Gauge problem - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 01-13-2015, 07:56 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: austin
Region: Texas
Posts: 83
Question Gauge problem

Alright i have a 97 gt and my right side (volts, rpm, oil pressure) of the instument panel works fine but on the left hand side (gas, speedo, temp) dont work corectly. Speedo says im doing 130 when only doing 20, temp maxed out, and gas 1/2 full. temp nor the gas ever move. any ideas would be help
clintoncmm09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-13-2015, 08:08 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Salinas
Region: California
Posts: 7,418
Does your charging system seem to be working correctly?

Disconnect the ground cable from the battery for 15 minutes, or so, and let the computer clear it's memory. While you are waiting, make sure that the ground connection is clean and there is a good connection to the engine block. Make sure that the positive connection is clean and tight as well.
straybullitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2015, 08:13 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: austin
Region: Texas
Posts: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by straybullitt View Post
Does your charging system seem to be working correctly?

Disconnect the ground cable from the battery for 15 minutes, or so, and let the computer clear it's memory. While you are waiting, make sure that the ground connection is clean and there is a good connection to the engine block. Make sure that the positive connection is clean and tight as well.
i put new terminals and battery in the car and has new main ground cable
clintoncmm09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-13-2015, 08:17 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Salinas
Region: California
Posts: 7,418
Were the gauges malfunctioning prior to you replacing the cables, or did this just recently occur?
straybullitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2015, 08:18 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: austin
Region: Texas
Posts: 83
Yeah it was like this before

Orange mamba
clintoncmm09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2015, 08:25 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Salinas
Region: California
Posts: 7,418
Well I suppose that the cluster can fail like anything else. They are very easy to remove, so I think that I would pull It out and see if there is anything obvious wrong, like maybe it has started to come unplugged or something.
straybullitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2015, 08:39 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: austin
Region: Texas
Posts: 83
Already put a new one on it and same

Orange mamba
clintoncmm09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2015, 09:02 PM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Salinas
Region: California
Posts: 7,418
Hmmm.
Have you checked all of the fuses related to the gauge cluster?
straybullitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2015, 10:10 PM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: austin
Region: Texas
Posts: 83
All the fuses are good that's why I'm stumped

Orange mamba
clintoncmm09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2015, 10:45 PM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Salinas
Region: California
Posts: 7,418
There isn't any information about diagnosing the cluster in my repair manual. It must be something else anyway.
Have you checked to see if there are any stored codes? That may give an indication of where to start looking for the problem.
Also, I believe that all of the information goes through the PCM and the Constant Control Relay Module before reaching the instrument cluster, so either of those could be at fault.
I would think that, if the PCM is receiving those crazy inputs from the speed and temperature readings, it will inevitably throw a code of some sort.
straybullitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2005 4 gauge cluster upgrade to 6 gauge wessstblvdd 2005-2010 Mustang GT 6 07-07-2014 09:29 AM
20 gauge to 18 gauge XXSTEVEO66 General Mustang Discussion 0 08-16-2011 07:58 PM
Gauge Wire Routing w/CDC gauge pod tripod_2005 2005-2010 Mustang GT 13 04-30-2010 12:46 PM
1995 convertable 5.0 temp/fuel gauge problem rwb223 1996-2004 Mustang GT 3 03-10-2010 01:55 AM
gauge problem red herring The Bar 5 07-11-2005 02:26 PM

» Like Us On Facebook



02:59 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.