New 2004 GT add on's truth - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 1979-2015 Mustang GT || Tech and Talk > 1996-2004 Mustang GT

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 07-11-2016, 06:19 PM   #1

Region: Michigan
New 2004 GT add on's truth

I just drove it home today, 80 miles with the top down! I love this car. I got my American Muscle catalog in the mail and have a couple questions for the experienced add on owners. I am a newbie to performance cars and don't want to waste a cent.

BBK Open Throttle 78mm "helps" to give 12-15hp. True/worth $289? I'd like more throttle response especially with more hp/tq.

I see pulleys, cat back exhaust, tunes claiming the same thing. What's the best bargain for a few hp? Do they all need to work in conjunction to get the claimed gains or do they stand alone?

I plan on driving it as is until I park it for the winter. Next spring is when I might add some mods. Thanks for any advice.
ManOWar is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-11-2016, 07:02 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Kansas
I'd pass on the BBK and pulleys
And get
4.10 gears
And a tune
And your choice of a good sounding exhaust . Stock headers are fine!

And then
Subframe connectors
Springs
Shocks
Struts
Caster camber plates
Hello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2016, 07:37 AM   #3
Registered Member
Regular

Region: South Carolina
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hello View Post
I'd pass on the BBK and pulleys
And get
4.10 gears
And a tune
And your choice of a good sounding exhaust . Stock headers are fine!

And then
Subframe connectors
Springs
Shocks
Struts
Caster camber plates
This is a great list for the new edge. Yes additional mods can be done, but the diminishing returns cause your bang for your buck to go done the toilet. This list will go a long way to making the new edge a much quicker, still not fast, and much more enjoyable car to drive.