1999 gt motor swap with 2003 gt - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 06-16-2014, 11:29 PM   #1

Region: Canada
1999 gt motor swap with 2003 gt

Hey Guys, I'm a newbie and I was wondering if anyone can tell me if there is any problems putting a 2003 4.6 donor engine into a 1999 gt.I picked up the 1999 gt with a 4.6 Windsor [ cheap] with a knock in the lower end and have found two replacement engines. one is a 2003 gt with 120 km the othe is a 96gt with 95 km. Will both of these bolt in without changing a pile of stuff or is one a better fit
mustangdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-16-2014, 11:40 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Colorado
Both will fit. The 96 will be under powered unless you swap the heads/cams/intake from the 99 motor onto it. The flywheels are different between the 99 and 03. One is a six bolt and the other is eight. It's possible to swap them, just make sure you have the correct flywheel and clutch
Mile high JDF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2014, 12:41 AM   #3
Registered Member
Regular

Region: California
If you use the earlier (96) short block with the later (99-04) PI heads, you'll have an engine that has around 10.5:1 compression ratio versus the 9.4:1 of the 99-04 PI engine.
Higher CR=More Horsepower.
straybullitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-17-2014, 01:32 AM   #4

Thanks for the replies, under powered isn't such a bad thing as I'm giving the car to my sonSO either will fit pretty well. Which would you say is the better engine?The 2 are about the same price but the 96 come with a 5 speed but the 03 has a couple month warrenty, decision decisons.