disabling traction control - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 06-27-2016, 09:17 PM   #1

Region: Tennessee
disabling traction control

hello all. im a newb to the forum AND the mustang world. We picked up a pretty clean 2000 GT recently. got the car for a toy for the wife, we took it out over the weekend and discovered we could not do a burnout, bummer! after slight investigating i have learned that there SHOULD be a traction control disable switch in the car. the previous owner replaced the cd player and installed some aftermarket stereo equipment that is still in the car. below the cd player, there is now an equalizer. from what i have been able to learn researching the net, there is a panel that was likely there from the factory that housed the traction control switch. can anyone confirm this? i have looked at an '03 of a friends in person, his is in the dash just as i described. another friend has a '95 and the disable switch is in the console (beside the fog lights switch beside the park brake lever). can anyone give me some insight to what/where i need to be looking for? I'm thinking i will have to buy the switch and try to find the connector to plug it into

sorry for being so vague with the descriptions, thanks in advance for any help
Les00stang is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-27-2016, 09:22 PM   #2

here is a photo of some connectors i found in the dash behind the stereo equipment, any of this look familiar for traction control?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2720.JPG
Views:	101
Size:	1.11 MB
ID:	202900  
Old 06-27-2016, 10:52 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular

Quote:
Originally Posted by Les00stang View Post
here is a photo of some connectors i found in the dash behind the stereo equipment, any of this look familiar for traction control?