Stupid integrated bellhousing trannies... 3650 swap done...almost - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 05-24-2014, 07:04 PM   #1
Staff
Regular
Staff

Region: New Jersey
Stupid integrated bellhousing trannies... 3650 swap done...almost

First off, I have never done THIS swap before and this is my first modular. Every single thread I read on this (and I read alot) stated that for the crossmember I would only have to notch a useless metal tab on the trans housing itself and my stock crossmember and mount would work. Well... nope. Just had to drop $160 on a Stiffler's tubular adjustable crossmember designed for t-45s or a swapped 3650 in 96-98 GTs. Cobra might work because the crossmember is moved back already.

Anyway, cut off that metal tab which is pissing me off because I wouldn't have to if I'd had the right crossmember and a new mount beforehand. Its not going to hurt it but I'm OCD and I need to get back under there and smooth it flush to the housing. At any rate I DID have to cut it to rig in the stock setup with like 4 stacked thick washers to shim it up enough to clear and then nurse the car home from the lift vibrating the whole way from it being pressed up into the tunnel and the DS being way out of alignment. Blah.

As far as the swap itself... I really REALLY don't like this integrated bellhousing crap but it is what it is. I had to put a tripod jack under the front of the pan and get the motor tilted as far as it could physically go to BARELY get the 3650 in but it did go. Exhaust pipe was easy to remove because nothing under there is corroded at all, DS came right out etc... if it wasn't for the goddamn crossmember I'd have been in and out in 4 hours.

Yay...