the stock signal. There are directions and a million how tos if you use the Google. She knows much.
But isn't it just a gauge that you can set to a desired RPM and then flashed at you when you hit that RPM?
Milehigh BKR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 11:48 PM   #14
Staff
Regular
Staff
 
scottydsntknow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: JB MDL
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 16,598
That's called a shift light.
__________________
2000 Mustang GT Steeda #0048

Just because I give you advice, doesn't mean I know more than you. Its just means I've done more stupid ****.
scottydsntknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 11:57 PM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
andyr421's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Region: Illinois
Posts: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottydsntknow View Post
Here's what I had on my 95 Cobra. If I ever get off my *** and get aftermarket gauges for the 98 like I should I'm probably going to do it again.
That's a really nice setup.
__________________
4.6L V8 1998 Mustang GT 155kmiles
andyr421 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 11:58 PM   #16
Registered Member
Regular
 
Milehigh BKR's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Denver
Region: Colorado
Posts: 768
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottydsntknow View Post
That's called a shift light.
Yeah that. I never saw the point in getting one
Milehigh BKR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2013, 12:07 AM   #17
Registered Member
Regular
 
87LX306's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Cleveland Burbs
Region: Ohio
Posts: 201
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackedOutBKR View Post

Yeah that. I never saw the point in getting one
Never built a strip car I take it
87LX306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2013, 12:22 AM   #18
Registered Member
Regular
 
Milehigh BKR's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Denver
Region: Colorado
Posts: 768
Quote:
Originally Posted by 87LX306 View Post
Never built a strip car I take it
Nope. Sorry. Just turned 18 and my mustang is the first sports car I've owned.
Milehigh BKR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2013, 08:05 AM   #19
Staff
Regular
Staff
 
scottydsntknow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: JB MDL
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 16,598
You don't want to be looking at a needle when you are trying to control a big power car... Or just driving in general really.
__________________
2000 Mustang GT Steeda #0048

Just because I give you advice, doesn't mean I know more than you. Its just means I've done more stupid ****.
scottydsntknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2013, 11:38 AM   #20
Registered Member
Regular
 
Milehigh BKR's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Denver
Region: Colorado
Posts: 768
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottydsntknow View Post
You don't want to be looking at a needle when you are trying to control a big power car... Or just driving in general really.
Makes sense. I just go by my exhaust.. When it's loudest at 2000rpms is when it shift.
Milehigh BKR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2013, 02:47 PM   #21
Registered Member
Regular
 
v8pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Monmouth County, New Jersey
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 2,201
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackedOutBKR View Post
Makes sense. I just go by my exhaust.. When it's loudest at 2000rpms is when it shift.
You shift at 2k? Wow I'll have camrys and corollas on my a$$ or flying by me when I'm trying to shift at 2k..
__________________
2002 5spd GT
Feb 2013 Mustang of the Month
v8pony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2013, 03:16 PM   #22
Registered Member
Regular
 
escottcarp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Jackson
Region: Mississippi
Posts: 365
I shift around 2000, also. I get good fuel mileage and I don't abuse the car. If I'm really in a hurry, I shift around 2100 rpm!😜😜😜😜😜
escottcarp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2013, 03:48 PM   #23
Registered Member
Regular
 
v8pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Monmouth County, New Jersey
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 2,201
Quote:
Originally Posted by escottcarp View Post
I shift around 2000, also. I get good fuel mileage and I don't abuse the car. If I'm really in a hurry, I shift around 2100 rpm!dde1cdde1cdde1cdde1cdde1c
That's just crazy talk. ITS A MUSTANG!
__________________
2002 5spd GT
Feb 2013 Mustang of the Month
v8pony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2013, 04:00 PM   #24
Registered Member
Regular
 
04sonicbgt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Jacksonville
Region: Florida
Posts: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by v8pony View Post
You shift at 2k? Wow I'll have camrys and corollas on my a$$ or flying by me when I'm trying to shift at 2k..
yeah I tryed shifting at 2k and about got run over by a ups truck, needless to say I shift a little higher than 2k now :p
__________________
Sonic blue 04 GT~~bolt ons- headers, steeda tri ax, hi tech stage 2 cams coming this winter.
04sonicbgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2013, 04:15 PM   #25
Registered Member
Regular
 
v8pony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Monmouth County, New Jersey
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 2,201
Quote:
Originally Posted by 04sonicbgt View Post
yeah I tryed shifting at 2k and about got run over by a ups truck, needless to say I shift a little higher than 2k now :p
Oh yea lol I shift about 3k everytime
__________________
2002 5spd GT
Feb 2013 Mustang of the Month
v8pony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2013, 01:39 PM   #26
Staff
Regular
Staff
 
scottydsntknow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: JB MDL
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 16,598
PPl shifting at 2k obviously have the stock gearsets as well, I usually shift closer to 3k when I am just grandma driving it and that's with 3.73s. Might go up to 4.10s honestly.
__________________
2000 Mustang GT Steeda #0048

Just because I give you advice, doesn't mean I know more than you. Its just means I've done more stupid ****.
scottydsntknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2013, 01:57 PM   #27
Registered Member
Regular
 
Roguestang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Tampa
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,516
I shift around 3K and I've got 4.10's. Sometimes I shift at 5.5k too.........
__________________
2000 Mustang GT-Former giggle gas addict
1990 Mustang GT w/ Vortech V3

***resident gun idiot***
Roguestang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2013, 02:25 PM   #28
Staff
Regular
Staff
 
scottydsntknow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: JB MDL
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 16,598
I used to powershift at 6500+ when I had really low mileage T-5s in my 91 and 95. Have never been able to replicate those shifts with the TKO/T-45/3650 or even the T-56. Really making me consider putting a 94/95 style T-5 behind my modular if I stay stick.
__________________
2000 Mustang GT Steeda #0048

Just because I give you advice, doesn't mean I know more than you. Its just means I've done more stupid ****.
scottydsntknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2013, 02:54 PM   #29
Registered Member
Regular
 
Milehigh BKR's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Denver
Region: Colorado
Posts: 768
Yeah I have stock gears still.. Plus I get better mpg when I shift around 2k. If I'm in a hurry it's closer to 2500-3000. Although I just got my mid pipe put on so I tend to shift at higher rpms just to hear the exhaust. Haha
Milehigh BKR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2013, 02:54 PM   #30
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Gardena
Region: California
Posts: 1,305
When I drove all my manual cars I always shifted at 3. That's just how I learned lol. Until I got used to it and just shifted by ear. Than I would get it spot on every time without ever having to look at the tach
KoolPwny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2013, 08:32 PM   #31
Staff
Regular
Staff
 
scottydsntknow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: JB MDL
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 16,598
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackedOutBKR View Post
Yeah I have stock gears still.. Plus I get better mpg when I shift around 2k. If I'm in a hurry it's closer to 2500-3000. Although I just got my mid pipe put on so I tend to shift at higher rpms just to hear the exhaust. Haha
Lol if I'm in a hurry she's seeing 5K+ routinely and a lot of up/downshifting to fling the car around corners all the better.
__________________
2000 Mustang GT Steeda #0048

Just because I give you advice, doesn't mean I know more than you. Its just means I've done more stupid ****.
scottydsntknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2013, 08:43 PM   #32
Registered Member
Regular
 
escottcarp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Jackson
Region: Mississippi
Posts: 365
This has turned out to be a fun post. BTW, does anyone have gauges in a pod on the dash? If so, how does your pod mount?
escottcarp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2013, 08:48 PM   #33
Staff
Regular
Staff
 
scottydsntknow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: JB MDL
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 16,598
Quote:
Originally Posted by escottcarp View Post
This has turned out to be a fun post. BTW, does anyone have gauges in a pod on the dash? If so, how does your pod mount?
Honestly, the autometer one that goes here mounts like ****. Its not flush with the dash at all.

Like so:



This is why I always recommend the Florida 5.0 unit or just leave it stock. Maybe I'm OCD but I'm not putting something that looks like that in my car.
__________________
2000 Mustang GT Steeda #0048

Just because I give you advice, doesn't mean I know more than you. Its just means I've done more stupid ****.
scottydsntknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2013, 09:05 PM   #34
Registered Member
Regular
 
Milehigh BKR's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Denver
Region: Colorado
Posts: 768
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottydsntknow View Post
Lol if I'm in a hurry she's seeing 5K+ routinely and a lot of up/downshifting to fling the car around corners all the better.
Haha mine hasn't seen 5K in awhile
Milehigh BKR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2013, 10:06 PM   #35
Registered Member
Regular
 
Slow4V's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Sa
Region: Alabama
Posts: 2,208
I shift at 4k a lot lmao just because I don't care

Shifting just depends on my mood ..

Calm
In a hurry
Racing
Pissed off
About to piss my pants
Tired
Sore

There's a lot of different driver mods I have lol
Slow4V is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



08:19 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.