Another sn95 high rpm pinging - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 07-04-2015, 08:32 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
stealthrz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: Maryland
Posts: 64
Another sn95 high rpm pinging

Well hello to you all, I'm having an issue with my 4.6 which is rare to the most part. I got a 03 GT with little mods; MAC CAI, SR plenum&70mm throttle, Steeda underdrive pulleys, Bassani x pipe/tips - SCT x3/sf3 tuner.

My problem is that about a week ago, at only a High RPM 1-2 and 2-3 right about when it's switching gears, it pings and it's never done that before. I've read lots on this forum and cross mustang forums about the issue and resulted in "trying" some remedies I seen so far. Today I changed out my plugs, cleaned my MAF and didn't get around to the fuel filter part (yes it does need to be changed) but i'm going to do that later this week when I have the time. It's not a DD, it hardly gets miles only mostly weekend driving. I did open a ticket with bama and sadly I have to wait till monday to get a response but maybe some of you might have more insight than I already have looked for? I appreciate any response, thank you
__________________

2003 Mustang GT

DOHC 4V Swap
stealthrz is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-04-2015, 09:03 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
Mile high JDF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Thronton
Region: Colorado
Posts: 5,989
Did you fill up your gas tank recently?
__________________
Sold - Black 2000 Mustang GT, gone but definitely not forgotten
- Silver 2007 Corvette
Current - DHG 2001 Bullitt
Mile high JDF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2015, 09:50 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
stealthrz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: Maryland
Posts: 64
Last time I filled up was a week and some ago. I did think about that but I won't know for sure until I use all this gas up (1/4 left) I forgot to mention that I did return it to stock to see if it did the same and it didn't ping, only with performance 93 and race 93 tune.


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
__________________

2003 Mustang GT

DOHC 4V Swap
stealthrz is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-04-2015, 09:55 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
Slater2111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Jacksonville
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,001
Could be a timing issue with the tune you have. Are you using the tunes that came with the tuner. I saw you mention bama. But I don't know what an open ticket means refers to with them. Are you having a tune looked at? Or written for you?


Sent from the mothership.
Slater2111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2015, 10:39 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
stealthrz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: Maryland
Posts: 64
Another sn95 high rpm pinging

I've had my sct tuner for about 2 years now and never had a problem. Just recently had them updated when I installed my plenum/tb and that was about a month ago. I bought the sct x3 off of American Muscle but no it wasn't recent, just about 2 years now. I opened a ticket with bama about this pinging issue, that's what I meant. It's getting frustrating so being that the tuner is causing it, I thought they might help before I decide to go dyno and tune it if nothing can be done which I don't wanna do. There was 3 tunes that came with the tuner. It was written for my vehicle and mods I have


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
__________________

2003 Mustang GT

DOHC 4V Swap
stealthrz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2015, 07:54 AM   #6
WJL
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Pittsburgh
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 285
I agree with Slater, sounds like timing. If you have a scanner you should be able to back the timing out one degree at a time to see if it goes away.
WJL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2015, 09:21 AM   #7
Registered Member

Regular
 
Jon3.7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Deltona
Region: Florida
Posts: 399
if you're planning on getting a dyno tune, then screw bama, go get the dyno tune
__________________
2013 GT, A6, VMP Tuned, Lethal O/R H pipe, GT500 Mufflers
2016 EB, A6, Steeda Tuned, Steeda CAI
Jon3.7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2015, 12:30 PM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
stealthrz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: Maryland
Posts: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by WJL View Post
I agree with Slater, sounds like timing. If you have a scanner you should be able to back the timing out one degree at a time to see if it goes away.

I'm going to try doing that. I never really messed with the tuner other than loading tunes in it.

I want to see if it's something they can correct before I really go ahead and dyno tune it. I spent close to $400 so I don't want it to be a waste


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
__________________

2003 Mustang GT

DOHC 4V Swap
stealthrz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2015, 12:41 PM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
WhiteCali5oh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Beckley
Region: West Virgina
Posts: 1,396
Quote:
Originally Posted by stealthrz View Post
I'm going to try doing that. I never really messed with the tuner other than loading tunes in it.

I want to see if it's something they can correct before I really go ahead and dyno tune it. I spent close to $400 so I don't want it to be a waste


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution

Dyno tune will make you happy.


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
WhiteCali5oh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2015, 01:59 PM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
Slater2111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Jacksonville
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,001
Another sn95 high rpm pinging

Unless you really know what you're doing, I wouldn't. It's a great way to burn a hole in your piston.

I'd leave it to bama or your dyno tuner.

Sent from the mothership.
Slater2111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2015, 02:35 PM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
stealthrz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: Maryland
Posts: 64
Eh well I checked if I could mess with anything with "timing" and there was nothing, just a variety of different options I don't want to touch. I guess I have to wait till tomorrow and hopefully have someone respond quick enough.

Quick Q thou, If I went to a dyno and they had to setup the tune and all, would they do it off their own chip or the sct I have?


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
__________________

2003 Mustang GT

DOHC 4V Swap
stealthrz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2015, 02:35 PM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
WhiteCali5oh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Beckley
Region: West Virgina
Posts: 1,396
Quote:
Originally Posted by stealthrz View Post
Eh well I checked if I could mess with anything with "timing" and there was nothing, just a variety of different options I don't want to touch. I guess I have to wait till tomorrow and hopefully have someone respond quick enough.

Quick Q thou, If I went to a dyno and they had to setup the tune and all, would they do it off their own chip or the sct I have?


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution

Your sct. Vmp used my sct to upload tunes. But if you don't have a handheld I think they'll use their own


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
WhiteCali5oh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2015, 03:18 PM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
Slater2111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Jacksonville
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,001
Yea they will load their own tunes onto your SCT hand held.


Sent from the mothership.
Slater2111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2015, 03:58 PM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
stealthrz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: Maryland
Posts: 64
Ah okay. Well I appreciate the help and insights fellas! Hopefully I can get answers from bama and a solution to the fix if not then I'ma have to schedule a trip to JPC


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
__________________

2003 Mustang GT

DOHC 4V Swap
stealthrz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2015, 11:29 PM   #15
Staff
Regular
Staff
 
scottydsntknow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: JB MDL
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 16,589
What tune are you running? If you are running a 93 octane tune you may have gone to a station putting 87 in all their tanks. Or got a bad batch of gas. Or since you are running a bama tune which is canned it could have been on the edge before and something changed over time a little in your motor causing it to act up now.

Send it back to bama and they are just going to guess at it and maybe richen it up or something and send it back. My recommendation, get a wideband and get someone who will actually pull logs and burn an actual tune to your car to tune it.

Running a tune without a wideband is never a good idea btw. They send you a bad tune where your AF goes to **** and how would you know besides the car acting up like this? Widebands are $130 on Amazon these days for a good USA made one and they come with a bung which is $20 for any shop to weld in. No excuse not to run one really...
__________________
2000 Mustang GT Steeda #0048

Just because I give you advice, doesn't mean I know more than you. Its just means I've done more stupid ****.
scottydsntknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2015, 11:51 PM   #16
Registered Member
Regular
 
retiredvet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: union
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 252
All gas is basically same octane from the truck then they add the juice to increase it. The station u filled up at is scamming people like scotty said. Load your 87 tune till u can fill up at a reputable station. There is a number on the pump to report them btw. Fines are by the gallon and at 4000 gallons per pop its a lesson they wont forget

Sent from my LG-D415 using Mustang Evolution mobile app
__________________
03 GT 13.4 @ 117MPH best 2v 4.6 w/ auto
Check out my Garage info for what I am installing at this moment~
retiredvet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2015, 01:23 AM   #17
Registered Member
Regular
 
stealthrz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: Maryland
Posts: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottydsntknow View Post
What tune are you running? If you are running a 93 octane tune you may have gone to a station putting 87 in all their tanks. Or got a bad batch of gas. Or since you are running a bama tune which is canned it could have been on the edge before and something changed over time a little in your motor causing it to act up now.

Send it back to bama and they are just going to guess at it and maybe richen it up or something and send it back. My recommendation, get a wideband and get someone who will actually pull logs and burn an actual tune to your car to tune it.

Running a tune without a wideband is never a good idea btw. They send you a bad tune where your AF goes to **** and how would you know besides the car acting up like this? Widebands are $130 on Amazon these days for a good USA made one and they come with a bung which is $20 for any shop to weld in. No excuse not to run one really...

I run 93 on all my tunes. Race, performance and street are all 93. I need to fill up which I was just trying to take a cruise around town to burn up all the gas inside the tank (on stock ecu) Tomorrow when I get home from work, I'm going to fill up at sonoco and just hope it maybe was a gas issue, maybe run some seafoam also to be safe. The station I always filled up at was bj's wholesale, kinda like a sam's club gas station type of place. Always got my gas there and never really had problems. There's only 2 buttons you can choose (87 and 93) and I was very sure that 93 was going in but it makes sense that maybe it was a bad batch of gas. I take all account that everything and anything is a possibility and considering to find the best possible solution to have my car running the way it's supposed to. I'm def going to look into getting a wideband. I heard of it once before but never really considered it in my head to be a necessity. Like I said, if bama is reasonable with their answers then I will roll with it but if i'm just getting the loop and things get worse which I hope it doesn't, I'm just going to schedule a dyno tune at jpc or any dyno place with reputable work in maryland. Thanks for the 2 cents!


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
__________________

2003 Mustang GT

DOHC 4V Swap
stealthrz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2015, 06:23 AM   #18
Staff
Regular
Staff
 
scottydsntknow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: JB MDL
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 16,589
The wholesalers are usually pretty good, I never had a problem with Costco (we have BJ's around here too but Costco is better x10000) when I used to fill up there but it could always have been a bad batch of gas.

I stand my my recommendation to get a wideband on there if you are tuned running 93/performance tunes. Fuel pressure/oil pressure/water temp are other ones I highly recommend for any Mustang.
__________________
2000 Mustang GT Steeda #0048

Just because I give you advice, doesn't mean I know more than you. Its just means I've done more stupid ****.
scottydsntknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2015, 10:12 AM   #19
Registered Member
Regular
 
stealthrz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: Maryland
Posts: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottydsntknow View Post
The wholesalers are usually pretty good, I never had a problem with Costco (we have BJ's around here too but Costco is better x10000) when I used to fill up there but it could always have been a bad batch of gas.

I stand my my recommendation to get a wideband on there if you are tuned running 93/performance tunes. Fuel pressure/oil pressure/water temp are other ones I highly recommend for any Mustang.


Yeah I always got it from bj's and never had problems so i'ma just fill up after work at sonoco and pour some lucas or seafoam in it as a precaution. I'm also looking into the widebands so any recommendations would be appreciated also. thanks!


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
__________________

2003 Mustang GT

DOHC 4V Swap
stealthrz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2015, 09:41 PM   #20
Registered Member
Regular
 
stealthrz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: Maryland
Posts: 64
Filled up yesterday, Couldn't test drive it due to rain but tonight I test drove it 18 miles. When I filled up, I tossed a bottle of seafoam in also. I drove a bit then got a little heavy footed a couple times and surprise!! I still heard the pinging. /sigh Always WOT and high rpm. I couldn't be more annoyed and bama really hasn't gotten back to me with the request I put in sunday. I should know better since it's only tuesday and of course I assume that people request so much out of them but I guess I have to call them tomorrow.


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
__________________

2003 Mustang GT

DOHC 4V Swap
stealthrz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
pinging help HaulinTwinz 1979-1995 Mustang GT 12 01-19-2013 11:47 PM
03 Mach 1 pinging DaBluedude Other Special Edition 10 04-24-2012 03:26 PM
SCT tuner and knock and pinging ajpturbo 1996-2004 Mustang GT 10 09-13-2010 08:17 AM
pinging with my chip Sublime782 Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 4 07-17-2005 10:16 AM
What is pinging? MustangNewB Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 22 04-14-2004 10:27 AM

» Like Us On Facebook



02:13 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.