Stock v8 upgrade to higher output v8 - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 02-18-2015, 07:10 PM   #1

Region: Texas
Stock v8 upgrade to higher output v8

Hey guys.

I'm new to mustangs. I've always had older bucks and pontiacs. First major build is the planned v8 for my 03 Gt I just bought that didn't have an engine. I want to build a motor similar to what the Cobras had. My first question is what is the casting number for the cobra block or is it a normal 289 modular block or can I use a older 302 block?

Thanks for the input, advice, and tech help to come.
Rbroherd is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-18-2015, 09:40 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Washington
The modular block is a 289 4.6l.

Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
irishn8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2015, 09:40 PM   #3
Registered Member

Regular

Region: Kentucky
It's a 281...

Adventure till you drop
Recon is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-18-2015, 09:41 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular

The GT has SOHC, the cobra would have DOHC

Old 02-18-2015, 09:49 PM   #5
Registered Member

Regular

96,97,98,99,01,02 Cobras have an aluminum block, 03-04 Cobras have an iron block. 00s have a 5.4 iron block. Your engine is very power capable. What power output are you looking to get out of your car?

Adventure till you drop
Old 02-18-2015, 10:03 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular

He doesnt have an engine yet
Old 02-18-2015, 10:10 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular

Region: California
Try to find a good Teksid block.
straybullitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2015, 12:09 AM   #8

If it's an older style block can I use the DOHC system and the supercharger like the Cobras? I was thinking of close 400 at the wheels maybe more.