My First Mustang and I'm in Love - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 05-21-2016, 05:18 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Canada
Exclamation My First Mustang and I'm in Love

Hey all, Im new to this forum. I'm a full time mechanic and a die hard Ford fan. I own a 2008 Ford Edge Limited and a 2004 Ford Explorer Limited. I always wanted a Mustang but never thought I could afford it, until two weeks ago. I live in Toronto Canada and I saw a listing for a 2003 Mustang GT for $7500 just a few hours outside of Toronto. I decided to drive there with a buddy of mine and damn it was sexy. Its really hard to find an older Mustang with low km's and in stock condition. This 2003 GT was almost that. The previous owner lowered it with HnR springs all around, new short throw shifter with missing bezel and staggered wheels with 20's in the rear and 18's in the front. Other than that, it was stock. Oh, it did have a Steeda air intake.

I bought it for $5700 as is with a passed emission test. It drove great all the way home. I proceeded to order the correct shift bezel and boot kit for that year. I noticed the bushings of the control arms were weak and sloppy and the balljoints were a little loose. So I got out my old dusty credit card and put it to use on me for a change.

I ordered UPR upper and lower controls arms, Energy Suspensions front lower control arm bushings, coil spring upper and lower polyurethane seats, rear diff upper control arm bushings from Ford Racing, and Mooge balljoints. I alignmed the front as best as I could but I'm going to have to buy the aftermarket caster and camber plates for more adjustability because those HnR springs are way too low. The headlights were too faded to be brought back to life so I ordered a set through my shop account and those made the car look like a million bucks.