Camshaft positioning sensor - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 03-04-2015, 09:31 AM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
Jay180's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Phoenix
Region: Arizona
Posts: 157
Camshaft positioning sensor

P1309 and P0340 have popped up as codes. I changed out my camshaft position sensor but the code is still there. Any other solutions I read about the alternator going bad, how do I check if it's good?
Jay180 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-04-2015, 10:16 AM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Salinas
Region: California
Posts: 7,415
Most auto parts stores have equipment to test the charging system.
Or, if you have access to a volt/ohm meter, you can test the voltage output yourself. The battery should be at 12-13 volts with the engine turned off, and it should read around 14-15 volts with the engine running.
straybullitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2015, 11:13 AM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
Jay180's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Phoenix
Region: Arizona
Posts: 157
If the alternator good then what's the next cause?
Jay180 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-04-2015, 11:23 AM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
Jay180's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Phoenix
Region: Arizona
Posts: 157
It said my diodes didn't pass when I checked my alternator at autozone
Jay180 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2015, 11:45 AM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Salinas
Region: California
Posts: 7,415
I would definitely get the charging system in order and re-set the computer and hopefully that takes care of it.
1309 is a strange code to have with the 4.6 l. It is the CMP out of synchronization. It is more common in the 6 cylinders. The PCM does the synchronizing in the V8 cars.

A bad battery, or charging system can potentially trigger both of the codes that you have though.
Let us know if a new alternator solves the problem or not.
straybullitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2015, 12:26 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
Jay180's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Phoenix
Region: Arizona
Posts: 157
Got the new alternator. Going to replace it later today. If the codes go away I'll let you guys know and if not I'll let you guys know, hopefully it fixes.
Jay180 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2015, 06:23 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
bwright1973's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 283
My car just had the same problem false starts same code rough idle read these posts bought a alternator problem solved!!!!
bwright1973 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2015, 06:26 PM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
bwright1973's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 283
My alternator was putting out 13.6 volts all looked good so I bought the cam position sensor cause it was only 15 bucks my cost same problem false starts! Unhooked the hot wire at the alternator car started right up so bought the alternator and unhooked the battery to clear the code 2 weeks later cars great and no code! Who would have thunk It was a damn alternator! Lol
bwright1973 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2015, 06:39 PM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
Jay180's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Phoenix
Region: Arizona
Posts: 157
The codes are gone now that I replaced my alternator
Jay180 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2015, 06:51 PM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
Jay180's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Phoenix
Region: Arizona
Posts: 157
The codes are gone now that I replaced my alternator. But now my battery light is on. Could it be too many amps?
Jay180 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2015, 07:38 PM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Salinas
Region: California
Posts: 7,415
I don't think that the battery light will turn on from too many amps.

Recheck the connections to the alternator and the battery connections also. Especially the ground!
If everything checks out good, take the car to the store where you bought the alternator and have them test it.
straybullitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2015, 09:03 PM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
Jay180's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Phoenix
Region: Arizona
Posts: 157
Camshaft positioning sensor

The sensor wasn't connected fully so I had to reconnect it, so now everything's perfect! I love it, I missed the power.
Jay180 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2015, 09:48 PM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
DetroitMuscle99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Detroit,Mi
Region: Michigan
Posts: 280
I just had the same code p0340 yesterday and replaced the cam sensor, hope it works and I don't need alternator lol. The old sensor didn't click in like the new on did so hope the light don't pop back up. Glad your issues solved.
__________________
This is why we play the game... to separate the contenders from the pretenders!
DetroitMuscle99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2015, 12:19 AM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
Panther140's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: xxx
Region: Other
Posts: 1,473
The only code my car ever throws is the 1320. THe only way to get it to turn off is spray N2O inside the intake for 10 seconds while wfo. It happens when my car wants to go fast. Its basic maintainence 101
Panther140 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2015, 07:34 AM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
DetroitMuscle99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Detroit,Mi
Region: Michigan
Posts: 280
Quote:
Originally Posted by Panther140 View Post
The only code my car ever throws is the 1320. THe only way to get it to turn off is spray N2O inside the intake for 10 seconds while wfo. It happens when my car wants to go fast. Its basic maintainence 101
Just needs a quarter mile run huh.
__________________
This is why we play the game... to separate the contenders from the pretenders!
DetroitMuscle99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cam shaft positioning sensor please help!!! jennaeM95 Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 8 02-15-2013 11:33 PM
Camshaft positioning sensor pigtail bigbluetang Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 0 09-18-2012 05:18 PM
crank angle sensor/camshaft position sensor instalation 1996v6stang Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 0 11-03-2011 06:57 PM
camshaft positioning sensor 97blackpony Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 6 07-19-2007 12:40 PM
Box positioning in a Convertible? Funky4.6VERT Mustang Audio & Video 2 07-26-2004 08:40 PM

» Like Us On Facebook



09:05 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.