Cost for Respray - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 06-20-2016, 09:01 AM   #1
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Kentucky
Cost for Respray

After washing my car yesterday, drying it really well, and putting it back in the garage under the lights I couldn't help but notice the paint is starting to show its age.

She still looks great at 10' for a 12 year old black car, but it has a couple of small dings, paint chips, and nicks here and there that really stand out since it's black.

I know it will vary by location, but what do these cars typically cost to respray? Im no body expert, but I couldn't see more than a days prep work on my car to get it ready for paint and the relatively small size would suggest minimal paint usage.

I have some other things I want to do to it first, but a paint job will be likely within 2 years.

Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
0440thgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-20-2016, 10:34 AM   #2
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Georgia
You will find prices that vary between $1500 - $3500. Investigate the paint shop as much as possible. Make sure the technicians and the manager know you are peculiar about your car.

Learn as much as you can about automotive painting, and do not accept a job in which the paint shop cut corners.

My dad would occassionally call me when dark colored cars came into his shop. I am a perfectionist, and I treated everyone's car as if it were my own.

Walk around the car with the manager and a florescent light and mark every scratch, ding, dent, and chip with a silver sharpie marker. This is something I always asked customers to do (and I only came into the shop when my dad asked me. This was not my job). The customer appreciated the time, and they left comfortable.