EGR VALVE - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > General Mustang Discussion

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 04-09-2009, 08:31 PM   #1

Unhappy EGR VALVE

Check Engine light came on and I took your advice and went to Autozone where they told me that the code was EGR valve. I purchased one, came home, disconnected the battery and when I reconnected it the code was erased. Is it gone for good (wishful thinking) or will it pop on again? Can I clean an EGR valve or do I need to purchase a new one?

Thank you all for your help and information on an earlier post. Can you all tell I am new at this?

Not wise for an old man to start on a young mans hobby
Eeyore is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-09-2009, 09:10 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Louisiana
Re: EGR VALVE

The code will pop back after driving the car, try to spray it with carb and choke cleaner and reset you OBD and try again, if not just replace it.
Want an 03/04 Cobra

Born:5/23/97, Build # 5722 of 6961 Builds
Cobra GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2009, 03:12 PM   #3
Legacy Member
Legacy

Region: Maryland
Send a message via AIM to Bane-

so you bought the egr valve...and didnt replace it? im confused.
'89 Gt Hatchback H/C/I, 1.6 rockers, 75mm maf, 24lb, 70mm tb, cai, udp, full exhaust, msd ignition, 373s, Eibach Springs, Lakewood 50/50 rears, Adj Rear Control arms, A/C Delete, Smog Delete, EGR Delete,
Bane- is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-14-2009, 03:21 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bane- View Post
so you bought the egr valve...and didnt replace it? im confused.
Exactly. He bought the EGR valve while at AutoZone but for some reason he unplugged the battery previous to the repair. Now the MIL has reset and is not illuminated anymore. His question is whether the light will return.