TRUNK BUTTON - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 03-25-2014, 08:13 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
FullyAutomatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Automatic
Region: Mexico
Posts: 941
TRUNK BUTTON

I was just thinking about a time when my buddy saw me push the trunk pop button located in the glove box and was shocked.. he also had a new edge and had never seen this before..
I know you all must know about it but this thread is to see who doesn't or how long it took you to locate it
FullyAutomatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-25-2014, 09:18 PM   #2
ME Bloodhound
Staff
 
Soccerluvr4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sacramento/Bay Area
Region: California
Posts: 14,672
Quote:
Originally Posted by FullyAutomatic View Post
I was just thinking about a time when my buddy saw me push the trunk pop button located in the glove box and was shocked.. he also had a new edge and had never seen this before..
I know you all must know about it but this thread is to see who doesn't or how long it took you to locate it

Yea it's a weird place, but I found it pretty quickly.
__________________

Bullitt build paused pending graduation

HID end all thread
Soccerluvr4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2014, 09:42 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
cliffyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,001
It's in the Owner's Manual--download one from Ford here...
__________________
SOLD! - 2003 GT, UPR X, FRPP 24lb/h, Magnaflow, PP 70mm TB & plenum, Delta Force tuned,
Steeda UDPs, Ralco flywheel, RAM HDX clutch, 3.73s, 262 rwHP/305 lb-ft.

New ride (7/1/2013) 1998 Mercedes SL500-5.0L 32V VVT 326/347 HP/tq
cliffyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-25-2014, 10:04 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
comporange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: glen burnie
Region: Maryland
Posts: 880
I never did or would understand why it's in the glove box
comporange is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2014, 01:24 AM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Salinas
Region: California
Posts: 7,415
I used to think that the trunk button was kind of outdated and redundant with the remote entry key fobs on modern cars today (It was cool in the 60's!)... That is, until I tried to open the trunk with the engine running, using the key fob remote... It doesn't work when the key is in the ignition.

It all made perfect sense to me after that!

Except... HOW DOES IT KNOW THAT THE KEY IS IN THE IGNITION?!?!!???
straybullitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2014, 06:05 AM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
V6 stang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Texas
Posts: 2,252
TRUNK BUTTON

Quote:
Originally Posted by straybullitt View Post
I used to think that the trunk button was kind of outdated and redundant with the remote entry key fobs on modern cars today (It was cool in the 60's!)... That is, until I tried to open the trunk with the engine running, using the key fob remote... It doesn't work when the key is in the ignition.

It all made perfect sense to me after that!

Except... HOW DOES IT KNOW THAT THE KEY IS IN THE IGNITION?!?!!???

Doesn't the chip in the key tell you the car that the keys in the ignition?

Or maybe it's a feature that it doesn't actually know the key is there but if the motor is running at all then the key fob doesn't work. Just some thoughts.
__________________
"Hp sells cars, Tq wins races" - Carroll Shelby... RIP
2012 Mustang GT Convertible
Roush Exhaust

2003 Mustang GT (Sold)
1999 35th Anniversary V6(SOLD)
V6 stang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2014, 07:39 AM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
Jgrummz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 104
Haha ive had my 03 for like two moths and ive been wondering why there isnt a trunk button in there this whole time lol now i know
Jgrummz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2014, 12:27 PM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Salinas
Region: California
Posts: 7,415
Quote:
Originally Posted by V6 stang View Post
Doesn't the chip in the key tell you the car that the keys in the ignition?

Or maybe it's a feature that it doesn't actually know the key is there but if the motor is running at all then the key fob doesn't work. Just some thoughts.
Yeah, it has to be something like that.
I'll experiment, a bit, with it when I get a chance.

'Cause I'm curious like that...
straybullitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2014, 12:34 PM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
comporange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: glen burnie
Region: Maryland
Posts: 880
Off subject: quick question does anyone know how much for a new key and does it have to be programmed
comporange is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2014, 12:41 PM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Salinas
Region: California
Posts: 7,415
Haha.
I was just thinking, "I should go get a second key made for my car today".
I only have the one so I believe that I need to go to the dealer to get another one made and programmed.
I'm not sure about the cost.
straybullitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2014, 12:54 PM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
comporange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: glen burnie
Region: Maryland
Posts: 880
Quote:
Originally Posted by straybullitt View Post
Haha.
I was just thinking, "I should go get a second key made for my car today".
I only have the one so I believe that I need to go to the dealer to get another one made and programmed.
I'm not sure about the cost.

Lol right, this subject made me think about it as well. I only have 1 key also. I'm go to the dealer this weekend and find out
comporange is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2014, 01:16 PM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
V6 stang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Texas
Posts: 2,252
Quote:
Originally Posted by comporange View Post
Off subject: quick question does anyone know how much for a new key and does it have to be programmed

New keys have a chip in them, and will cost around 80-120$
__________________
"Hp sells cars, Tq wins races" - Carroll Shelby... RIP
2012 Mustang GT Convertible
Roush Exhaust

2003 Mustang GT (Sold)
1999 35th Anniversary V6(SOLD)
V6 stang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2014, 01:17 PM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
comporange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: glen burnie
Region: Maryland
Posts: 880
Quote:
Originally Posted by V6 stang View Post
New keys have a chip in them, and will cost around 80-120$

Ok that's not to bad I'm hoping my dealer is around the 80 mark. Thanks
comporange is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2014, 02:00 PM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
V6 stang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Texas
Posts: 2,252
Np. That was a few years ago when I got mine for about 90$ so hopefully it's around the same or even lower.
__________________
"Hp sells cars, Tq wins races" - Carroll Shelby... RIP
2012 Mustang GT Convertible
Roush Exhaust

2003 Mustang GT (Sold)
1999 35th Anniversary V6(SOLD)
V6 stang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2014, 03:47 PM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
Alerotaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Currently in Lawrenceburg
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 193
Walmart sells them now..

Walmart sell the keys programed now. AND you dont have to have all your keys with you.
I had two made one at a time. I think they are about 60$ plus tax.
Alerotaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2014, 04:39 PM   #16
Registered Member
Regular
 
comporange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: glen burnie
Region: Maryland
Posts: 880
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alerotaz View Post
Walmart sell the keys programed now. AND you dont have to have all your keys with you.

I had two made one at a time. I think they are about 60$ plus tax.

Really I didn't know that
comporange is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2014, 04:49 PM   #17
Registered Member
Regular
 
FullyAutomatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Automatic
Region: Mexico
Posts: 941
if they do it wrong will set off pats
FullyAutomatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
05-09 Trunk Release Button 05bluestang 2005-2010 Mustang GT 21 08-13-2016 11:44 AM
1995 trunk release button Cp3 Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 10 03-19-2012 08:25 PM
05 trunk release button obxdude018 Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 4 06-09-2010 11:46 PM
how to install a trunk button in 05-09 mustang hottcobra 2005-2010 Mustang GT 2 05-06-2009 01:29 PM
Trunk Button?! Dark04ShadowV6 2005-2010 Mustang GT 12 05-01-2009 02:29 PM

» Like Us On Facebook



01:23 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.