Has anyone heard of mmr adjustable cam sprockets - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 04-04-2015, 07:57 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
DetroitMuscle99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Detroit,Mi
Region: Michigan
Posts: 280
Has anyone heard of mmr adjustable cam sprockets

Causing a p0340 code? I did promaxx patriot stage two heads and stage 3 comp cams over winter. I know the timing is right, reluctor wheel is right, replaced cam and crank sensors and even alternator. Also tested all wiring from cam sensor to pcm which checked out fine. My tuner said I shouldn't of used the modular motorsports racing adjustable cam sprockets and is 99 percent sure that's what's causing it. Before I change them I was also wondering if you guys think this cam sensor is to close or to far from the cam sensor pickup. Was going to try and shim the sensor if so. Upon inspection of the cam sensor there is no marks so it's not touching it but could it still be to close or far from it.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3962.jpg
Views:	79
Size:	331.9 KB
ID:	179101  
__________________
This is why we play the game... to separate the contenders from the pretenders!
DetroitMuscle99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-04-2015, 08:22 PM   #2
Staff
Regular
Staff
 
scottydsntknow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: JB MDL
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 16,611
Did you degree the cams or have them degreed before installing them? As far as the sprockets... most ppl I know who did cams just used the OEM cam sprockets and the Trick Flow adjustable crank sprocket. You don't need to go all crazy like that...
__________________
2000 Mustang GT Steeda #0048

Just because I give you advice, doesn't mean I know more than you. Its just means I've done more stupid ****.
scottydsntknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2015, 08:42 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
DetroitMuscle99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Detroit,Mi
Region: Michigan
Posts: 280
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottydsntknow View Post
Did you degree the cams or have them degreed before installing them? As far as the sprockets... most ppl I know who did cams just used the OEM cam sprockets and the Trick Flow adjustable crank sprocket. You don't need to go all crazy like that...
Degreeing the cams on a 2v mod motor is a waste of time. You don't see much gain at all from it. No they were not degreed. I would of used stock cam sprockets but have a Windsor block so they were pressed on.
__________________
This is why we play the game... to separate the contenders from the pretenders!
DetroitMuscle99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-05-2015, 12:51 AM   #4
Staff
Regular
Staff
 
scottydsntknow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: JB MDL
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 16,611
Quote:
Originally Posted by DetroitMuscle99 View Post
Degreeing the cams on a 2v mod motor is a waste of time. You don't see much gain at all from it. No they were not degreed. I would of used stock cam sprockets but have a Windsor block so they were pressed on.
No... degreeing aftermarket cams is pretty much required. Not for power gain, just to get the car timed properly. Very likely a big part of or the main cause of your issues.
__________________
2000 Mustang GT Steeda #0048

Just because I give you advice, doesn't mean I know more than you. Its just means I've done more stupid ****.
scottydsntknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2015, 07:49 AM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
DetroitMuscle99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Detroit,Mi
Region: Michigan
Posts: 280
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottydsntknow View Post
No... degreeing aftermarket cams is pretty much required. Not for power gain, just to get the car timed properly. Very likely a big part of or the main cause of your issues.
It does help with piston to valve clearance and may help with a more aggressive cam. But that's defiantly not the reason for the cam position sensor code. If there was misfires etc the tuner would of sent me home. Did you look at the cam sensor in that pic? Does it look to close or far from the sensor pick up on that sprocket?
__________________
This is why we play the game... to separate the contenders from the pretenders!
DetroitMuscle99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Has anyone heard of Keyport? 93mstnglx The Bar 4 08-26-2013 05:30 AM
GF Performance Chips, has anyone heard of these? jrmustang02 Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 3 07-24-2012 12:07 PM
Has anyone ever heard of a ROUSH 2012 Stage 1 Mustang? Grenville Roush Mustang 3 07-19-2011 07:58 PM
Has anyone heard of Gforce chips KINGCOBRA01 Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 16 06-29-2011 09:35 AM
Has anyone heard of the new Ronaele 300E Mustang? ruhleah General Mustang Discussion 2 04-05-2010 02:53 PM

» Like Us On Facebook



02:59 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.