Clutch upgrade!?! Help - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 04-14-2015, 07:59 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Florida
Clutch upgrade!?! Help

03 gt starting to slip ! Not wanting to put factory back in it. Want something better and longer lasting. Exedy 350 ? Or some other brand ? I am new to the clutch world. Note: this is a DD !
mustangt03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-15-2015, 01:05 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular

Region: California
You don't need anything too heavy duty for a daily driver, so something with a light pedal is what you should be looking for.
You should always use a OEM throw out bearing, and a OEM pilot bearing, from Ford. Those are the two parts that seem to fail most often, so the factory Ford bearings are the best choice, no matter which clutch that you choose to use.
straybullitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2015, 01:08 PM   #3
Moderator Emeritus

Region: Massachusetts
I have the excedy in my car and love it but it is also not my daily so that is something to consider

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N910A using Mustang Evolution mobile app
Advertisement

Old 04-15-2015, 05:00 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Arizona
Exedy 400 in my DD Mach 1 here, I think the pedal feel is pretty good not overly stiff but then I am 6'1" and 200lbs. Suppose if I were a smaller build my opinion on pedal feel might be different.

Sent from my SPH-L720 using Mustang Evolution mobile app
FanOfSkynyrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2015, 06:58 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular

Anyone have estimate of what a shop would charge for labor, plus resurface fly wheel?
Old 04-16-2015, 01:11 PM   #6
Staff
Regular
Staff

Region: New Jersey