New info on car stall - Page 2 - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 09-02-2014, 09:02 PM   #36
Registered Member
Regular
 
rollo1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Fort Irwin
Region: California
Posts: 271
It says to test for voltage on connector of iac


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
rollo1987 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-02-2014, 09:07 PM   #37
Registered Member
Regular
 
99_GRUMPY_GT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Cabo Rojo, P.R.
Region: Other
Posts: 590
iac is not the pcm,
__________________


2015 Race Red Performance Package GT 5.0 (435hp) stock
Still in the making Updates coming soon!
99_GRUMPY_GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2014, 09:09 PM   #38
Registered Member
Regular
 
rollo1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Fort Irwin
Region: California
Posts: 271
Yes but it's part of the PCM. It get voltage from it. So the boo says.


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
rollo1987 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-02-2014, 09:09 PM   #39
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Salinas
Region: California
Posts: 7,418
Are you supposed to check the voltage at the PCM? Or the IAC?
straybullitt is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2014, 09:11 PM   #40
Registered Member
Regular
 
rollo1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Fort Irwin
Region: California
Posts: 271
Iac.


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution

---------- Post added at 07:11 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:11 PM ----------

This is what the book says. I don't know.


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
rollo1987 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2014, 09:34 PM   #41
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Salinas
Region: California
Posts: 7,418
Well check for voltage at the IAC first. If it's good there you don't need to bother checking the computer.
straybullitt is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2014, 10:16 PM   #42
Registered Member
Regular
 
rollo1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Fort Irwin
Region: California
Posts: 271
Ok so did a test today on one cylinder wit my friend. Compression was at like 70 on cylinder 5. So that's kinda low. Going to do the rest tomorrow.


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
rollo1987 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2014, 10:52 PM   #43
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Salinas
Region: California
Posts: 7,418
You need to remove ALL of the spark plugs to do a proper compression test.
It will help if you disconnect the fuel pump inertia switch located in the trunk on the drivers side. That way it won't be spraying fuel everywhere.
When you are cranking the engine over, watch the gauge and you will see it move on every compression stroke. It normally takes 4 or 5 compression strokes for it to read the maximum compression of each cylinder. If it takes four compression strokes to achieve the highest reading, do ALL of the cylinders the same four strokes and use that compression reading for the comparison of the cylinders.
You need to do the same amount of strokes on each cylinder!

What you are looking for is one or more cylinders that have a lower compression than the rest.
straybullitt is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2014, 11:01 PM   #44
Registered Member
Regular
 
rollo1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Fort Irwin
Region: California
Posts: 271
But isn't each cylinder need to be at 100 -150


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
rollo1987 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2014, 11:11 PM   #45
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Salinas
Region: California
Posts: 7,418
Yes. But you won't get an accurate reading the way that you did the test.
straybullitt is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2014, 10:25 AM   #46
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Parniak
Region: Wisconsin
Posts: 618
and do wet test while your at it
TurboCobra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2014, 10:26 AM   #47
Registered Member
Regular
 
rollo1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Fort Irwin
Region: California
Posts: 271
What's the wet test


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
rollo1987 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2014, 11:07 AM   #48
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Salinas
Region: California
Posts: 7,418
Good reminder TC!

A "wet test" is when you put a bit of motor oil into the cylinder and then do a compression test as I described above.
You typically only do a wet test on the cylinders that are more than 10% lower than the highest compression reading of the cylinders.
For instance, lets say that the cylinder that you tested yesterday is indeed only 70 psi and all of the rest are around 135psi. After doing the "dry test" on all of the cylinders, you then would go back to the low cylinder and put about a TEASPOON of oil in that cylinder and then do another compression test on that cylinder. If the compression reading raises by a significant amount, then it is likely that the piston rings are the reason for the low compression in that cylinder. If the reading stays basically the same, it is likely that the valves in that cylinder are the cause for the low reading.

Do the dry test first, like I described in the post earlier. Get all of the "dry" readings first and the go back and do the wet test on the cylinders which are more than 10% lower than all of the rest.
straybullitt is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2014, 11:28 AM   #49
Registered Member
Regular
 
rollo1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Fort Irwin
Region: California
Posts: 271
And all spark plugs need to be taken out


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
rollo1987 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2014, 11:32 AM   #50
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Salinas
Region: California
Posts: 7,418
Correct.
straybullitt is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2014, 11:33 AM   #51
Registered Member
Regular
 
rollo1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Fort Irwin
Region: California
Posts: 271
Ok great.


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
rollo1987 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2014, 01:02 PM   #52
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Parniak
Region: Wisconsin
Posts: 618
you probably are but I hope your torqueing your spark plugs each time you put them back in
TurboCobra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2014, 01:04 PM   #53
Registered Member
Regular
 
rollo1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Fort Irwin
Region: California
Posts: 271
I need to get my torque wrench from work.


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
rollo1987 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2014, 06:01 PM   #54
Registered Member
Regular
 
rollo1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Fort Irwin
Region: California
Posts: 271
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByMustang Evolution1410130834.149338.jpg
Views:	74
Size:	675.8 KB
ID:	165442
What is that fuse box for


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
rollo1987 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2014, 06:26 PM   #55
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Parniak
Region: Wisconsin
Posts: 618
Good question lol I just looked at mine, says Dominican Rep on it. I also only have the one fuse in that box, wonder what it powers.
TurboCobra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2014, 06:28 PM   #56
Registered Member
Regular
 
rollo1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Fort Irwin
Region: California
Posts: 271
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByMustang Evolution1410132438.978430.jpg
Views:	41
Size:	633.1 KB
ID:	165451
My luck. I start taking my vehicle apart and it starts to rain. Can't bring it in te garage cause one it's full. Ad two car is torn apart. Lol.


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
rollo1987 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2014, 07:07 PM   #57
Registered Member
Regular
 
rollo1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Fort Irwin
Region: California
Posts: 271
Update. Cylinder 7&8 have a very small amount of oil where the spark plug is at. Is that bad. Will try and post pic


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
rollo1987 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2014, 07:09 PM   #58
Registered Member
Regular
 
rollo1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Fort Irwin
Region: California
Posts: 271
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByMustang Evolution1410134913.697299.jpg
Views:	46
Size:	662.0 KB
ID:	165455
Sry can't focus


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
rollo1987 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2014, 07:10 PM   #59
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Parniak
Region: Wisconsin
Posts: 618
That could cause a miss fire!.. compression test will let you know if its your rings
TurboCobra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2014, 07:15 PM   #60
Registered Member
Regular
 
rollo1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Fort Irwin
Region: California
Posts: 271
Right now I'm trying to blow out all the little dirt before I take the plugs out. Cylinder one had a lot of dirt cakes up on the side. Using canned air. Lol


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
rollo1987 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2014, 07:28 PM   #61
Registered Member
Regular
 
rollo1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Fort Irwin
Region: California
Posts: 271
Ok on third spark plug these b's are f-in tight


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
rollo1987 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2014, 07:34 PM   #62
Registered Member
Regular
 
rollo1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Fort Irwin
Region: California
Posts: 271
Do I need to take apart fuel rail to get cylinder 3 spark plug out


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
rollo1987 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2014, 07:45 PM   #63
Registered Member
Regular
 
rollo1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Fort Irwin
Region: California
Posts: 271
Do I need to take apart fuel rail to get cylinder 3 spark plug out


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
rollo1987 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2014, 07:52 PM   #64
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Parniak
Region: Wisconsin
Posts: 618
NO you do not have to take the fuel rail off
drivers side should all be accessible and then passenger side you may need to remove the air intake.
Be careful Rollo lol I would hate for you to strip one of these plugs, I am guessing the previous owner never used anti sieze when installing them. Lets just hope they were torqued properly.
TurboCobra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2014, 07:55 PM   #65
Registered Member
Regular
 
rollo1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Fort Irwin
Region: California
Posts: 271
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByMustang Evolution1410137680.985834.jpg
Views:	42
Size:	567.1 KB
ID:	165457
This one was dripping oil. The other one was wet.


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
rollo1987 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2014, 08:02 PM   #66
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Parniak
Region: Wisconsin
Posts: 618
did you pull all 8? pull all 8 and then let us know how each one looks. or clean those off and put them back in and park the car somewhere that it can call home for the time being. Might need to do some open heart surgery
TurboCobra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2014, 08:14 PM   #67
Registered Member
Regular
 
rollo1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Fort Irwin
Region: California
Posts: 271
Pulled all eight. Some plugs were not gapped properly. Compression was good on all cylinders. 75. Two of them were 80-90. But everything good. Going to regap plugs


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
rollo1987 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2014, 08:34 PM   #68
Registered Member
Regular
 
rollo1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Fort Irwin
Region: California
Posts: 271
Pulled all eight. Some plugs were not gapped properly. Compression was good on all cylinders. 75. Two of them were 80-90. But everything good. Going to regap plugs


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
rollo1987 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2014, 08:35 PM   #69
Registered Member
Regular
 
rollo1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Fort Irwin
Region: California
Posts: 271
None of the plugs were gapped right. Re gapped. Now puttin together now. So why was Oil all over plug.


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
rollo1987 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2014, 08:49 PM   #70
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Salinas
Region: California
Posts: 7,418
Quote:
Originally Posted by rollo1987 View Post
Attachment 165442
What is that fuse box for


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
That is the fuse for the low speed operation of the cooling fan.

Wow!
You guys have been making some progress.
I forgot to mention that you need to block the throttle body in the WOT position while performing the comp test.
Sorry.

Thats why your compression readings are so low. They should all be well over 100psi. No matter. As long as the readings are all relatively close to one another.

The spark plug holes all need to be clean and dry or like TC said, that will cause a misfire.
Is there any evidence of an oil leak from the valve cover near where you removed that oily spark plug from?
straybullitt is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Car that doesn't stall blue-saleen Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 13 07-17-2013 12:05 AM
Car wants to stall when shifting into reverse Kiljosh Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 5 01-18-2008 03:48 AM
stall converter Kyle Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 5 12-15-2006 06:50 PM
300 stall? midnightmustang Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 9 05-16-2005 11:12 PM
High stall size? 1bad281 1996-2004 Mustang GT 5 11-25-2004 12:39 AM

» Like Us On Facebook



07:17 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.