Car stalls when I stop really fast - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 07-06-2014, 11:40 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
rollo1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Fort Irwin
Region: California
Posts: 271
Car stalls when I stop really fast

So I changed the IAC on my mustang. 2003 GT automatic. Now when I rev fast the car won't stall. But if I'm driving at 50 mph and stop really fast it will stall before I get to a full stop. Going to try the TPS sensor next. Any suggestions


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
rollo1987 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-07-2014, 02:06 AM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Salinas
Region: California
Posts: 7,415
If you got that IAC from AutoZone, or the like there is a good possibility of it being defective right out of the box.
Id use an IAC that is manufactured by Hitachi or Motorcraft only.
Also, when you replace the IAC, you need to disconnect the battery for about 15 minutes so that it will clear the computer's memory and it can then relearn the correct idle trim with the new IAC.
straybullitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2014, 02:10 AM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
rollo1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Fort Irwin
Region: California
Posts: 271
I got the part from rock auto. I didn't know about disconnecting battery. I will try that before getting a TPS. The car is running better than before. So that's good.


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
rollo1987 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-07-2014, 05:28 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
rollo1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Fort Irwin
Region: California
Posts: 271
So I tried to disconnect battery. Didn't work. I just got the TPS so let's pray it works.


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
rollo1987 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2014, 10:36 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Salinas
Region: California
Posts: 7,415
So how did it go?
You need to do the battery disconnect when changing the TPS, and all of the other sensors as well.
straybullitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2014, 03:24 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
rollo1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Fort Irwin
Region: California
Posts: 271
So te TPS broke while
Installing both the new and old. Is there a special way to instal it.


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
rollo1987 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2014, 03:36 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Salinas
Region: California
Posts: 7,415
You need to get the tabs that are inside of the TPS to slide over the shaft on the throttle body. You may need to rotate the TPS backwards, or counter-clockwise, initially so that the tabs slide over the flat spots on the throttle shaft. Once it's all of the way in, the TPS will be right up against the throttle body and THEN you can put the screws in and tighten it down.
straybullitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2014, 03:41 PM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
rollo1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Fort Irwin
Region: California
Posts: 271
I had it that way. Did exactly that. When I was tightening screws heard a snap in the TPS


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
rollo1987 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2014, 03:46 PM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Salinas
Region: California
Posts: 7,415
Well it wasn't all of the way on the shaft. When it's on right, it will be tight against the TB and can't break the way you just described.
DO NOT TIGHTEN IT IF IT ISN'T!
straybullitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2014, 03:59 PM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Salinas
Region: California
Posts: 7,415
And I got the rotation backwards...

You'll probably have to rotate the TPS clockwise, or towards the back of the car to get it on the shaft.
You'll feel it go on. You can also move the throttle a little while you are putting it on. It will be tight up against the TB with no gap. You shouldn't have to tighten the screws to close the gap.
straybullitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2014, 04:55 PM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 128
Like the others said, the key way on the TPS wasn't lined up with the shaft. You'll probably have to rotate the TPS (before you put the bolts in) about 1/8 turn to get it to drop in. Then maintain pressure with your hand on the TPS pushing it towards the throttle body so the shaft doesn't slip out and turn the TPS till the bolt holes line up. Insert the bolts and tighten lightly. Once you are sure it's seated correctly, snug up the bolts.

The other thing is, they might have sold you the wrong TPS.
Some cars use a TPS that rotates clockwise and others counter clockwise.
I forget what Mustang is but they both look the same. The only difference is which way the wiper inside the TPS is supposed to turn.
Just something to check.
vert03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2014, 05:08 PM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Salinas
Region: California
Posts: 7,415
Yes.^
Take a look at the inside of the TPS where it slides onto the throttle shaft, and look at the throttle shaft itself. That will give you a good idea of how it fits and how you'll have to rotate it.
straybullitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2014, 07:54 PM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
rollo1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Fort Irwin
Region: California
Posts: 271
Yea I'm in az right now. Have to get a new one then when I get back try again


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
rollo1987 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2014, 04:37 PM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
rollo1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Fort Irwin
Region: California
Posts: 271
I hooked it up. It works now. I just need I disconnect the battery and clear the comp



Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
rollo1987 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP! Car stalls with new Bama tunes GT Gone 2005-2010 Mustang GT 2 01-08-2013 08:58 AM
car stalls when stopping 86 stang gt 1979-1995 Mustang GT 2 05-20-2011 11:55 AM
Car stalls in drive SeadudeRXP Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 9 12-29-2005 09:40 AM
Ah!ah! Stop! Stop It!!! chips The Bar 21 09-24-2004 06:09 PM
Code reading? and Car that idle Lobes and stalls stick0014 Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 4 09-03-2004 09:33 PM

» Like Us On Facebook



04:56 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.