Oxygen sensor - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 05-22-2014, 08:23 PM   #1
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Altamont
Region: Kansas
Posts: 4
Oxygen sensor

I have an 03 mustang gt that had warped heads, so I bought an 01 mustang engine from a salvage yard and put it in. I kept my electrical harness from my 03 engine and transferred it to the 01 engine. I also bought a CAI to put on the engine as well. When I was hooking the CAI up, I noticed I didn't have an oxygen sensor. The car is also starting to run like crap. Could this be because of the o2 sensor?

I'm a young guy wanting to learn and become a mechanic someday. Thank you for all your help
StangGang44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-22-2014, 08:55 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
Grimace96's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Valdosta
Region: Georgia
Posts: 123
I think it just causes it to run too rich without the o2 sensor. I could be wrong though. Could have the opposite effect. I'm still new to this too.
Grimace96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2014, 09:23 PM   #3
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Altamont
Region: Kansas
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grimace96 View Post
I think it just causes it to run too rich without the o2 sensor. I could be wrong though. Could have the opposite effect. I'm still new to this too.
I can smell gas much more now than what I could before. I just don't understand the HP loss though. But I think it is running too rich
StangGang44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-22-2014, 09:26 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
Grimace96's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Valdosta
Region: Georgia
Posts: 123
Yeah. You're rich. Invest in a sensor before you clog your cats and piss off Mother Nature lol.
Grimace96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2014, 01:53 AM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Salinas
Region: California
Posts: 7,418
When you say that you don't have an oxygen sensor do you mean that there is nothing in the hole where the O2 sensor should be?
If that is the case, yes, that will for sure make your car run like crap!
There are four O2 sensors on these cars and I'm assuming that the one that you noticed was an "upstream" O2 sensor... The two upstreams are the critical ones.

Make sure that you plug it in all the way when you install it.
straybullitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2014, 09:11 AM   #6
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Altamont
Region: Kansas
Posts: 4
Yes there's a hole that nothing goes in on my CAI that i assume is the o2 sensor. I'll get one of those as soon as possible. Thanks guys!
StangGang44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2014, 10:52 AM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
BigB227's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: West Palm Beach
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,120
Your cold air intake does not have o2 sensors, some CAIs have a hole that's used by earlier mustangs before 2002 I think. if it's what I think your referring to then it's a useless hole for the 03 GTs, plug it up. O2 sensors are in your exhaust (exhaust manifolds and mid pipe) you throwing any codes? The only thing your cold air intake should have is a mass air flow sensor and housing
BigB227 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2014, 10:22 PM   #8
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Altamont
Region: Kansas
Posts: 4
It says the o2 sensors are my problem. That's what the code reads anyways. Another guy said I need to get new cat converters cause mine are clogged. Could this be the problem to why my o2 sensors are reading bad and the car has no hp.
StangGang44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2014, 10:38 PM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Salinas
Region: California
Posts: 7,418
What is the code?
straybullitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2014, 10:44 PM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
BigB227's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: West Palm Beach
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,120
Well yes you need new upstream O2s but I was saying that your CAI does not contain your oxygen sensors. I might have misunderstood you but I just wanted to clear that up for you. I had the same codes as well and car ran like crap, replaced O2 and BAM just like new
BigB227 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2014, 10:53 PM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Salinas
Region: California
Posts: 7,418
Did I miss something?

If you post the code, OP, it will be easier for us to help you diagnose your problem.
straybullitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where is the bank 2 sensor 1 oxygen sensor located? BIG R 2005-2010 Mustang GT 2 10-04-2013 05:46 PM
Signs of a bad oxygen sensor 04machazblue 1979-1995 Mustang GT 33 01-24-2012 05:10 PM
oxygen sensor kickerofdoom Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 5 12-06-2011 08:09 AM
oxygen sensor/ harness sullystang Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 9 02-01-2010 11:15 AM
99 cobra oxygen sensor harness mustang41122 1996-2004 Mustang GT 2 08-21-2009 03:14 PM

» Like Us On Facebook



08:46 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.