1996 gt gets warmer then usual - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 01-02-2014, 01:08 PM   #1

Region: Arizona
1996 gt gets warmer then usual

Im new to the 96 gt and so far im pretty pleased with this car my only worry is its running alittle hotter then it should, when im at a stoplight or stop sign it will get up to the M and then the fan kicks on and it cools down and its fine while im driving also I noticed that water is being pushed out from the rad cap,got a new rad cap for it but made things worse as in pushing more water out then it should,with the stock rad cap only alittle water comes out

Now my question is what could it be I was thinkn water pump but like I said it runs good and has never over heated on me ive also replaced the thermostat, ive done all the basic checks for signs of bad head gaskets and wrapped heads and everything is fine, one thing ive heared about the 96 gts was a recall on the radiators but im super tight on money so any ideas suggestions would be more then helpful thank you and god bless
96gt420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-02-2014, 01:54 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Alabama
Why don't you drain the coolant and bleed the cooling system for starters , and get a new T stat

---------- Post added at 02:54 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:53 PM ----------

Water pumps usually don't go bad.. Unless it's cracked around the housing or obviously leaking.
Slow4V is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2014, 07:20 PM   #3

How do you bleed the system like I said im new to this year and model of stang stupid question I know, I've sprayed the outside of the radiator out with water to free it of dirt and road debris also what are your thoughts on a aftermarket radiator I live in az.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement